Customer Reviews


1,185 Reviews
5 star:
 (868)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two beloved classics combined
Charles Dickens' classic tale "A Christmas Carol" has probably been adapted for stage, screen, and TV more than any other story in the history of literature. Many have been really great -- the Mr. Magoo animated version, Patrick Stewart's one-man stage show, the George C. Scott version, etc. But one of the best is definitely "The Muppet Christmas...
Published on October 21, 2001 by Michael J. Mazza

versus
345 of 366 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be advised: widescreen version is not uncut.
This DVD contains a 4:3 version and a 16:9 widescreen version.

Disney Home Video reps have confirmed that only the 4:3 pan & scan version is the home video version which contains the full version of this movie. The widescreen version is the theatrical cut and does not include the song "When Love is Gone".
Published on September 1, 2005 by Paul


‹ Previous | 146 47 48119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!, November 26, 2013
By 
Anniefletch (Attleboro, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always loved this movie and being able to watch it anywhere is great! Michael Caine is terrific in it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas favorite, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favorite versions of the classic. Well, you do have to like the Muppets first of all. I still have it on VHS (bought it when it first came out) but don't have the VCR anymore. Since I now have grandchildren I want to be sure it's around for Christmas time viewing.
It sticks to the story. Michael Caine is a great Scrooge. The songs are good--very "Christmassy." Having famous Muppets play the main characters actually works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Muppet Christmas Carol (DVD)
This is the only Christmas Carol that keeps the colsets to the book, other use certain language from the book here and there...include the old Alister Simms and George C Scott's versions, but this outshines them all with the use of descriptions and language right from Disckens...plus who doesn't love Kermit? Michael Caine makes a great Scrooge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Christmas Pastime!, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of those movies that I watch every year around Christmas! It never gets old. I almost feel like it isn't Christmas without watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, wrong region, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had to return it. It was not as advertised. MovieMars was really great about processing the return, but the DVD was advertised as new, and it was scratched and had fingerprints all over it and was clearly just re-shrink-wrapped. It was also formatted for the wrong region, so even if it had been in new condition, it still wouldn't have played in my dvd player. You get what you pay for, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas classic, November 16, 2013
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Muppet Christmas Carol (DVD)
I generally am resentful of take-offs of Dickens, and especially of A CHRISTMAS CAROL. However, this is a classic in a class all by itself. "nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fuzzy, wuzzy and warm version., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Muppet Christmas Carol (DVD)
This is sticky but fun spin on the classic Christmas tale of redemption. Sir Michael caine adds dramatic depth to this film. Kermit, Robin, Gonzo, Miss Piggy and the gang are enjoyable in the muppet tradition. There are plenty of one-liners and special effects. This movie is pure fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They took out my favorite song but other then that it is still a great movie just like it always was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buying childhood memories, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this VHS because I purchased a VCR and a small collection of sentimental movies on VHS because they bring back fond memories. This movie makes the holiday viewing list most years. It's one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family time, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clever, funny, a great family tradition. This is a must for the holidays. The muppets are a part of our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 146 47 48119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Muppet Christmas Carol (20th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray]
$26.50 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.