Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable slacker comedy
Murder and Other Distractions is a an enjoyable slacker comedy set in LA.

There are two murders, a police investigation and several beatings in the book, but it's not really a crime novel. It's an opportunity for the author to offer amusing observations on everything from the poor quality of taco restaurants in LA to the absurdity of making a living by writing...
Published on January 15, 2013 by Helen Smith

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Explicit Descriptions of Sex.
I bought this book based on the description and great reviews. What the description and reviews left out was the EXPLICIT SEX WARNING. I flipped the 'next page' > button several times and the sex description did not stop. When I bought this book I did not realize it was a porno in print. My only consolation is I bought it during its promotional free period, so...
Published on October 25, 2012 by Matt.Goff


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable slacker comedy, January 15, 2013
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
Murder and Other Distractions is a an enjoyable slacker comedy set in LA.

There are two murders, a police investigation and several beatings in the book, but it's not really a crime novel. It's an opportunity for the author to offer amusing observations on everything from the poor quality of taco restaurants in LA to the absurdity of making a living by writing 'content' for the internet. After reading this, I'll take a more cynical view of those 'top ten' lists that appear online everywhere.

Murder and Other Distractions is a well-written story with an amusing odd couple relationship between the cop who is investigating the murder and Ethan, the main character who is also the main suspect in the murder. There's no need to worry too much about the murder. The 'other distractions' of the title are what make the book such fun to read. There were lines in it that made me laugh, and a sprinkling of introspection to make me stop and think.

Though the main character is a twenty-something male who likes to smoke dope and is preoccupied by sex and how to get it, he doesn't get much of it. When I read the opening of the book, I wondered whether I might have to navigate through endless descriptions of the mechanics of sex told from the male point of view. However, once the first page is out of the way, that's pretty much it. There's crude language and there are some drug references. There are also funny lines and some clever philosophising. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Read!!, October 22, 2012
By 
W. Henry (Mississippi, USA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
I found this author and title on Twitter. Seeing the topic and the wonderful price encouraged my
purchase. I started the reading with no real expectations and was soon hooked on the novel.

A native of L.A., the author filled the book with awesome depictions and tiny truths about the
city and it's quirky inhabitants. The main character is hilarious and the way he is written is
simply brilliant! The back and forth between the main character and the detective are equally
comedic.
Simply put, for 2.99 buy the book and enjoy the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pineapple Noir, January 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
In terms of the "feel" of this book, for me it was like Noir meets Pineapple express. A down and outer slacker who coasts through life has an existential emergency when on old girlfriend is murdered and he becomes the prime suspect. The story is told in the first person as the main character blows around L.A. There are monologues on the meaning of life or lack thereof as he gives us a tour of the city of Angels from the point of. view of a true lost soul. All this would indicate to me that this is something I should pass on but I am a true sucker for down and outers, cynicism, and the barest of hopes. A strange read but one I liked a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Anti-Noir, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
I have to say that I get extremely angry at this book. The protagonist is a lothesome person who takes no initiative whatsoever and thus deserves everything he has coming to him

However, I was also addicted and could not put it down. Between the dark humor and my intense desire for the story to reach some sort of catharsis, I was compelled to finish it in only a few sittings. And I was not disappointed as I found the ending to be both delightfully appropriate and darkly satisfying.

Overall, I am very impressed with Mr. Estrin's first effort and am looking forward to what he has to offer in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down and Out in LA, February 28, 2013
By 
PaytonB. (The Yonk, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
Anything good that can be said about LA started and ended with the Dodgers winning the World Series in 1988.

Talk about being stuck in the 80's!

I know because I've been there, and maybe I'm still there now. But after reading this book, it seems I'm not alone. I think the problem that a lot of people have with this book is that it's a book by a Gen Xer, written for Gen Xers. The main character, Ethan, is a slacker's slacker. Ethan can't even be bothered to use the actual names of the people in his life, especially the women he has sex with, or wants to. He's just THAT disconnected. Even under the threat of arrest and life imprisonment for a double murder he didn't commit, his biggest concern is where to get a decent taco, or a New York bagel in Los Angeles. His job is more derivative than a hedge fund manager's, and he just has no soul left, his commitment to decent ethnic food and pop culture notwithstanding. Sort of like LA itself. The only thing that's worth caring about is the internet and the number of mouse clicks his recycled stories get.

This book is a Less Than Zero meets Hotel California for the second decade of the 2000's. A world where a one inch Tommy Lasorda jump is the best that LA and its residents can expect to get for the foreseeable future. And where you can get your ass kicked if you start a fight in the wrong taco stand.

A really good read. I personally feel that a lot of reviewers have been overly harsh in their reviews. If you're looking for the meaning of life, or ANY meaning in life, look elsewhere. You won't find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
I love the way this story bounced seamlessly (for the most part) from making me laugh to making me think about the meaning of life. One moment I'd feel like I am reading a simple and hilarious stoner comedy, but by the next page I am asking philosophical questions about the difference between what matters and what has meaning. Weaved around all of that is an extensive commentary on the city of Los Angeles and numerous other topics, ranging from the point of the internet to the state of the LA Dodgers to the question of what makes something a taco. If you don't know how all of those topics can be pulled together into one enjoyable novel, then you should read this book and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, September 20, 2013
By 
Larry Riley (Des Moines, Iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
If you like dark humor noir and tacos...this book is for you. Disregard below average reviews. Not cookie cutter writing. Nice to read a story once in awhile that you can actually relate to a common person...like maybe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, modern, and a good mystery, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
I was pleasantly surprised that the book was as interesting as the cover. The story is good, the tone is great, and the humor flippant. The best I can do in describing style would be Douglas Adams meets Archy McNally as written by Lawrence Sanders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut, September 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
Highly entertaining debut novel that falls into a noir/bizarro/slacker genre that proves that a book doesn't have to have a lot of action to be good. The murder itself is really just a way for us to get inside Ethan's head but once we're inside we see that he's just like everyone else except for that whole murder thing and he occasionally gets his ass kicked for speaking his mind.

Murder And Other Distractions is the kind of book that you read and you become absorbed in the story. If you're looking for something that will make you ponder the universe or maybe give you the meaning of life this isn't the novel for you. This book is about a variety of things and I think everyone who reads it will draw their own conclusions as to what it was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder and Other Distractions (Kindle Edition)
I had this in my kindle for a while and finally decided to read it. Wish I would face read it earlier very fun to read I loved it. Can't wait for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murder and Other Distractions
$5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.