Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legacy of Art, in the world's greatest City
If possible, I would give this book dozens of stars. It delivers on so many levels: A high-quality volume / stunning photography /
insightful text about the back story and location of each mural / an historical overview of the history of the City of New York through the lens of the dedicated and gifted artists who created these murals, etc. Even in the case of...
Published 10 months ago by LKP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged Book
This is a great book. Sadly, Amazon shipped me a used or returned copy. No plastic wrapping but worse binding torn and pages wrinkled. I didn't return it because it was a birthday gift for the next day. BAD quality control Amazon.
Published 8 months ago by Camp Curmudgeon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legacy of Art, in the world's greatest City, January 7, 2014
By 
LKP (Ancram, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
If possible, I would give this book dozens of stars. It delivers on so many levels: A high-quality volume / stunning photography /
insightful text about the back story and location of each mural / an historical overview of the history of the City of New York through the lens of the dedicated and gifted artists who created these murals, etc. Even in the case of murals I "thought" I knew, I found so much more insight -- Plus I made so many more new-to-me discoveries. It's all here: the little-known-but-remarkable WPA installations in neighborhood gathering places, the upscale "Cafe Society" murals in well-known watering holes, the dignified historical depictions in court houses, and the grand Art Deco sepia-toned homages to industry and progress, etc. And much much more. I received this book as a gift, and it is a treasure that I will enjoy for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous book, October 17, 2013
By 
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
I think Murals of New York City is an unusual and beautiful book. The photographs by Joshua McHugh are just gorgeous, and the stories are vivid and fascinating. As a tried and true New Yorker, I found myself surprised by many of the public murals in the book, documented here so splendidly, and the tales that go with them. I'll never see the city in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful history of NY through its murals, October 16, 2013
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
I loved this book. I read about the book in Vanity Fair and then saw the cover and thought it would be great because who doesn't love the King Cole mural at the St Regis? And, yes, they do tell the story about what is really going on in the mural which you used to have to be nice to the bartender there to hear. There are murals I knew about and some I had no idea existed. The murals are beautiful and the photos are great and I loved having a little story about each mural. Just bought two other copies to give as Christmas gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged Book, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
This is a great book. Sadly, Amazon shipped me a used or returned copy. No plastic wrapping but worse binding torn and pages wrinkled. I didn't return it because it was a birthday gift for the next day. BAD quality control Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murals to Remember, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
Amazing book of murals from allover NYC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great public Art in a Great Volume, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
Mr. Palmer-Smith's impeccable taste and excellent photography and background information on these public paintings is a great treat to see the works of Maxfield Parrish and others in between a beautifully designed book makes this publication a wonderful addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murals of NYC, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
My husband and I loved visiting the city. He, as an architect and designer, loved
the murals and art deco designs and architecture. I highly recommend this book
to people who share his interest and love of thid great city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murals Well Displayed, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
The photography of these murals is most excellent. Kudos to the photographer. This book is a welcome addition to any designer's or architect's collection as well as anyone with an interest in well displayed permanent art, displaying New York memorabilia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it - everyone should get one, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
the bookd did not disappoint - had attended a wonderful lecture by the author which really made want to buy the book which is rare these days - the illustrations are fabulous and the text so interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish (Hardcover)
Most unusual and beautiful book with gorgeous photos and brief but in depth descriptions of the places listed. Read a section a day for a wonderful trip through NYC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murals of New York City: The Best of New York's Public Paintings from Bemelmans to Parrish
$45.00 $28.39
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.