Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8th entry in Gaslight Mystery series fascinating
Murder in Little Italy by Victoria Thompson is the eighth entry in the Gaslight Mystery series featuring New York midwife Sarah Brandt and her occasional suitor Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy. A young pregnant Irish girl marries into an Italian family, but when her baby arrives "prematurely" and roly-poly fat, the family turns on her. The next morning the girl is dead,...
Published on September 29, 2006 by Christina Lockstein

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easily recommend to others
The mystery itself was good enough and I did enjoy the twist at the end but I never really felt a sense of "place" in this book. It never seemed to be "Gaslight" days to me. Other than that, this is an easy to read, easy to follow cosy and I would recommend it to others.
Published 4 months ago by Itsthetruth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8th entry in Gaslight Mystery series fascinating, September 29, 2006
Murder in Little Italy by Victoria Thompson is the eighth entry in the Gaslight Mystery series featuring New York midwife Sarah Brandt and her occasional suitor Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy. A young pregnant Irish girl marries into an Italian family, but when her baby arrives "prematurely" and roly-poly fat, the family turns on her. The next morning the girl is dead, and as Sarah and Frank try to investigate the Black Hand gets involved and no one is talking. Thompson handles the issue of discrimination and prejudice well without assigning blame to either side. She also works in some great New York history into the story without it feeling forced. The chemistry between Frank and Sarah continues to grow, and the subplots with their families are intriguing and don't interfere with the mystery. My only disappointment is that I have to wait for the next installment to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thompson saved the best for last, June 13, 2006
Victoria Thompson has written a series of eight Gaslight Mystery books that are superb. This reader cannot provide enough accolades to the writer to compare to the hours of pleasure received while reading this series. Like Bruce Alexander, she is thorough, like Rhys Bowen, she entertains but unlike Anne Perry who has a dark side, Thompson uplifts the reader with imagery of words, deeds of the characters and their ability to cope with unsettling conditions.

The factor that distinguishes Thompson as a writer, is her ability to "tell the story" while teaching the reader about the historical facts of the turn of the last century. She provides details of the powerful and not so powerful elements of society that blend as one to create truth of historical data and enchantment from the fiction. Thompson also piques the interest of the reader by promising a brighter future for the two main characters, but never quite giving into the temptation, thereby leaving the reader wanting more and more and more.

When you have completed each book in her series - Murder at..... Astor Place, St Mark's Place, Gramacey Place, Washington Square, Mulberry Bend, Marble Row, Lenox Hill and finally, Little Italy, the reader is elevated by the quality of the writing, the bonding with the main characters, the fascination of the peripheral characters, and the knowledge gained relative to the genre. Thompson's writing is so close to perfect that it leaves you smiling.

Considering the late 1800's and first part of the twentieth century was anything but easy or fair, the reader must endure assaults on the senses when it comes to cleanliness, brutality, environmental conditions and justice. But Thompson rises above that as the principals muddle through each solution to a dilemma. Both of her main characters, Sarah Brandt, midwife and Frank Malloy, investigator in a corrupt New York City police department, have grown and become more endearing to the reader and to each other because of their most unusual friendship. For the reader, who participates in every caper by imagination, it has been pure joy to experience.

As wonderful as this book is, please take my advice and start at the beginning. Your appreciation for fine writing will grow with each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine addition to this series, June 28, 2006
By 
Muriel K. (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The last in Victoria Thompson's excellent series featuring midwife Sarah Brandt and Frank Malloy makes fascinating reading. It gives a vivid picture of the animosity between the Irish and Italians. While there is no romance between Sarah and Malloy, their fondness for each other is plainly there. The characters are very well drawn. I could not put this book down; it is a very good mystery. Hope there is more to come soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in Old New York., August 12, 2006
By 
Elizabeth S. Crozier (Midland, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent series. Murder in Little Italy is the latest. Sara Brandt is a woman who grew up in the elite of New York at the turn of the century. However, she married a pennyless doctor and became a nurse/midwife after his death. She meets and works with Detective Frank Malloy throughout this series of books. In Murder in Little Italy, Sarah is called to attend a birth in the family apartment above an Italian restaurant. The next day, the mother is found dead. Sarah knows it was murder and calls for Detective Malloy. Together, they solve the murder. Imbedded in the book, and the series, is the culture and history of that time, including the influence of Tammany Hall and ineffectiveness of common police at that time. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ever, June 18, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder in Little Italy (Gaslight Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
So many series begin to suffer from familiarity but the Sarah Brandt mysteries do not have that ailment. Midwife Sarah is called to the Ruocco restaurant in Little Italy for the premature birth of Antonio and his Irish wife Nainsi. Much to the chagrin of the family, the baby is a full term healthy boy. Thus, he could not be Antonio's baby. Mama Ruocco demands that the girl and the baby be put out on the street immediately. Calmer heads pevail and they are allowed to stay, temporarily. By the next morning Nainsi is dead by suffocation. Sarah and Detective Frank Malloy begin searching for the murderer.

Theodore Roosevelt makes an appearance as one of the New York police commissioners. The anomosity between the Italian and Irish immigrants are presented in a straightforward manner. The machinations of Tammany Hall are touched upon. The characterizations are fully drawn and another layer is added to the relationship between Sarah and Malloy. This is a satisfying series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me guessing until the end, June 27, 2006
Very good book! This book takes place in New York City during the early 1900's. An Irish girl marries into an Italian family. If you like historical fiction with lots of mystery, history, betrayal, twists, turns and surprises, you're going to love this book. Family members are betrayed, and there are two murders. The author keeps you guessing until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book in a great series, but..., July 18, 2007
By 
Lexi Andreas (Danville, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder in Little Italy (Gaslight Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have exjoyed every single book in Thompson's Gaslight series, and this book was no exception. Three things always capture my interest: (1.) the total immersion in that time period and setting. Thompson just doesn't give her readers' the sights and sounds of turn-of-the-century NYC, she includes the smells, superstitions, myths, and prejudices of that time. Also, she includes politics and medical practices of the times without sounding like an eighth-grade social studies book. (2.) I also like the development of the characters in keeping with the time period. Sarah Brandt acts like an independent strong woman of that day--not like a modern woman fictionalized for "back then." She is aware how far she can push the mores of society. And Frank has his own set of difficulties which give him depth as well as charm. The romance between the two, as well as the additional characters, is one of the biggest lures, for me, to the series. Finally, (3.) I like the continuing intrigue of the investigation into the murder of Brandt's husband. Thompson keeps us going wih small tidbits of info without feeling the need to regurgitate ithe back story all over again with each book. The reason I only give the book four stars is that the mystery aspect continues to disappoint me. I can usually figure out "whodunnit" and why by the third chapter. There are no surprises or plot twists. However, it is a testimony to the writing and characters that I read each book with relish anyway. Read this book if you like romance or turn of the century New York. if you enjoy this book you may also like the Molly Murphy mystery series by Rhys Bowen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Is Again In Charge, August 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very well written and moves the ongoing tale of Sarah along in a timely manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victoria Thompson's Gaslight Mystery Series, August 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder in Little Italy (Gaslight Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love all the books in the Gaslight Mystery series. They take you back to a different time and place. Her writing really creates a visual image of New York City at the turn of the century. Murder in Little Italy was no exception. The struggles between the Italians and Irish seemed very realistic. How awesome is Frank Malloy as a detective and the lovely Sarah Brandt as his sidekick! Crafted storytelling and intriguing plotlines made this book a very enjoyable read. I highly recommend anyone who enjoys a good mystery to give this series, and this book in particular, a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder In Little Italy, October 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Victoria Thompson is one of the best writers of a mystery series that has everything in it---murder and humor. The times she writes about, the very early 19th century is both fascinating and sad. Everyday upper crust people are accurately portrayed, and their downfall is something you look forward to. She has a lot of historical facts, and she's just very good at what she's doing. I hope she keeps writing for a long time, because her Gaslight Mystery Books are a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murder in Little Italy (Gaslight Mystery)
Murder in Little Italy (Gaslight Mystery) by Victoria Thompson (Mass Market Paperback - June 5, 2007)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.