Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars45
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 17, 2011
Cara Marsi gives us a unique story in a unique setting. When Lexie Cortese meets Dominic Brioni in Rome, she can't resist the charismatic smile of the handsome, smooth-talking Italian. How can she guess that the man who melts her bones with a blazing kiss, also suspects her of stealing jewelry, or worse, being part of an international group of terrorists. The cautious, eager to please, American girl is determined to become a confident, take-charge woman, and yet, she can't ignore the prickly sensation that someone is watching her, following her. Is Dominic trying to protect her or harm her? Cara Marsi weaves a warm love story with the nail-biting suspense plot and raises the stakes to increase the tension. Eager to know the ending, I kept reading this fast-paced story in one sitting without being able to close the book for a minute until the last page. I greatly enjoyed the romantic setting of Rome, and was pleased to revisit some of the areas I discovered as a tourist.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
Lexie Cortese is on a mission to forget her troubles, and that leads her to Rome. It's a vacation that has run a little on the mundane side until she's the victim of a purse-snatching.

Luckily, Lexie's purse is "rescued" by Dominic Brioni--a guy whose sex appeal practically exudes off the page. To say he's HOT doesn't quite do him justice.

I loved this story! Tons of action, mystery, suspense and romance filled the pages of this fast-paced read. There characters were a delight and the storyline kept me on the edge of my seat. Murder, Mi Amore is a definite must read for lovers or romantic suspense.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
Murder Mi Amore by Cara Marsi is a suspenseful romance where the hero and heroine must learn to trust again, not only to let love in, but also to stay alive.

Ms. Marsi has a hit on her hands in this book. I couldn't put the book down. I love a good suspense, but this was a terrific suspense with just the right amount of romance. Dominic is a man any woman would swoon over and I'm not sure I know a woman who wouldn't want to be Lexie. The imagery was so vivid of the scenery (the streets, the shops, the restaurants). I want to go to Italy now!

While danger lurks around every corner for Lexie and Dominic, their connection grows to a force of its own. I absolutely loved this suspenseful romance and will pick up more of Ms. Marsi's books!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2011
Would you hate it if your vacation escape turned into a vacation escapade? How about if it turned deadly? Dutiful daughter Lexie Cortese is treating herself to a month in Italy after her fiancé decided the fastest way to a law partnership was through his boss's daughter's bedroom. During the shopping phase of her crash course in The New Me, Lexie is mistaken for the hand-off connection for a blue diamond on its way to terrorists. Dominic Brioni is an Interpol cop with a soft heart that got a woman killed in a previous case. He senses Lexie's details don't add up, but his boss isn't buying it. Ordered to befriend Lexie and learn her secrets, Dominic is torn between protecting her and pumping her for information.

Lexie's self-makeover into a stronger woman would be an appealing read all on its own. Because she's not portrayed as an amateur sleuth in the novel, readers can relate to the terror she's immersed in. Dominic is the perfect counterpart for her. You just know Dom is going to do the right thing even though his job is on the line. Cara Marsi does an amazing job of keeping the tension high even as Lexie tries to bravely carry on with her vacation trip. Background clues and revealing details are presented at just the right moment to make the revelation satisfying and terrifying at the same time.

Cara Marsi writes romantic suspense and paranormal romance. Her Murder, Mi Amore is a Jewel of the Night Series story from The Wild Rose Press. Cara Marsi brings characters to life with great emotional detail. I loved Lexie for offering her old handbag to the maid who'd admired it. The heartless killer made me fear for Lexie's life. The plot is fast-paced and the setting of Rome with its delicious food and amazing sights is beautifully woven into events that are as believable as they are tense and exciting. The sensual sizzle starts as soon as Dominic and Lexie meet and never lets up to the very satisfying ending.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2011
Action, suspense, hot men and a sweet girl caught in the crossfire. Buckle up, this one gets wild.

Lexie Cortese traded in the gifts her ex-fiance bought her for a month in Rome to remake herself. The first two weeks are uneventful. Even boring. That is, until Dominic Brioni rescues her handbag from a purse-snatcher and joins her for dinner.

Interpol spotted known thugs making a diamond drop into Lexi's purse while she shopped. Assigned to get close and keep an eye on her, Dominic Brioni is an agent with a mission: find out when and where Lexi is supposed to pass off the diamond to the terrorists.

Dominic's judgment has proven fallible when it comes to women he is attracted to, so when he senses Lexi's innocence, everyone, including himself, doubts his reliability.
The two are undeniably attracted to each other and between forays between the sheets, Dominic finds himself rescuing her over and over again from attempts on her life. Surely she's innocent if they are trying to kill her, right? If only Dominic could trust his gut.

There were so many things to enjoy about this book. I've never been to Italy and I must say for the literary journey to a place the author clearly loves, it was worth every moment of my time. The analogies to Italian cuisine wasn't lost on me. The whole story was simply yummy, like mama's lasagna after a long day at work.

The characters were fun, sexy and bunches of mysterious. It was easy to envision their adventure in my mind's eye, and this was one I could see playing out like a fast-paced movie.

The pacing is fast. Definitely an edge of your seat read. They went from one major event to another, leaving me little time to catch my breath and steady myself for the next big scene.

For those of you who love your romance with some mystery and adventure, and a romantic destination to boot, this is one to pick up and try. Enjoy!
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
Murder, Mi Amore by Cara Marsi feels like Under the Tuscan Sun meets James Bond. There is plenty of mystery and danger within the beautiful country of Italy. The characters, Dominic and Lexi, are empathic and likable so you are drawn into their journey of intrigue and mistrust. It is a shorter read than some so the pace is fast but smooth to completely finish with a suitable outcome. Most of the character development is focused on the two main characters without as much for the secondary and villains in the book. I wish to have known a little more about them, which might happen if the story was expanded. Overall, a good read.
A copy provided by NetGalley for an honest review.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
I was given a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.
I really enjoyed this story and read it in one sitting. A case of mistaken identity turns a dowdy American girl trying to lick her wounds into the prime target for Interpol and a group of mobsters. I love the wild goose chase everyone goes on trying to track the missing diamond and how Lexie got her groove back in the process. Dominic is truly the tortured agent trying to do his work without falling for the girl, risking everything to keep her safe. I loved every step of the way and the ending did not disappoint. Definitely a summer read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Great Romantic Suspense Adventure in Rome! This fast paced tale left me breathless and i couldn't put it down until I reached the end. Highly recommend this wonderful book.

*I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.*
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
American Lexi Cortese is on a Roman holiday. She hopes this trip will help her forget the betrayal of her ex-fiancé and will also help her start a new chapter in her life. She was tired of being always compliant and wanted to start living life on her own terms. What she never thought possible, though half-hoped was meeting a sexy Italian Interpol agent that kept saving her life more times than she dared count. She knows something is very wrong but no one believes her, not even the local police or the American Embassy; meanwhile people keep dying left and right.
The suspense part of the story is ok. I actually liked the interaction of the agents; it wasn’t James Bond or even Mission: Impossible but it was entertaining. The interaction between the main characters however was bleak and I never got a pull to like them as a couple. I kind of liked them separately; Lexi as an innocent bystander, Dominic as a life-saver, heart-melter agent with a past of his own, but when they were together or she started to think about him her attitude irritated me to no end. She proved to be smart by doing all the right things to protect herself and yet when it came to him all he had to do was smile and she melted into his arms and all was forgotten, including that she felt threatened by the world and that just minutes earlier someone did try to hurt her. Huh? She knew in her gut someone was after her yet she kept lusting after her sexy Italian guy. What if he was the bad guy? It just felt the author could never reconcile the idea of non-corny, feasible romance with good suspense. All in all, an ok story but if you're looking for a one-of-a-kind romantic suspense this story may not be for you.

"I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
I was hooked when I knew this was a jewel heist caper involving a blue diamond, terrorists, an American girl on tour and a sexy Interpol agent set in Italy. Okay so they had me at 'Italy', but the rest is just frosting on the cake, right?

The story opens with Lexi Cortese visiting Rome and getting in touch with her roots in an attempt to get over the betrayal of her ex-fiance and turn over a new leaf in her life. A shopping trip in Rome and the purchase of an expensive fashionable green leather purse helps the process along. Lexi has her purse stolen by a thief and returned by a handsome Italian businessman who seems as smitten by her as she is by him. However, getting a chance to enjoy Dominic's company is hard when attempted muggings, ransacked room, being followed by cold-eyed men, murders and Dominic's frequent disappearances all conspire to separate them. Dominic rescues her more than once and the interest deepens to attraction, but can she trust him?

Dominic Brioni is an Interpol agent trying to live down one big mistake in his past. He got too emotionally involved with a woman that was part of his job and she betrayed him. Now another woman is part of his job. Is she just the innocent American tourist in the wrong place at the wrong time or is she really good at hiding her connections to the criminals who took the diamond to sell it to terrorists who will use it to by nuclear grade plutonium. The coincidences stack up and he really can't decide. His gut tells him she's innocent, but going by his emotions is what got him in trouble before.

The plot on this one was all the blurb promised. I had a good time with Lexi's misadventures in Italy and all the mention of Italian food nearly killed me with craving. I liked the romance aspect too. Lexi and Dominic helped each other beat their pasts.

That being said, I liked the story, but I wasn't captivated. It was probably a combination of things. The story allows the reader to know about the diamond and why everyone including the crooks are chasing Lexi so having all the knowledge up front made the story lose some edge. The adventure was still there, but not the twisty suspense or a build up of tension. I would have liked it more if I had been as clueless as Lexi as to why everyone was attacking her or ransacking her room or running her off the road.

Then there was the fact that Lexi was pretty naive. I loved that she was with Dominic, but I couldn't get past the fact that she basically knew nothing about the guy other than he rescued her purse before she jumps into the deep end of the pool with him. I get the whole embrace a new life and have adventures, but safety first. She goes out with him which was daring, but it was a public place so no biggie, but its what came afterward. She let's him escort her back to her hotel alone which also let's him know exactly where she's staying, meets up with him a few more times admitting that she knows nothing about him and has her suspicions that he isn't totally honest with her and then caps it all off by agreeing to a day trip with him to the country to visit a few small towns, again alone. Dominic is a good guy, but she doesn't know this. Then later after she knows she's in danger, she starts wandering the streets of Rome alone at night practically signally in neon lights that she wants to be mugged and killed. Even without jewel thieves on her tail that isn't a bright idea for a young woman alone who admits to no self-defense training. It was distracting and left me not very pleased with the character of Lexi. Dominic was a bit easier to embrace in that he is the brooding, conflicted hero coming to the rescue and loving Lexi.

So in the end, I liked it, but didn't love it. Alexi's Roman Holiday adventure was fun and I loved that she got some romance out of it. I would recommend this for someone who is looking for a light only slightly spicy Romantic Suspense.

My thanks to Net Galley for the opportunity to read the book in exchange for my honest review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.