Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Visit; Fine Art; How to Look at Art
Professor Richard Brettell offers a fine overview of the Louvre Museum--after its wonderful reworking by I M Pei. Professor Brettell, in this 2 disc lecture series, teaches two courses: he is a curator/director and includes information about how museums 'happen' and develop and how 'aquisitions' get to a museum and how they are presented. Since the Louvre is the great...
Published 22 months ago by James Ellsworth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Art of the Louve
Although I do like these DVD's, I think there is too much of the professor, and would like to have more art. Several excellent pieces are presented and I enjoyed the commentary--just wished for more art on the video.
Published 11 months ago by Joyce Aman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Visit; Fine Art; How to Look at Art, November 17, 2012
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
Professor Richard Brettell offers a fine overview of the Louvre Museum--after its wonderful reworking by I M Pei. Professor Brettell, in this 2 disc lecture series, teaches two courses: he is a curator/director and includes information about how museums 'happen' and develop and how 'aquisitions' get to a museum and how they are presented. Since the Louvre is the great French national museum, the lectures also discuss what the works meant to patrons, collectors and artists in France. Some of his most compelling lectures deal with French artists...but they come after other reviewers have 'tuned out' or rushed to write reviews of the series. In this regard, his lecture on Wattou and Chardin--two great French artists who made small pictures--is full of information not often found elsewhere. We are reminded in these lectures that the Louvre houses both large and small masterworks and that neither kind should be missed.

Dr. Brettel offers a few paintings that show art students 'copying' works or that show how paintings were exhibited in the museum at one or another major historical period. Since he is also an art historian, he offers commentary on 137 works on permanent display at the museum. We realize that he can't say a great deal about each work but he does 'clue in' viewers as to which works to pause in front of and he clearly tells us why those works have attracted generations of attention. He suggests clearly to the viewer how to 'look' at each work of art for itself and along the way, we find a framework we can use to look at other works he does not discuss.

I have visited the Louvre a few times, over many days. This is not a museum to visit on one day for a few hours. There is so much to see that the mind does 'blank out' at some point. Professor Brettell's 137 works have so much to offer that no one who looks deeply could take in the works he comments on in any single visit. Yet, eight years after my last visit, I return to this video to 'recharge' my memory of each of my past visits and to prepare for the next one. We still find this course is one of the best preparations anyone could have for an orientation to this fine museum and its collections. Dr. Brettell's explication of art also remains informative and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louvre Tour with Richard Brettell, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
Richard Brettell won't impress you with a flashy wardrobe, colorful personality, or mesmerizing European accent. But you will come away from your Louvre tour with important new and thought-provoking insights. You will recognize fresh meanings in familiar artworks and encounter the lesser known, making connections with history and culture you are unlikely to have made before. Time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discovering le Louvre with new eyes., December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
It is very clear and I found the lectures extremely interesting. I am french I went very often to the Louvre and I even went drawing there to get better as I am a painter.
I did learn a lot on the evolution of the construction of the Louvre during so many century.
Thank you to Monsieur Richard Brettell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Art of the Louve, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
Although I do like these DVD's, I think there is too much of the professor, and would like to have more art. Several excellent pieces are presented and I enjoyed the commentary--just wished for more art on the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the most exciting delivery, but a very enriched understanding of the art., December 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
I agree with other reviewers that Riichard Brettell is not an exciting or flashy lecturer, but unless you have significant familiarity with the Louvre, looking at his lectures and checking the booklet before you go to the Louvre will provide a much, much richer experience. He doesn't attempt to cover a large number of artworks, but concentrates on ten or so pieces for each lecture, and among those ten, picks one that to which he devotes the most attention. Again, don't expect entertainment, expect enriched understanding that will serve you well in looking at the masterpieces in the Louvre. It is a miniature college course, not a TV show, so what else would you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LE LOUVRE, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
It was well presented by an art connoisseur.All the pictures are wonderful to admire in their original size and beauty. I will recommend to all my friends to share the pleasure of the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank French King Francois 1 Who Converted A Castle In the Heart of Paris Into the World's Best Art Museum, January 26, 2014
By 
Zarathustra (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
Francois Invited Italian Renaissance painters such as Leonardo da Vinci to exhibit their paintings in the Louvre, which had a positive influence on the quality of French painting. Later, paintings by Spanish, Dutch and German artists were added, making the Louvre the place to go to for the best European artists. Professor Bretttell selects important paintings to highlight in twelve lectures on two DVDs. To see all the paintings in the Louvre, you will have to book a flight to Paris. Perhaps I will see you there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative program, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
The program was very informative and showed many of the great pieces of art in the Louvre
and included some history of the pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Survey of the Louvre Biggies., September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
This series made our trip to Paris a walk in the park--I knew what to look for and enjoyed every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most of the worst of academe, March 24, 2012
By 
J. M. Walker (Harrisburg, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook) (DVD)
These lectures are pedestrian in language and presentation, creating no compelling narrative arc.
The lecturer provides cursory historical background on the museum itself and sheds little new light on the art works--nothing like Kenneth Clark or Sister Wendy. (For example, he mentions Freud's analysis of a painting by Leonardo, without telling us anything about that analysis.)
The visual design is static and uninventive, adding little to the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Museum Masterpieces: The Louvre (with Course Guidebook)
Used & New from: $10.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.