Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!
ok, so i'm happy most any time the Muppets do anything at all. it's true.

the only thing that i have NOT liked was the Wizard of Oz disaster.

this is the Muppets back home in New York being themselves, again. it is classicly told in the proper muppet universe.

the music is good and the jokes are fresh.

this ISN'T the MUPPET...
Published on November 4, 2009 by Joel D. Ealy

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boy, you can tell that there's no Jim Henson
Everything done by the Muppets since the death of Jim Henson has been sorely lacking in heart. This production had promise but it never got beyond that. Even Paul Williams' music seems to be lacking without the collaborative genius of Henson.

There are a few chuckles here and there--brought about mostly by the newish character of PePe the Prawn--but I'd have to...
Published on December 22, 2009 by The Phantom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, November 4, 2009
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
ok, so i'm happy most any time the Muppets do anything at all. it's true.

the only thing that i have NOT liked was the Wizard of Oz disaster.

this is the Muppets back home in New York being themselves, again. it is classicly told in the proper muppet universe.

the music is good and the jokes are fresh.

this ISN'T the MUPPET FAMILY CHRISTMAS, (nothing ever will be that great again!)
but it is the best thing in years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, even if the plot is a little underwhelming., December 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
I originally watched this movie last Christmas. Surprisingly, they showed it multiple times on Comedy Network (basically Canada's version of Comedy Central): not exactly a network aimed at children. I'm a younger adult who's familiar with the muppets, but was born after their best years, so I wasn't sure exactly what to expect.

Don't expect an Emmy winning effort or anything more than a super-thin plot here, on those metrics the movie doesn't do much (it was originally made for TV after-all). However, it manages to get over these issues by having just a really fun Christmas atmosphere and some decent family-friendly jokes. In particular, Kermit and Pepe really drive this release. At times, for adult viewers, it is cheesy to say the least, but somehow with the Muppets even that seems forgivable. There are some great parts in this movie, starting with some great slapstick and overall comedy of how much damage the Muppets manage to do at the post office, to a great Sopranos reference (seems like the writers threw this in especially for adult viewers), to the humor of an actual airline that goes to the North Pole, to Whoopi Goldberg's interrupting of a heartfelt song to ask for money. As mentioned, the plot is thin, but it's enough to hold all the funny clips together. The songs are simple, but don't drag on and seem to work.

Perhaps the worst-part is the ending. As another reviewer noted, there was so much potential at the North Pole, but they seem to leave as soon as they arrive and it just feels underwhelming. Then there is a cheesy, lazy ending that really "wraps things up" out of nowhere. The movie could have been a little bit longer in return for a stronger ending. Additionally, some viewers may be disappointed that many of the Muppets only make appearances at the start and end of the film, it is primarily Kermit, Gonzo, Pepe, and Rizzo earning the screentime.

All of the above issues aside, I still give this 4 stars because while I never turned on the TV purposely to watch it, whenever it came on Comedy Network last Christmas, I never changed the channel and ended up watching it probably 5 times or so. And this year I've found myself searching it out again. Overall, the spirit, fun attitude and atmosphere, and Christmas cheer of this movie really manage to make up for its shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muppets!, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
My husband and I love the Muppet movies. This is a great add to our collection. Hope others enjoy these movies as much as we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Time with the Muppets, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
Growing up, we watched the Muppets and loved all the crazy characters. Now with kids in tow, we wanted them to share our love of the crazy Muppets Gang.

Note, this is on Amazon for under $10, with that in mind, it's a great price for this holiday story. If it gets priced much higher, then I'll wait for it to drop in price again.

We found it to be a good story for our toddler age kids, if they grew up with Letters to Santa, the older kids might not mind this particular story. Other reviewers have stated that the plot is too simplified, but I think that's fine when it comes to Holiday movies.

For now, in our family it's a Holiday classic, we love all the Muppet characters in this made for tv movie, and have this DVD in our family entertainment collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very enjoyable movie, and one everyone should see., August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
This is a very enjoyable movie, and one everyone should see. It brings back old fashioned values that we as a society seemed to have lost in the past few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Muppet Christmas!, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
I have loved the Muppets for years! I have several movies and this is one of the best specials they have out there! It is great family fun movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the muppets, they are so funny there singing make me sing along and they got the letters to santa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
The Muppets are the Best!!! Letters to Santa are enjoyed by the whole family and we love watching the Muppets all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love the Muppets?, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (DVD)
This is a really fun Christmas movie with the Muppets and many celebrity cameos. Take note that this is not a feature-length film but a made-for-TV movie with a short run time. A very cute holiday movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The muppets, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a hugh fan of the Muppets and whenever there is a Christmas and the Muppets I am watching it.
Very talented people also, I would recommend this for families of all ages. Its funny, sad, and it has a Happy ending. Kermit and Miss Piggy were great as was the whole gang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa
Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa by Kirk R. Thatcher (DVD - 2009)
$19.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.