Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!
Copied from my review of the first book in the series "Murder at Steeple Martin" - but I read all 10 books in a row, so in my head they're more like one long story (yeah, I like to watch TV show marathons too).

If you're a fan of cozy mysteries, this is a great series to pick up - especially on their current sale price! I read the entire series straight...
Published on October 19, 2012 by jaimilyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Regional
I read several Scottish and English series. This one did not appeal at all; I found many of the terms in the colloquial speach undecipherable and could never connect with the characters. Apparently I am in the minority, as Cookman has ten or so books published in this series. Perhaps someone more familiar with the area would enjoy them more.
Published 13 months ago by Auntie Annie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, October 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Copied from my review of the first book in the series "Murder at Steeple Martin" - but I read all 10 books in a row, so in my head they're more like one long story (yeah, I like to watch TV show marathons too).

If you're a fan of cozy mysteries, this is a great series to pick up - especially on their current sale price! I read the entire series straight through, and for the most part really enjoyed it. I'm a fan of English murder mysteries (recently discovered "Midsomer Mysteries" on TV and have been in heaven), and this is a great contribution to the genre.

The characters were relatable, dimensioned, and the heroines try their best to avoid Nancy Drew (or Miss Marple on that side of the pond) syndrome - their insistence that people should go talk to the police because they'll get there first anyway. Very refreshing :)

I hope there are more books coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it., November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An entertaining afternoon's read. Great characters, great location and I love the way she weaves historical events into her plots and story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Libby Sarjeant mysteries, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These mysteries are engaging and smart. I have read 3 now and will read more. I usually read to wind down before sleep, so mysteries that do not have too much horror and gore are perfect for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the discussion of the celtic customs of celebrating the first day of spring with Morris dancing and the Cornwall areas where the action took place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Purchase, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We received what we expected with this purchase. Appreciate the detailed description. There is nothing unusual to report. Would buy again if needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lesley Cookman Mysteries, December 23, 2013
By 
cmburke (Wilkes-Barre, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read 9 books in the Libby and Fran series. The characters are down to earth, nosey, and funny as they try to beat the police to the solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Regional, November 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Green (Libby Sarjeant Murder Mysteries) (Paperback)
I read several Scottish and English series. This one did not appeal at all; I found many of the terms in the colloquial speach undecipherable and could never connect with the characters. Apparently I am in the minority, as Cookman has ten or so books published in this series. Perhaps someone more familiar with the area would enjoy them more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morris mystery, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the historical and modern day connections and the way both the women work together to solve the mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just discovered the Libby Sarjeant series and have now read every one. Love them, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the way this is written - like all the Libby Sarjeant series - as if they are ordinary everyday people - not spies, government agents, but a regular housewife who is as nosey as the rest of us and ends up solving crimes. Love her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like her writing, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The writing was a bit, tongue in cheek! And, I think the story was too drawn out...there were too many characters early up....the gathered evidence was quite flimsy....and when Libby and Fran got bits of info, I think it unrealistic how they came to their conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murder in the Green (Libby Sarjeant Murder Mysteries)
Murder in the Green (Libby Sarjeant Murder Mysteries) by Lesley Cookman (Paperback - January 3, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.