Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top gun
This is the third in a series of Steve Dancy novels and I look forward to many more. James Best is becomming one of the finest western writers in history. Do yourself a big favor and start with The Shopkeeper and read - enjoy all three in order.
Published on September 13, 2011 by Robert J. Beard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The third book in the series by James Best
The characters were developed well and I enjoyed the overall storyline. However, because the storyline centered mainly around a trial, there was a little less action then I prefer in a western.
Published 8 months ago by John Hemingway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transported back to the Old West, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book, as well as the previous ones in this series! Best did a great job of putting you into the time period through the characters and rich descriptions of the landscapes and scenery. If you enjoy U.S. historical fiction, this is a great choice. I loved the introduction of well-known people from that era (Doc Holliday, Virgil Earp) and how they were integrated into the story lines of the other characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, great western novels are back, November 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great western. It's been awhile since I have read a really good western. A few I have read lately have been inaccurate and seem to be emulating the western movies of the 50's. This series of books has been very satisfying and I look forward to more from this author .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again!, August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here's another magnificent author of western fiction. Read them all, in sequence is best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series is really great. I love the genre and the writing works ..., September 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is really great. I love the genre and the writing works very well for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great characters and always a twist - easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book by James Best, May 12, 2014
By 
Tom Clifton (SAINT LOUIS, MO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the second book in the Steve Dancy series and I love it for being a most "un-western" western. Not your typical cowboy shoot-em-up. There are enough plot reversals and surprises to pretty much keep you guessing, and I have recommended this book to my Mother and Sisters. Try it, you will like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Investigative western, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was another good read by this author however I would have hoped for more gunplay in a western instead of so much investigation .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The third book in the series by James Best, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The characters were developed well and I enjoyed the overall storyline. However, because the storyline centered mainly around a trial, there was a little less action then I prefer in a western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Western, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Solid stories and characters in this 3 book western series. I cannot put it down once I start. Would recommend if you want to get into the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, August 4, 2013
Great read. It will keep you wondering what will happen next. It also has a good ending. Need to read if you have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Murder at Thumb Butte (Steve Dacy Tale)
Murder at Thumb Butte (Steve Dacy Tale) by James D. Best (Paperback - September 15, 2011)
$18.95 $15.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.