Customer Reviews


809 Reviews
5 star:
 (311)
4 star:
 (136)
3 star:
 (167)
2 star:
 (95)
1 star:
 (100)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


368 of 378 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - with the correct expectations
I bought these bowls expecting them to end the food-dumping behavior that so many are complaining about. The reviews are correct - they won't help with that. The suction is not strong enough. But what they are good for is helping a child who is learning to self-feed master spoon-related skill without having to worry about the bowl moving around. They're really good...
Published on August 10, 2007 by PghYinzer

versus
159 of 164 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction depends on your expectations...
Years ago with our first son we had a feeding bowl with a removable suction base that was larger in diameter with hole in the center, but it would not stay down for a reasonable amount of time. It was adequate, but I attributed lack of suction to design flaws. Third time around, and much older, I sought the holy grail of suction cup baby bowls. Seeing this in the store,...
Published on March 3, 2007 by wilepi


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

368 of 378 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - with the correct expectations, August 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
I bought these bowls expecting them to end the food-dumping behavior that so many are complaining about. The reviews are correct - they won't help with that. The suction is not strong enough. But what they are good for is helping a child who is learning to self-feed master spoon-related skill without having to worry about the bowl moving around. They're really good when your child is self-feeding cold cereal, applesauce, oatmeal, etc. A smart buy, but will come in handy a little later than you might think.

One more thing - the suction is greatly improved if you lick the bottom of the bowl before you stick it to the table. Unfortunately this lead to a period when my son felt it was customary to lick things before putting them on the table, but this passed quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 164 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction depends on your expectations..., March 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
Years ago with our first son we had a feeding bowl with a removable suction base that was larger in diameter with hole in the center, but it would not stay down for a reasonable amount of time. It was adequate, but I attributed lack of suction to design flaws. Third time around, and much older, I sought the holy grail of suction cup baby bowls. Seeing this in the store, I felt that perhaps a one piece, smaller diameter suction cup (no hole in the center) might stay in place better. I'm beginning to think that no baby bowl set w/suction base will satisfy my high expectations.

I like these bowls because: 1) the lids stay on real well, 2) they are colorful and the perfect size for taking food places 3) When the suction cup first takes hold, it does a good job 4) they wash up nicely, I've even put them in the dishwasher on heated dry.

My baby is now 15 months old, and very strong. But I've noticed the suction cup dishes really only work if you constantly push down on the bowl to keep them there. This draws attention to our efforts, and curious why we're pushing down so often, the baby pulls extra hard on the sides to get it to come up. Unfortunately for me, but much to her satisfaction, when the suction gives way, the great amount of force which is necessary to get the bowl off has so much momentum behind it, that the bowl's contents really go flying.

What I don't like about these bowls: 1) mine only has 1 suction base, and I don't know how a permanent base affects washability 2) the suction is not long lasting enough to get through a meal which means 3) if your baby wants it off and really pulls, it WILL go flying, rather, the contents will go flying, because the handles are quite nice with non slip material on it for gripping. 4) the shape has real deep, steep sides which make it difficult for the baby to see what's at the bottom, food can "hide" on the sides, and the sides make it difficult to pin food into her spoon. 5) the base is narrow compared to the top, and it makes it tip real easily.

I would ask for these again, and in a way I'm glad my suction cup is non permanent, so that I can use them as bowls to put food in, not put on her tray. As for finding the ultimate suction bowl, I'm really beginning to think that teaching her to leave a non suction dish on the tray/table is my best option. I'm headed to a baby store to do more homework on the Baby Bjorn dish! Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Agree with other reviewers...bowls don't stay put, March 20, 2007
By 
Lara Hartley (Apex (near Raleigh), NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
I got these when my son was 12 months old and already a strong little guy who enjoyed dumping his bowls of food onto his high chair tray. Trying to outsmart him, I purchased these hoping to keep some food in a bowl. Much to my disappointment, they only stick to the formica countertops well. The littlest one doesn't even stick to that. None of them stays on my son's plastic high chair tray for more than a second or two.

On the upside, the lids are secure once shut all the way (which can take a little work), so they make great storage for on-the-go finger foods in the diaper bag...I haven't had one leak yet, and I put things like applesauce in them to test them. Not a total waste of money, now that I found this alternate use. They wash well, without any noticeable breakdown of the plastic, on the top rack of the dishwasher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, May 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
I bought these bowls for my 10 month old twins, and unlike everyone else has stated, they do stick to my sons' high chairs. After reading the reviews, I was really scared to buy these, but I am glad that I did because they worked great for my boys. Maybe the difference is the type of high chair, I have the space saver kind that straps to a regular adult chair rather than a full-sized one. Now granted once your child watches you lift the bowl of the tray he will evenually learn to do it too, but until then this is working out great for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They do just what they should, July 25, 2009
By 
L. Bastiani (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
Unless you expect a suction cup to work as well as crazy glue, you'll probably be very happy with these bowls. Obviously, the stick better on plastic and smooth surfaces, and they stick better if you wet the suction cup. One review said that she licked the rim, but I just wet my finger or run the bottom of the bowl under the sink. If they stuck too well, I would think it would be frustrating when you want to move it and have to get a fingernail under there or something. To the reviewer who said that it is probably a better idea just to train your child not to throw things on the floor, I say, that's the right idea.

On the flip side, the bowls really help kids learn to spoon feed since they can scoop things up the side of the bowl. Having a relatively deep bowl is important for that. One problem with the bowls is when you are at a restaurant and the high chair is not very high in comparison to the table so the child is peering over the edge of the bowl.

I use them with the sassy spoons with the handles that curve up like a hill. My 17 month old can eat cereal with milk using those spoons with these cups and most of it goes into her mouth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stay put doesn't stay put, January 3, 2007
By 
Kindle Customer (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
The suction on these bowls is so weak that the baby pulled it off the highchair and dumped the contents in a few seconds flat. They do come in lovely colors, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Suction does not work, March 17, 2007
By 
McChens (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
I was very excited to get these bowls in the mail because they are so cute, and the concept of having a suction bowl was (and is) appealing to me. My son loved the bowl right away, as he was able to reach into the bowl for some puffs to feed himself instead of having to push the puffs around the table until he could finally grab one in his fingers. I'd also like to add that he ate tofu cubes for the first time out of this bowl and loved them! However, I'm disappointed because the suction on the bowl does not work for more than a few seconds. I'm constantly pushing the bowl back down, which is disruptive to his meal. Despite some of happy memories I've had with this bowl, I would not recommend buying these bowls because as 'suction bowls' they do not serve their purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!!!, May 19, 2011
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
Either I got a different product or they changed the design of these bowls because the suction feature works fine (contrary to other reviews). In fact, it works so well that I have a difficult time getting it off surfaces I place it on. One thing I must say, though, is that simply placing it on a surface will not lead to suctioning ability alone. It works better when you put a small amount of pressure on the bowl.

I also like the fact that the lids on these bowls are super secure, menaing that nothing will get out once the lid is properly on. This is a great feature when traveling with your baby. I simply mix foods prior to leaving and am confident enough that the contents will remain in these bowls by the time I reach my destination.

Overall, for the price, they certainly are not a disappointment. If you are someone who is always on the go like me, these are a must buy. It has made my life much simpler and worry free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Microwave safe, November 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
No where in the product description does it tell you these are not microwave safe. This is a deal breaker. Amazon needs to work on their product descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suction wears out, September 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count (Baby Product)
These worked in the beginning, but after repeated washing, the suction didn't work as well. We found that if you moisten the suction cup before pressing it down on the tray/table, then it stuck pretty well. They do not suction on to wood, laminate, or any surface that has texture. It sticks best to smooth plastic (like the highchair tray) or glass. The lids are difficult to put on, but once on, they are really secure and do not leak.

These are not microwaveable.

We now use plates as the bowls were too deep for our toddler to scoop her own food out with a spoon or fork.

The bowls are deep, which helps cut down on the mess factor, but also makes it difficult for baby to see the food inside the bowl, especially when it is on the inside part closest to baby. I guess it depends on the height of your tray and your baby's height.

I recommend for short term use for one baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowl, 3 Count
$9.99 $7.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.