Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Three discs 62, 73, 63 minutes each approximately. The sound is clean and warm with a good guitar sound in front of the rhythm section. The booklet contains a short synopsis on each of the three sets, along with many color photos of the group (and guests). The discs are snapped in, inside a tri-fold cardboard holder. There's a list of tracks and song lengths and recording information.

The first set is strictly GOV'T MULE playing some of their older material, along with smokin' covers of "21st Century Schizoid Man", "We're Not Gonna Take It", and a lengthy "Dazed and Confused". This is the band that most people will readily know, with Warren Haynes guitar and insistent vocals out front of a powerhouse rhythm section. Several tracks are lengthy, giving the band time to work through whatever they feel like playing. From all out assaults like "Blind Man In The Dark", to slower songs like "Life Before Insanity", the band show they can adapt their style to any tempo. This sets the scene for whats to come.

The second set is given over to the blues, with blues great Little Milton, a long time blues singer/guitar player. The tempos range from shuffles to slow blues. Among the songs are the well known "I Can't Quit You Baby", "It Hurts Me Too", with Elmore James-like slide guitar, and "Blues Is Alright". The set finishes up with "Power of Soul". The guitars of Haynes and Little Milton weave in and out of these songs, and its on the slow blues where they particularly shine.

The third set consists mainly of covers, starting with "Helter Skelter", which roars out with a lot of power. "30 Days In The Hole", by HUMBLE PIE, Dylan's "I Shall Be Released", and a great rendition of "Simple Man" by LYNYRD SKYNYRD round out this set. The addition of peddle steel played by Mark Van Allan, and additional guitar from Audley Freed gives this song an extra depth and punch.

This is another concert recorded on New Year's Eve (in 1999), and its hard to understand why it took so long to be released. This is prime GOV'T MULE, with the addition of a true bluesman and other friends/musicians which set this music apart from other releases. The band is well known for their New Year's Eve blow-outs, and these three sets are as good as any previous live recordings by the band. Tap in and listen to any of the tracks here and you'll hear what I mean.
55 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2010
This sounds so good remastered. I have had an audience recording of it for a few years now and while it sounded ok there is no comparison to the official release. Fantastic playing throughout, just the Mule on disc 1 , then on disc 2 with Warren trading licks with Little Milton and then Audley Freed.
The fun continues on disc 3 with more Audley and other friends of the band.
One of the highlights for me is the cover version of 21st Century Schizoid Man, outstanding.
Grab this one if you love the classic era Gov't Mule, there will never be another Alan Woody.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2010
My favorite Mule era, the power trio with Warren, Matt, Matt and Woody. Still attend most shows in my area theses days. As a collector with over 150 Mule shows, this one might get played the most alond with 10/31 shows and other NYE shows. A fine opening set with Mule oldies along with a long Zep tune. Added guests as all Mule NYE shows are just a big plus. Great sound with vocals clear and a deep bass. I miss Woody. Sorry they haven't been the same since BUT still a fine band. I do love live recordings. Is it because of the Allmans' live at the Fillmore or all my DEAD bootlegs, LOL LOL
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2010
As a big Mule fan, I highly prize this old recording from the days of the 3-piece Mule, when they ROCKED, and rocked hard! A fine guest line-up, as well! I really enjoy Audley Freed's playing, and considering that his guitar work has been relatively rarely recorded, it makes this CD set even more valuable (you MUST purchase the two Cry of Love CD's from the early-to-mid 90's if you haven't already...great playing and great songs by Freed throughout)! Little Milton gets a long overdue chance to shine on a few songs here, and he really cuts loose on the guitar--not staid and laid-back like I thought he would be. I love the cover tunes the band picked out like Power of Love and Dazed and Confused. Warren really tore it up, especially on the vocals to "Dazed". I couldn't really tell what he was doing on the breakdown passage of that one...playing with a bow? It was pretty cool, but I think the song lost a little momentum there, it just didn't seem to flow as smoothly as the Zeppelin version on Song Remains The Same. But hey, it's all good--they're just paying tribute, anyway! :-)

It's great to hear Woody again, tearing it up on the bottom end. In fact, it would have been nice to hear him more. There is absolutely NO "oomph" to the bass EQ on this recording. What happened?? The Roseland Ballroom CD sounded GREAT--why couldn't this one have sounded at least just as good? Overall, it is good, but just a little murkier, I think, than the Roseland, and again, NO BASS. Well actually, you can hear the bass guitar rather easily, but you sure as heck can't feel it. Crank up your subwoofer! If you're like me and are too poor or don't have the space for one in your car, you're out of luck. Still, it's not worth passing up this CD set over it--it's still enjoyable to listen to and still sounds better than your average live recording. Just disappointed with the lack of bass. grrrrr...

Overall, an indispensable addition to your Mule collection, and for blues-rock fans in general!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
Gov't Mule is a great band with excellent musicians. They are very versatile and can perform a wide array of styles. This is a good cd because it's a good blend of GM originals and an eclectic mix of good time covers to accentuate the party atmosphere. I would recommend this for people who are new to Gov't Mule for this very reason. You will be exposed to their catalog but you'll also get to hear stuff you'll recognize. They are a great live band and they have some awesome guest appearances on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
More quality blues rock from the Mule. As much as I enjoy the current Mule lineup, it is good to hear Alan Woody on the bass, from New Years Eve 12/31/99. As always, an excellent mix of originals and covers, with a set highlighted by singer Little Milton. The Mule had backed up Little Milton on his recent album at the time; this is a great live treatment of those tunes. Go get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
This effort by the MULE turned out to be worth the effort because the second disc introduced me to a Blues Man I was unfamiliar with..........one LITTLE MILTON. The three disc set was enjoyable, finding Little Milton was the treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2010
If you're a tried and true Govt Mule fan, this one is a no-brainer. This 3 CD edition of their New Years Eve set following the previous years "Live With A Little Help From Our Friends" release, this show from The Roxy in Atlanta simply smokes from front to back. The first CD is mainly vintage Mule with some new stuff from the Life Before Insanity disc ending off with covers of 20th Century Schizoid Man, We're Not Gonna take it and Dazed and Confuzed. Enough reason to buy this already! Disc 2 is a solid blues disc with friend Little Milton and Warren and company simply rip it up all bluesy-like. Not enough? Disc 3 they bring out pals Audley Fried, Johnny Mosier and Mark Van Allen and proceed to rip through Helter Skelter, Sometimes Salvation, 30 Days In The Hole, End of the Line,...well you get the picture.

This disc is yet another example of what a great band GM was back then as a 3 piece band before the premature death of Allen Woody. Great as they still are today (By A Thread), this disc is a must have to any seasoned Mule fan, a casual fan or someone who simply needs to hear great players playing great music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2010
This collection is awesome, yet typical of Warren Haynes. First met him in the men's bathrooom line at a break in the used-to-be annual New Year's show at Asheville's defunct Be Here Now. A Southern gent. A bit Ronnie Van Zant, a bit off the chain. I've tracked him and the band as it has morphed. But the one constant is Warren. He is not one to compromise. I admire his "mission" to tell - to mesmerize with his talent and to stun at live shows. I remember interviewing him from Athens, Ga., by telephone at his New York home soon after he married. He gushed about Mountain -- how he was looking for a Felix Pappalardi sound. I believe he had found that in Woody. He won me over with his sincerity and sheer muscle as a player. Haynes is complimented to the hilt by Matt Abts. Sit near the front of a show, and you will be treated with some equally sincere shirt-ruffling pulses that are intent - not arrant. Most think Warren is the show. But check out Abts. He's not exactly watching the clock, and he loves to pounce.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Hey, EVIL TEEN/RED: I need/want this on vinyl!!!! This is an absolute Mule classic and it cries out to be pressed in vinyl.
The world will be a better place when this is finally accomplished.......here's your opportunity to do something positive for mankind. Don't pass it up. Otherwise, the people who really count (Mule Fans) might be inclined to think of you as a heartless capitalist pig who doesn't give a frog's fat ass for the art, the magic of the Mule. You can avoid this negativity by just doing the right thing. Peace-Out - D. Hampton Hill, Sr. (Don) 😎
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.