Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One Can Be the Loneliest Number"
Michael Keaton's performance in the hilarious film "Multiplicity" is outstanding. Keaton is a "too busy to do anything else but work" contractor who becomes a test subject for a scientist's human cloning project. The clones turn out to be a big help and a big headache. The clones emphasize different parts of Keaton's psyche and the resulting interplay of their/his...
Published on April 14, 2005 by James E. Carroll

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio ALERT! Don't purchase this if you want to see the WHOLE movie.
I really enjoyed this movie when it came out in theaters in 1996 and was looking forward to watching it again on DVD. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that this is a poor pan-and-scan, full screen only, transfer of this film.
Amazon's product description and Editorial Review offer a confusing and misleading description of the product. The Editorial...
Published on August 1, 2011 by Dan Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One Can Be the Loneliest Number", April 14, 2005
By 
James E. Carroll (Cape Cod, Massachusetts, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
Michael Keaton's performance in the hilarious film "Multiplicity" is outstanding. Keaton is a "too busy to do anything else but work" contractor who becomes a test subject for a scientist's human cloning project. The clones turn out to be a big help and a big headache. The clones emphasize different parts of Keaton's psyche and the resulting interplay of their/his personalities makes this film enjoyable and funny. Keaton is able to play four different roles in the same film with ease.

Guaranteed to be a good laugh and sure to be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio ALERT! Don't purchase this if you want to see the WHOLE movie., August 1, 2011
By 
Dan Thompson (Kansas City, KS United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie when it came out in theaters in 1996 and was looking forward to watching it again on DVD. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that this is a poor pan-and-scan, full screen only, transfer of this film.
Amazon's product description and Editorial Review offer a confusing and misleading description of the product. The Editorial Review by Tom Keogh states that the "DVD release includes optional widescreen and standard formats..." Amazon's own Product Details for Format lists the DVD as "Anamorphic, Closed-captioned, Color, DVD, Full Screen, Subtitled, Widescreen, NTSC". Apparently, the only actual accurate description is limited to the Aspect Ratio that lists 1.33:1!
I'm not sure why in this age of widescreen HDTV and home theater a studio would release a feature film in full screen, let alone full screen only! And based on the descriptions previously referenced it may have been released in both formats earlier. This seems to be a foolish decision by someone at the studio to drop the widescreen format as opposed to the full screen one. The viewer misses out on scenes in which multiple clones appear together and some of them get clipped out of frame. What movie buff wants to see dialog taking place between halves of two faces when the cropped screen is unable to accommodate both actors (or both copies of the actor as is the case in this movie).
Amazon, correct your product description and drop the price on this less-than-complete DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keaton at his best, September 21, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
This is a hysterical movie. Tons of laughter and a funny storyline. I use several quotes from the movie and most people will be able to name this movie. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who needs a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A Copy Made From A Copy Is Never Quite As Sharp", February 23, 2008
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
This is a laugh out loud comedy even if a few elements are in questionable taste. Michael Keaton is hilarious playing an overworked suburban LA man and his three clones. The first clone (Doug 2) created so the Keaton character (Doug) can have more time at home with his wife and kids is a rugged workaholic. Clone #3 is made to be a more sensitive house husband type of guy when the original Doug becomes overwhelmed with all the home time and decides what he really needs is more leisure time for himself. And the fourth clone, well, he's made from Doug 2 and as my review title quotes the film "a copy made from a copy is never quite as sharp". Obviously complications arise many having to do with Laura, Doug's lovely wife, played by Andie MacDowell, who remains oblivious to the fact that she actually has four husbands for awhile. Keaton is remarkable in giving all four of the Dougs distinct personalities and seems to be even able to change his physical characteristics as he plays the different roles. The movie ends rather implausibly but of course it is all just for fun nonsense anyway. One more thing - er I don't think the "science" behind the cloning is real well researched so don't watch this hoping to get a better grade on your genetics test!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it, or hate it., August 5, 2001
By 
Aaron Knepper (South Bend, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
Well, the first time I saw this movie was last year in 8th grade Science Class. I thought "Great, something in school, it's gonna suck", well, I was wrong. The story is mainly about a man who works way too much, and he wants some free time, so he can have some time to himself and his family. His work is effected, and his over all attitude. Until, one day he's working on a job site when Keaton comes across a scientist. This scientist tells him about cloning, and all the glory. Then Keaton starts to believe it is a bunch of BS, when the real scientist comes back from a game of golf. In a few short minutes #2 is born, except his genes are spliced so he becomes a workaholic. Now that Keaton has extra time on his hands, he decides to help out at home, when he creates #3, which is spliced with a habit of house cleaning (lots of laughs). Eventually, the two clones move into the garage, where trouble starts because Keaton's wife is actually talking, dating, and sleeping with the clones. At a time, Keaton walks in to shut the clones up because they are having a party, when he meets #4, the mental case. He is a clone of a clone, so he isn't, well, as intulectual as the others. Along the road, a small love story unfolds, as well as a commedy.
During this movie, the viewer (you) would have many aspects, and most would find it extremely funny. This is far more hillarious than most commedies out today, if you want a good laugh, Multiplicity is the movie for you. I rate it a 5 star movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have comedy!, February 14, 2005
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
What a hilarious movie! I've loved this movie ever since the first time I saw it, and it still hasn't gotten old. I find myself laughing more with every viewing! It's funny, clever, and has more substance than most comedies. Michael Keaton does an amazing job in this movie, and plays all four Dougs so well that you always know which Doug it is, without causing any confusion at all. Doug #2 is probably my favorite of them all. I watched this movie recently on TV and had to order this DVD off amazon! I highly recommend all of you comedy lovers out there do the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rule number 2: No more dougs. We're out of the doug-making buisness altogether.", April 1, 2006
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
This buisness is just booming. Doug Kenny, a struggling contractor with a family, has his problems just like every other human being. Daily problems, little problems, big problems. It's just so hard to get set in life . . .until he meets with a geneticist after he publicly loses it.

Michael Keaton plays a perfect quadrouple role. First he clones one for his work becuase he has some serious catching up to do, then he makes a clone for home life, then the two clones make a clone from the second clone. Things couldn't be better.

The only problem is that "TWO" has turned into your stereotypical macho guy, "THREE" becomes the Martha Stewart side of doug, and the fourth clone is all screwed up, bouncing off the walls like he's a child.

The special effects here were really ahead of their time but being able to place one actor in a scene several times over is positively seamless.

It's the perfect comedy for anyone who ever wished that they could be everywhere at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty funny, July 29, 2006
By 
FizzWiz (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Multiplicity [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie should've done well mainstream. There's enough humor that it's not too difficult for most people to get, but yet there's enough substance for the critical thinkers, but enough humor to be silly to the so called average person. To those critics that gave this movie a bad slice was undeservedly so. How many movies can you watch where an actor can say something to the degree of "I'm sorry that I was having sex with your wife, but that it was actually you having sex with your wife because you are me?" Since cloning is not rampant yet, maybe this movie is too ahead of its time.

MacDowell is great as a wife, and Keaton is just gosh darned funny as all hell as he plays himself and all the clones in it! Must've been hard to film, especially the parts with more than one Doug at the same time. Eugene Levy is in this one too, but he doesn't play a big enough part to show his witty humorous side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Received this DVD as a Surprise Birthday Present!, April 1, 2010
This review is from: Multiplicity (DVD)
My husband ordered this DVD from Amazon.com for my birthday and not only was it on time, but also in terrific shape! Great job Amazon.
The movie was absolutely hysterical, especially No 4! Hi STEVE! LOL.
I always wished I could clone my husband, after viewing this movie, I seriously changed my mind. It would be like living with a multiple personality disorder!
Although he does remind me of No 4 at times? Great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY!!!, June 22, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Multiplicity [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This was a great movie. I've probably seen it at least 5 times! I'm looking to buy it and have not found it in any stores so am planning to buy it from Amazon. Our family still says "I want pithza, Steve" all the time!
To the person who said it was immature humor - I can't imagine - you need to lighten up and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Multiplicity
Multiplicity by Harold Ramis (DVD - 1998)
$14.99 $9.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.