Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rollicking 1940's Wartime London Mystery
In this stylish and jazzy 1940's wartime London mystery, a woman is found strangled with a swatztika carved on her tongue. Young pathologist Lennox Collins (Patrick Kennedy) is called to the scene of her dodgy rooming house. An eager and intrepid young woman reporter, Molly Cooper (Tamzin Merchant), sidles her way into the crime scene to scoop the story. When she...
Published 9 months ago by L. M. Keefer

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable
I saw this program on PBS so I cannot comment on the quality of the DVD, only on the quality of the drama. In London during the Blitz, a forensic scientist and his female assistant investigate the serial killings of young women. The production did a good job of evoking the era with seemingly accurate replication of the period's clothing, radio, and music and convincing...
Published 9 months ago by RMWARZ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rollicking 1940's Wartime London Mystery, February 16, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
In this stylish and jazzy 1940's wartime London mystery, a woman is found strangled with a swatztika carved on her tongue. Young pathologist Lennox Collins (Patrick Kennedy) is called to the scene of her dodgy rooming house. An eager and intrepid young woman reporter, Molly Cooper (Tamzin Merchant), sidles her way into the crime scene to scoop the story. When she confesses she wants to be a crime writer, Dr. Collins lets her become his assistant at his lab. Amidst the bombs of the blitz, more strangled women are found. Is a Nazi Strangler loose? Pathologist Collins needs to find the culprit using the science in the developing forensics field before an innocent man is hung for the crime. Why is the government so keen to call this crime solved? Is it merely to avoid bad headlines, or is the plot more twisted?

Collins is socially awkward and Molly is a gee-whiz, wide-eyed girl reporter. Together they have a certain symmetry. This is a lighthearted, stylized frolic for anglophiles and British mystery lovers. While it has the same backdrop as FOYLE'S WAR, it is much more insouciant. The plot is clever and all the characters had intriguing faces. Whoever did the casting had some fun. If you want an escape to wartime London with a mystery to solve, this just may be the ticket. 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the DVD release – The PBS BROADCAST version was ) edited – This is what CSI was in the 1940s, March 30, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
Okay, first a note and suggestion: I wanted to point out that Amazon has a policy of grouping ALL reviews of ALL formats of a film together under each version. So you will find lots of reviews of the theatrical or TV version here as well as review of the Amazon Instant version. Neither of these covers the bonus features on the DVD and Bluray. So I always recommend that buyers sort the reviews by “Most Recent” first and then look to see which format the reviewer is discussing. With that said, on to my review of the DVD (non-Bluray) version. As I understand it the bonus features are the same on both the DVD and BD for this release

This film was created by Carnival Films, the leading independent producer of films in the UK which are broadcast there on the BBC. It recently aired on PBS in the UK but in an edited form. I did not see the PBS version but the package of the DVD states clearly “Original UK Edition” and, at 93 minutes, it would not have fit into the PBS 85 minute time slot. Just as importantly, there are enough graphic images of severed body parts, blood and brief full nudity (though of dead bodies) that viewers with weak stomachs should be aware of these scenes. Still, I loved this film.

I’ll leave a few other reviewers to discuss the details of the plot – though I don’t like “spoilers. This is not so much as a “mystery” as a “Police procedural drama” (the words used by the Director in the bonus feature on the DVD). If the TV series “CSI” were taking place in the war years of 1940s London (with bombs being dropped daily and fallout shelters being the norm), this would be an episode of “CSI – The war years”. There is great chemistry (no pun intended, really!) between the lead characters – the pathologist (Patrick Kennedy) and his “former news reporter turned assistant”( Tazmin Merchant). As the film ends and the case is resolved (though not exactly as the viewer might hope for), it looks like there could be future cases. And, in fact there is. Well at least one. Though the package does not reveal this, an Internet search revealed that this was the first of a two-part series, Hopefully, the second part will be available shortly and released by PBS Home Video in the “original UK version” as well.

The DVD has one bonus feature. It is a six-minute “behind the scenes” featurette with the director, scenic designer and cast members”. While not essential to enjoying the film, I found it useful to watch.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
“Anything Phonographic”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, and available for $2 on itunes, March 4, 2014
By 
Ceridwen "VR" (Fremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
I loved this period crime drama, light hearted despite the time and circumstances. Well done and well acted.

I bought mine off of itunes for $1.99, it was listed as a "pilot" . I thought that for twenty something dollars this was the whole season, apparently not... So save your self some money and buy it from itunes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, February 21, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
I saw this program on PBS so I cannot comment on the quality of the DVD, only on the quality of the drama. In London during the Blitz, a forensic scientist and his female assistant investigate the serial killings of young women. The production did a good job of evoking the era with seemingly accurate replication of the period's clothing, radio, and music and convincing portrayal of the terror of the air raids. The actors, though entirely unknown to me (surprising since I watch a lot of UK-produced TV), were all competent. Since it hinged on forensics, the plot was more police procedural than whodunit. Thankfully, unlike too many CSI-type US TV shows I've seen, the science was clearly explicated and the solution to the crime unfolded logically and was credible. To add an extra fillip of conflict to the storyline, the interests of pure justice were placed in conflict with the interests of the war effort. If this all sounds rather familiar to fans of Foyle's War, no surprise. Replace older, wiser Foyle and young, eager Sam with young, smart Dr. Collins and young, eager Molly and move them from Hastings to London and you've got Murder on the Home Front. The problem is, neither the main characters nor the cast of suspects is anywhere near as compelling as Michael Kitchen and Honeysuckle Weeks and their panoply of guest stars. A heads-up for parents (and the squeamish), there are some fairly grisly scenes in the early going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop Re-Writing History to be Politically Correct!, February 22, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
To answer the question was luminol available during WWII - yes, it was developed in 1937 as a presumptive test for blood, so the science for it was around in 1940 WWII London. I don't know how widely used it would have been, but it was available. This TV show kept my attention, but as with many TV programs made now about the past, Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries comes to mind, they feel the need to put a politically correct spin on it when there was no such thing in those days. Homosexuality was a crime in the 1940s and most people thought it a perversion and were not accepting of it. Yet again, the two main characters tell the character Terry that there's nothing wrong with his paying male prostitutes for sex. Most people would have been appalled at such behavior in those days because they weren't exposed to it like we are today. Good grief, at least make it believable for the era! **SPOILER ALERT - IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE MOVIE AND WANT TO BE SURPRISED, DON'T READ WHAT FOLLOWS** I also find it hard to believe that as smart as Molly was that she would have gone off with the killer away from everyone else in the tube station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts out well, but peters out., April 22, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
A good period Sherlocky detective intro to the science of forensic investigation of crimes. Script, acting, directing, sets, etc. start out well and for most of the movie it has a nice authentic flow but then the creative juices must have run out because the ending (and near ending scenes) lost focus, energy, intrigue and denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pathology 101, October 23, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
1940's, I was not sure that anyone paid any attention to the show of clues in a murder/crime scene. However, I was not alone. Along comes a new, young pathologist who turns this London pathology lab upside down.

Patrick Kennedy plays Dr Lennox Collins, newly arrived at the pathologist's office. His boss has the old mannerisms and wants his lab run in the old fashioned way. Dr.Collins is not given many murder investigations until one night a young woman is found murdered. Collins insists on keeping the crime scene free of anything other than the clues inside. This is new to the detectives, but as he explains they go along with him. In this case he finds a Swatstika cut into the victims tongue. A total of 4 women's bodies are found, and Collins intends to find the murderer. Along the way he finds a news woman, Molly Cooper, played by Tamzin Merchant, interested in working for him as a secretary, and off they go.

The detectives and Collin's boss find a young German man they say is the murderer. Collins knows it is not him, and his job is to prove them wrong. This is a fun film, as well as gory with all the dismembered body parts all over the morgue. Molly Cooper lightens up the mood, and she is articulate and smart. Collins and Cooper prove to be a duo not to be warned off. I understand there is a Part Two, and I look forward to this film.

Recommended. prisrob 10-23-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crime During Wartime, November 6, 2014
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
I seem to have viewed some incredible number of mystery/ crime thriller movies and series. They tend to run together but this one stood out if only for the WWII bombing of London backdrop.

Here's the scoop. It's 1940 and there are nightly bombing raids on London by the Nazis. The citizens are beginning to find it little more than an annoyance. But after one raid a murder victim is found. A pathologist is brought in. He's second tier but they need him because all the first tier guys are involved in the war effort. A female reporter worms her way onto the crime scene and he decides to hire her because she's smart, puckish and not squeamish. He turns the investigation on its ears.

This is a fun time. It was produced in 2013 but has more the look and feel of a BBC TV series from much earlier. I generally liked the depiction of WWII London. the clothing, sets, and general stuff were all spot on. I was a bit dubious about his handling of the crime scenes though. I don't know much about criminal forensics of that period, but the way they've been depicted on American TV in the last decade suggests he was ahead of his time. He repeatedly makes the detectives on the case look like idiots.

Patrick Kennedy as pathologist Lennox Collins is an interesting sort. He's bookish, doesn't pay much attention to his wardrobe and likes listening to radio shows. Tamzin Merchant, as his sidekick Molly Cooper is a hoot. She pretty much does as he tells her unless she sees where she might help things along in which case she's in head first. All the other actors do a stand up job.

The investigation proceeds in an orderly fashion with the usual suspects and red herrings. I must admit I was surprised by how things turned out. It was an interesting twist on things.

This might not be the best mystery thriller you'll ever see but it's a worthwhile romp. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good show, like to see more, July 4, 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
Good show, like to see more. The acting may not have been perfect but it kept my interest. Kind of a grittier Foyles War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting movie but not a documentary!, October 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Home Front (DVD)
Brilliantly acted. As a one-time Brit, I was fascinated by the lead characters development of forensic science although, in all honesty, Britain had a pretty thriving forensic science effort in the late 1800's involving blood groupings and fingerprints. The medical examiners were not quite the troglodytes that were portrayed by the senior examiner who went by his instincts. Forensic medicine was used extensively in the 1880's in the Jack the Ripper search. Still, it's an interesting movie and very well performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murder on the Home Front
Murder on the Home Front by . (DVD - 2014)
$24.99 $14.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.