Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Soondar® New Anti-spy Signal Bug Rf Detector Hidden Camera Lens GSM Device Finder Monitor Full-range Al-round Cc308+
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 12, 2015
There seems to be two distinct models of the CC308+ on the market. One is *awesome*, works great. The other may be a knock-off. It appears almost the same, except for small differences in the case, buttons, and weight. The knock-off sucks in performance during side-by-side comparisons. Now I see why this had such low ratings. How to know if you are getting the real-deal or the knock-off? Who knows. The one I most recently ordered (from the vendor 'fenvi') seems is a knock-off.

Either that, or they changed manufacturing to be cheaper and have a bunch of half defective units.

I've attached a photo. The good unit is the one on top, with the lighter color button (less black center button). You can also see the side trigger doesn't protrude on the bad one, though the sensitivity wheel protrudes further on the bad model.
review image
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
The manual is written in chinese on one side of the sheet and on the other side in a very poor english, so I hope these paragraphs will help you get started with the CC-308:

Nice packaging, satin finish with magnetic closure on the front. The device is a lot nicer than others in its price range and functionality is good after you get the battery charged.

The battery charger has a mini USB connector instead of the normal negative cylindric with a positive pin connector which the CC-308 RF Detector requires. Fortunately I had bought another detector last year (model LD-RF1, which, by the way, wouldn't stop the charge on a full battery to prevent it from getting damaged; that's why I had to buy this device) and still had the charger with the cylindric connector and the correct power rating 5V @ 1000 mA, so I could proceed testing the device.

In order to charge the battery, you MUST turn off the device with the switch on its right side and connect the charger to the wall outlet and plug the charger lead into the CC308, the red light on the charger and the blue charging light on the CC308 will turn on for about 35 minutes until the blue light on the CC308 automatically goes off to let you know when the battery is fully charged. At this point disconnect the lead from the charger to the CC308 and unplug the charger from the wall.

The switch on the right side will toggle from off, to beep, to vibrator mode, there's a little knob for the sensitivity to radiofrequency (it is well marked from little sensitive to very sensitive), it is recommended that on an area that you know with no RF emissions you set it on the most sensitive and then lower it down to a point where no sound and maybe only one light is lit on the front. Then turn it off and take the CC308 to the area you want to check for radiofrequency sources.

The button on the front will cycle the lasers for the camera detector from off to slow blinking to off to fast blinking and so on. You illuminate slowly the area where cameras may be hidden and look through the round window with the red filter, then you will be able to see a bright point lit or blinking, depending on the state of the lasers, reflecting at you from the point where a hidden camera lens is located.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
I can't read the directions because they are written in pigeon English. I will have to ask someone to help me use this product. It might be wonderful, but I don't know that as of this writing.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
Sure would be helpful to have some directions in coherent English. Maybe someone can help with this. Don't waste your money on this detector.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
I expected a simple,cheap field strength meter, but was not prepared to see the sophisticated surface mount technology and integrated circuits and other electronics that would cost hundreds of dollars if you were to buy the components and try to build it yourself. They are evidently able to sell it so cheaply by mass production, etc., but this thing is a highly sophisticated piece of electronics that really works. I have seen the whole spectrum of prices from $9.99 from China with a dollar for shipping to $159.00 and all prices in between. The English in the manual is a poor translation, but basically you can scan from 1MHz to 6500MHZ by first setting the sensitivity to minimum and also start out with a short antenna and accordingly increase each as needed according to the strength of the RF signal. To pick up a hidden camera lens you turn on the flashing laser and hold down the button to increase the speed of the flashing; put your eye up close to the red window and a camera lens shows up as a bright spot. The first time I used it, I picked up the eye of a small flying insect that had been trapped in a piece of Scotch tape that had been left in a corner of the ceiling from a birthday party.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
OMG, what do you (complainers) expect for 11 bucks? It works great for what it is(costs) but do not expect it to proclaim: "you've got a bug"! It is a tool which requires a little skill and understanding. Yes, it picks up a lot of extraneous RF noise. And yes, household wiring and appliances can pick up and intensify EMF "noise". It does not take long to learn the difference between noise and and actual comm signal. This device, when used with a modicum of intelligence, can be very useful in weeding out suspicious objects.
I agree that the "manual" is is an absolute abomination of English but quite amusing in that same way. Basically, if you can't figure this thing out without a manual then you probably have no business using it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
You'll never know whether you found a microphone, a camera, something metallic or just your cellular signal. I didn't find it reliable.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
Nice design, easy controls, but more of a toy than an actual detector of surveillance devices.
Spotty in uncovering hidden microphones, hidden cameras, either with a digital signature or of the older analog variety.
Therefore if your security is a priority, look elsewhere...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
It will false detect wifi everywhere. But when I put it up to a camera receiver (on the Ghz band) it picked it up. This was not a "wifi camera" but a ghz camera with a receiver.

This is your "low level bug detector" if you need something professional grade try looking else where. It works, but false positives are everywhere. No way to turn off wifi.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
pretty useless device. I meant to return it, but my 30 day period had expired. I've tried ones that do work for camera detection and it's pretty obvious when you find a camera. This one just seems to say everything shiny is a camera.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.