Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MULE FROM TEN YEARS AGO
Three discs 62, 73, 63 minutes each approximately. The sound is clean and warm with a good guitar sound in front of the rhythm section. The booklet contains a short synopsis on each of the three sets, along with many color photos of the group (and guests). The discs are snapped in, inside a tri-fold cardboard holder. There's a list of tracks and song lengths and...
Published on August 3, 2010 by Stuart Jefferson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality and not the best Mule performance
I was excited when I saw this...covers of some of my favorite songs...King Crimson's 21st Century Schizoid Man, Humble Pie's 30 Days in the Hole and Led Zepplin's Dazed and Confused, along with Willie Dixon's I Can't Quit You Babe (most famously covered by Led Zepplin). The covers are good, the rest of the album is mostly disappointing.

This is the 1999 New...
Published 21 months ago by kireviewer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MULE FROM TEN YEARS AGO, August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
Three discs 62, 73, 63 minutes each approximately. The sound is clean and warm with a good guitar sound in front of the rhythm section. The booklet contains a short synopsis on each of the three sets, along with many color photos of the group (and guests). The discs are snapped in, inside a tri-fold cardboard holder. There's a list of tracks and song lengths and recording information.

The first set is strictly GOV'T MULE playing some of their older material, along with smokin' covers of "21st Century Schizoid Man", "We're Not Gonna Take It", and a lengthy "Dazed and Confused". This is the band that most people will readily know, with Warren Haynes guitar and insistent vocals out front of a powerhouse rhythm section. Several tracks are lengthy, giving the band time to work through whatever they feel like playing. From all out assaults like "Blind Man In The Dark", to slower songs like "Life Before Insanity", the band show they can adapt their style to any tempo. This sets the scene for whats to come.

The second set is given over to the blues, with blues great Little Milton, a long time blues singer/guitar player. The tempos range from shuffles to slow blues. Among the songs are the well known "I Can't Quit You Baby", "It Hurts Me Too", with Elmore James-like slide guitar, and "Blues Is Alright". The set finishes up with "Power of Soul". The guitars of Haynes and Little Milton weave in and out of these songs, and its on the slow blues where they particularly shine.

The third set consists mainly of covers, starting with "Helter Skelter", which roars out with a lot of power. "30 Days In The Hole", by HUMBLE PIE, Dylan's "I Shall Be Released", and a great rendition of "Simple Man" by LYNYRD SKYNYRD round out this set. The addition of peddle steel played by Mark Van Allan, and additional guitar from Audley Freed gives this song an extra depth and punch.

This is another concert recorded on New Year's Eve (in 1999), and its hard to understand why it took so long to be released. This is prime GOV'T MULE, with the addition of a true bluesman and other friends/musicians which set this music apart from other releases. The band is well known for their New Year's Eve blow-outs, and these three sets are as good as any previous live recordings by the band. Tap in and listen to any of the tracks here and you'll hear what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, August 7, 2010
By 
R.J.N. (Everywhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulennium (MP3 Music)
This sounds so good remastered. I have had an audience recording of it for a few years now and while it sounded ok there is no comparison to the official release. Fantastic playing throughout, just the Mule on disc 1 , then on disc 2 with Warren trading licks with Little Milton and then Audley Freed.
The fun continues on disc 3 with more Audley and other friends of the band.
One of the highlights for me is the cover version of 21st Century Schizoid Man, outstanding.
Grab this one if you love the classic era Gov't Mule, there will never be another Alan Woody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just GREAT, August 10, 2010
By 
Jim "Jim" (ELLINGTON, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
My favorite Mule era, the power trio with Warren, Matt, Matt and Woody. Still attend most shows in my area theses days. As a collector with over 150 Mule shows, this one might get played the most alond with 10/31 shows and other NYE shows. A fine opening set with Mule oldies along with a long Zep tune. Added guests as all Mule NYE shows are just a big plus. Great sound with vocals clear and a deep bass. I miss Woody. Sorry they haven't been the same since BUT still a fine band. I do love live recordings. Is it because of the Allmans' live at the Fillmore or all my DEAD bootlegs, LOL LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performances, but where's the bass?, September 13, 2010
By 
Baberufus (West Jordan, UT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
As a big Mule fan, I highly prize this old recording from the days of the 3-piece Mule, when they ROCKED, and rocked hard! A fine guest line-up, as well! I really enjoy Audley Freed's playing, and considering that his guitar work has been relatively rarely recorded, it makes this CD set even more valuable (you MUST purchase the two Cry of Love CD's from the early-to-mid 90's if you haven't already...great playing and great songs by Freed throughout)! Little Milton gets a long overdue chance to shine on a few songs here, and he really cuts loose on the guitar--not staid and laid-back like I thought he would be. I love the cover tunes the band picked out like Power of Love and Dazed and Confused. Warren really tore it up, especially on the vocals to "Dazed". I couldn't really tell what he was doing on the breakdown passage of that one...playing with a bow? It was pretty cool, but I think the song lost a little momentum there, it just didn't seem to flow as smoothly as the Zeppelin version on Song Remains The Same. But hey, it's all good--they're just paying tribute, anyway! :-)

It's great to hear Woody again, tearing it up on the bottom end. In fact, it would have been nice to hear him more. There is absolutely NO "oomph" to the bass EQ on this recording. What happened?? The Roseland Ballroom CD sounded GREAT--why couldn't this one have sounded at least just as good? Overall, it is good, but just a little murkier, I think, than the Roseland, and again, NO BASS. Well actually, you can hear the bass guitar rather easily, but you sure as heck can't feel it. Crank up your subwoofer! If you're like me and are too poor or don't have the space for one in your car, you're out of luck. Still, it's not worth passing up this CD set over it--it's still enjoyable to listen to and still sounds better than your average live recording. Just disappointed with the lack of bass. grrrrr...

Overall, an indispensable addition to your Mule collection, and for blues-rock fans in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why are you reading reviews?, August 6, 2010
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
If you're a tried and true Govt Mule fan, this one is a no-brainer. This 3 CD edition of their New Years Eve set following the previous years "Live With A Little Help From Our Friends" release, this show from The Roxy in Atlanta simply smokes from front to back. The first CD is mainly vintage Mule with some new stuff from the Life Before Insanity disc ending off with covers of 20th Century Schizoid Man, We're Not Gonna take it and Dazed and Confuzed. Enough reason to buy this already! Disc 2 is a solid blues disc with friend Little Milton and Warren and company simply rip it up all bluesy-like. Not enough? Disc 3 they bring out pals Audley Fried, Johnny Mosier and Mark Van Allen and proceed to rip through Helter Skelter, Sometimes Salvation, 30 Days In The Hole, End of the Line,...well you get the picture.

This disc is yet another example of what a great band GM was back then as a 3 piece band before the premature death of Allen Woody. Great as they still are today (By A Thread), this disc is a must have to any seasoned Mule fan, a casual fan or someone who simply needs to hear great players playing great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Mule time, August 27, 2010
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
This collection is awesome, yet typical of Warren Haynes. First met him in the men's bathrooom line at a break in the used-to-be annual New Year's show at Asheville's defunct Be Here Now. A Southern gent. A bit Ronnie Van Zant, a bit off the chain. I've tracked him and the band as it has morphed. But the one constant is Warren. He is not one to compromise. I admire his "mission" to tell - to mesmerize with his talent and to stun at live shows. I remember interviewing him from Athens, Ga., by telephone at his New York home soon after he married. He gushed about Mountain -- how he was looking for a Felix Pappalardi sound. I believe he had found that in Woody. He won me over with his sincerity and sheer muscle as a player. Haynes is complimented to the hilt by Matt Abts. Sit near the front of a show, and you will be treated with some equally sincere shirt-ruffling pulses that are intent - not arrant. Most think Warren is the show. But check out Abts. He's not exactly watching the clock, and he loves to pounce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares if they were a year early on the "Mulennium"!, September 2, 2010
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
O.K., so the last year of the 20th century was 2000, not 1999! Does it really matter, when 3 great CDs of music are finally (after 10 years or so) here from Gov't Mule? And with the late, great Little Milton on several tracks, too! These guys can play anything they like - it all sounds great. A definite must-have for any fine rock/blues library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Mule from the Trio era, August 4, 2010
By 
Alex (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
The mix is good. The show is hot. This is classic Mule from the trio era. Made me really miss the old Woody days. The stuff with Little Milton is great. Just hot rockin' old school blues. Wish these guys would release some of the jams they did with Larry McCray back on the '98 tour! The stuff with Audley Freed shows that the Mule works as a two guitar combo. It's fun to hear these guys play stuff they like. A great show. Miss the old Mule. Release more of this stuff, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a new Mulennium it is, August 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
Great show recorded in Atlanta, GA at the turn of the millennium. Fantastic set list and even better performances by the Mule and special guests. Buy this one now if you love live music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listening to it right now..., August 7, 2010
This review is from: Mulennium (Audio CD)
I just got this release in the mail two days ago. Great looking package with cool photos/liner notes and great artwork. I pre-ordered it for the bonus disc but I must say, the bonus disc is a disapointment. Solid versions of some soundcheck songs but only 4 tracks total. Nothing special and just not worth it. But the official release itself is very good. I must admit, though, disc 1 is lackluster. I wasn't really impressed and was disappointed upon first listen UNTIL i popped in disc 2 which literally smokes. Little Milton belts out the grittiest, most soulful blues songs and Warren just scorches with his leads. Sitting back in my car at night hearing the opening notes of "When the Blues Come Knockin" was just fantastic! Disc 2 ends with Little Milton leaving and Audley Freed (of Cry of Love and more notoriously The Black Crowes) joins the band for a heavy hitting, thick, rich, sludgy "Power of Soul" which is absolutely the standout so far. Warren and Mr. Freed tear it up and it's great to hear some good old fashioned Woody basslines! Woody's rich and assertive but groovy bass lines make him one of my favorite low end riders. And of course Matt Abts reigns supreme behind the kit. Truly one of the greatest drummers in rock and roll today. I haven't listened to Disc 3 yet so this review is a little incomplete but I am excited for what's in store. Overall, definitely worth the money for a purchase: great package, great artwork, and a killer 2nd disc and a likely killer 3rd disc make this well worth the cash. Happy listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mulennium
Mulennium by Gov't Mule (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.