Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun concert--worth checking out!
This is a completely enjoyable through Neil's songbook by a bunch of extremely talented artists. Both Dave Matthews and Ben Harper show what great musicians they are by largely solo acoustic performances, Keith Urban shows off his lead guitar chops (in tandem with no less a legend than John Fogerty of CCR), and CSN show that they can still harmonize beautifully...
Published on June 6, 2011 by David Mandau

versus
14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Better than This
Some highlights include , Broken Arrow by Wilco - tremendous job duplicating the original. Also like Mr. Soul under the bonus performances.
Rockin' In The Free World by Keith Urban & John Fogerty is also very good. That is about it for me .
Many artists sound bored . It seems like they didn't put much effort in . Jackson Browne was alright , Lady Antebellem was...
Published on June 1, 2011 by M. Yasevac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun concert--worth checking out!, June 6, 2011
By 
David Mandau (Takoma Park, MD) - See all my reviews
This is a completely enjoyable through Neil's songbook by a bunch of extremely talented artists. Both Dave Matthews and Ben Harper show what great musicians they are by largely solo acoustic performances, Keith Urban shows off his lead guitar chops (in tandem with no less a legend than John Fogerty of CCR), and CSN show that they can still harmonize beautifully. Performances by Norah Jones, Lady Antebellum, and Jason Mraz/Shawn Colvin show of the often ignored sweeter side of Neil. And Wilco's on-stage replication of the very complex studio creation Broken Arrow is just amazing.

Does Neil do all these songs better? Of course! Any major talent, from Dylan and the Beatles on down always does their own material best. But these are still very enjoyable versions that give one a different take on Neil's artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your favorite artists do Neil justice, June 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I started watching this concert on TV and ordered it on Amazon before it was even over. So many of my favorite artist singing Neil Young songs...what could be better? The awesome and unusual pairing of Keith Urban and John Fogerty was amazing with a little help from Booker T. Jones. One of my very very favs, Dave Matthews doing "The Needle and the Damage Done" was perfect. Also, Lady Antebellum, Norah Jones, Josh Groban, (yes folks, Josh doing Neil Young),Ben Harper, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, James Taylor, John Mellencamp, CSN, Elton & Leon...to say this is an all star line up is an understatement. The keyboard player in the background,who you can hardly see, but is playing on most of the songs, is Rami Jaffee from The Wallflowers(Jakob Dylans band)and Foo Fighters. He is great and highly underrated as a keyboard player. If you love Neil and any of these artists, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To The People Who Gave This Less Than 4 Stars:, August 24, 2012
By 
Mary Frasier (Northeast New York) - See all my reviews
Let me start by saying that there are only 2 reasons that I would ever give this 4 stars, instead of 5. 1)it was too short and 2)it's not available on CD. That being said, I just can't give it less than 5. I'm an old(er) broad who grew up listening to Neil Young's songs (a multitude of covers included) and I'm still listening to them. I've seen him (as well as several of the tribute artists) in concert, many times. If you want to rate this video on sound quality, etc. I can't argue with you because frankly, I'm no audiophile, but I am a lover of music and the artists who offered up their tributes to this amazing man, legend, icon, prolific songwriter, all did so beautifully and with heart. Yes, there were artists who weren't jumping all over the stage as they performed, but that has nothing to do with being bored or needing more rehearsal. (Well, OK... Crow and Case should have spent a bit more time in rehearsal) Artists all have their own methodolgy when it comes to performing and slow and steady is just one of those methods. The true gems for me are Dave Matthew's rendition of "Needle And The Damage Done", James Taylor's performance of "Heart of Gold", Elvis Costello's "Losing End" and the absolutely outstanding version of "Broken Arrow" by Wilco. Norah Jones, CSN, Jackson Browne and Mellencamp/Burnette knocked it out of the park too. If you're over 40 and love the music that you grew up listening to as much as I do, this is a must buy. If you're under 40 and truly appreciate the iconic talent of Neil Young, then do the same. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tributes, June 3, 2011
This review is from: MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm sorry but, the other reviews for this are absurd. This is a TRIBUTE to one of the greatest songwriters of our times and all of the performers do excellent. Regardless of whether or not you like each individual cover, it's the passion that these multiple musicians have for Mr. Young. I was very touched when Dave Matthews sang "The Needle and the Damage Done" and, at the end, gave Neil Young a big thumbs up. You could really see how much he cared. In my opinion, all of the performances were spot on. If I could give this 6 stars, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An OUTSTANDING tribute by amazing musicians, October 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this so much when I saw it that I ordered it..and then ordered two more for friends.. If you love Neil Young..you will LOVE this...every song is done well from start to finish. Keith Urban, John Fogerty and Booker T. Jones rock Rockin in the Free World and then next my HANDS DOWN favorite on this cd..Lady Antebellum singing Only Love Can Break Your Heart...and Nora Jones is amazing...Dave Matthews nails it..every single preformer just puts everything into each song...and Neil Young and his wife watching is awesome...just LOVE this dvd and watch it over and over..just wish I could get it on cd for my car...A wonderful job in honor of the most class act...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is now my new demo disk!, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoy this Blu-ray of Neil Young hits, but just like any album there are hits and misses... but there are way more hits on this disk. The acoustic solo's by Dave Matthews, Ben Harper and Stephen Stills sound incredible! I love the Nora Jones cover, and Down by the River sung by John Mellencamp is simply outstanding, very well recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over forty years of contributions, June 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Neil Young's songs never sounded better than through the artists who recorded his material as a tribute. Some that stand out were Dave Matthews uncanny cover of "The Needle and the Damage Done", Nora Jones in a wonderful duet of "Tell Me Why" and of course Crosby, Stills and Nash doing "Human Highway". This is a "must have" for Neil Young fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leslie must of had PMS, June 16, 2011
By 
M. S. Hojna (Buffalo, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THe day he reviewed this DVD. Only problem I had with it was what was left off. The COMPLETE show should of been released. Maybe when the record compsnies wake up,they are a little slow, the bootleggers know what the people want they don`t, anyways Not a bad release for a taste of what went down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, other artists don't sound like Neil Young? What???, August 8, 2011
This review is from: MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yeah. I was really surprised that all of these artists didn't sound exactly like Neil Young (sarcasm intended). Other artists singing any legend's songs are going to be hit and miss. There are a few performances that were just okay--like Dave Matthews, Dirks Bentley, and Elvis Costello--but then there are the very cool versions: among them, Josh Groban, who does an excellent "Harvest Moon," Ben Harper, James Taylor, and Lady Antebellum. I'm not really a fan of three of those four, but they brought something new to Neil's music without trying to sound exactly like him. This highlights what a great songwriter Neil is. If you like Neil Young and half of these performers, this is probably something you'll want to watch and maybe add to your collection. If you are such a big Neil Young fan that every other talented musician that sings his songs will most certainly pale in comparison, even before you've seen this film, then you might want to steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Tribute, November 29, 2011
By 
Wonderful music and concert. My favourite was Dave Matthews rendition of The Needle and the Damage Done. Not an easy note to sing and Dave did it amazingly. Elton John, Leon Russell and Sheryl Crowe did a great rendition of Helpless. Was a little disappointed in Jackson Browne and I'm not a big Josh Groban fan. Apart from that, it was a sterling effort. Would definitely recommend this to any Crosby Stiils Nash and Young fans. It was also great to see Stephen Stills, David Crosby and Graham Nash on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray]
MusiCares Tribute to Neil Young [Blu-ray] by Leon Knoles (Blu-ray - 2011)
$21.98 $17.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.