Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Right!
Murder Trims the Tree is a fun read, right for any occasion. Baker has combined mystery, humor, engaging characters (especially Gertie, the 66-year-old amateur sleuth/provocateur), plot twist, Upper Midwest setting, intrigue -- and did I mention humor? It's just right, with the humor coming from the characters' behaviors and the self-awareness of its first-person...
Published on November 1, 2011 by Chris Roerden

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder Trims the Tree
As always, this series is pretty good. Gertie and gang do community service at a small assisted living home where most of the folks appear to need more than a bit of assistance as they are wheelchair bound. That, however, doesn't keep the residents from mischief as Gertie finds out when her friends are suddenly tired after eating lunch.

Gertie has an ulterior...
Published on December 12, 2011 by For What It's Worth...


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Right!, November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Murder Trims the Tree is a fun read, right for any occasion. Baker has combined mystery, humor, engaging characters (especially Gertie, the 66-year-old amateur sleuth/provocateur), plot twist, Upper Midwest setting, intrigue -- and did I mention humor? It's just right, with the humor coming from the characters' behaviors and the self-awareness of its first-person narrator, the incorrigible Gertie. Even the length of this story is perfect: I can see reading it aloud to family gathered for a different kind of after-dinner entertainment during the holidays. This story is also the best introduction to all of Deb Baker's Yooper series of full-length mysteries for anyone who hasn't yet discovered the incomparable Gertie Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Trims The Tree Review, October 31, 2011
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I just read this novella last night and enjoyed it very much. The characters are well written and a "real hoot." I have read all the Gertie Johnson books and Deb Baker's other books, including the ones she authored under the name "Hannah Reed."

I highly recommend this author and her books. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just don't eat the chocolate candy!, November 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
i knew it!! the north has bubbas and bumpkins too! they're called 'yoopers'.

Murder Trims the Tree was an enjoyable holiday mystery novella.

this is my first gertie johnson story and she and her investigators are crazy good! these characters are so earthy and no nonsense. (KEY WORDS: Crazy, Good, Characters!)

in this story, gertie's investigators and a grumpy hanger mother-in-law are fulfilling a community service sentence at an assisted living home. bad weather (even by Michigan's Upper Peninsula standards) is eminent. the team soon finds that 'something is rotten in denmark', apparently that's a common phrase for this group.

despite their frailties, the home's residents are resourceful - but is one of them a murderer? the head nurse (a sour nurse ratchet type) distinguishes herself early on as a prime suspect of whatever is rotten in denmark - but what IS going on?

i'm not even gonna mention the chocolate bombs. read the book for that christmas treat.

did i mention that gertie's team are part of the aarp demographic? so nice so read about 'old' people with attitude and smarts and active libidos. gumption gets better with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Trims the Tree, December 1, 2011
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Gertie is at it again, and you will split your sides laughing and wrack your brain to figure out "who-done-it" in yet another great Gertie mystery. This is a fun, easy reading, enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Trims the Tree, November 4, 2011
By 
Lynn Demsky "Lynn/MI" (Rochester, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
What a joy to read! I have read all of the Gertie books and thoroughly enjoyed each and every one of them! And, what a surprise as to what goes on in an assisted living home! With surprises, twists and turns every where and never leaving out a sense of humor I would recommend this to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!!!, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I did not like this book at all!! There is nothing funny about demented elderly people. I recently lost a relative to Alzheimers disease and found her situation anything but humorous. Anyone who has visited a person in this type of facility knows how tragic these folks are.

There was nothing appealing about this book! The characters were shallow, the plot nonexistent, and the ending no ending at all. What a waste of my time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun! But only if you're already a fan, I think., January 8, 2012
By 
AcerAcer (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. But I can see why people who weren't already familiar with the characters didn't like it. For instance: Gertie, deciding she was going to cure the former postman of his fear of dogs, even though she was warned to keep her dog away from him? Typical Gertie! But you might think she was really stupid and unlikeable if you didn't already know her.

I've read all the Gertie Johnson mysteries and I have to say, it took me until the third book to really start to appreciate the characters. So I wouldn't expect someone to just pick up this novella and "get" it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Gertie!, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say but...I love Gertie. My only disappointment is the fact that it is a novella. I would prefer a long novel to sit back, relax, and enjoy during this snowy season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder Trims the Tree, December 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
As always, this series is pretty good. Gertie and gang do community service at a small assisted living home where most of the folks appear to need more than a bit of assistance as they are wheelchair bound. That, however, doesn't keep the residents from mischief as Gertie finds out when her friends are suddenly tired after eating lunch.

Gertie has an ulterior motive in doing their community service at the home. Grandma, like usual, gets on her last nerve and she'd like to find a place for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read!, December 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Murder Trims the Tree: Christmas Novella (A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge Deb Baker fan, and this book lived up to all my expectations. Who could resist Gertie Johnson, the intrepid, sixty-something heroine? Her sleuthing skills are honed by years of experience--she's a sharp-eyed observer of human behavior and her keen insights and rollicking sense of humor make this a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.