Customer Reviews


318 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Disappointed
Cut the old guys some slack, please! They are still tuneful, they are still comin' up with some sassy and interesting lyrics, and they are still handling well the chords and runs we so love. What more could you ask from these elderly gents who still know how to rock?

I had no expectations, so I wasn't disappointed. I'd like to see what Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, One...
Published 16 months ago by Zoeeagleeye

versus
79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in house, boys...ditch your outside pals.
Talk about a yin and yang "comeback album."

On the plus side, producer Jack Douglas (Get Your Wings, Toys in the Attic, Rocks, Draw the Line) is on board. And the band, when in classic Aerosmith mode (as on the opener "Luv XXX") can still deliver the goods.

On the downside, the loathsome "outside songwriter" hacks are back: Diane Warren ("We All Fall...
Published 17 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in house, boys...ditch your outside pals., November 21, 2012
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Talk about a yin and yang "comeback album."

On the plus side, producer Jack Douglas (Get Your Wings, Toys in the Attic, Rocks, Draw the Line) is on board. And the band, when in classic Aerosmith mode (as on the opener "Luv XXX") can still deliver the goods.

On the downside, the loathsome "outside songwriter" hacks are back: Diane Warren ("We All Fall Down"), Desmond Child ("Another Last Goodbye") and Jim Vallance ("Legendary Child"). The Warren song is syrupy slop, as is the Child song, but at least Vallance song rocks, in a Bryan Adams kind of way. You're almost waiting for Tyler to croon about how he got his first real six string at the five and dime. Why is it SO IMPOSSIBLE for these guys to go into a room somewhere and crank out a dozen or so Tyler/Perry/Whitford tracks?

It's not the idea that every Aerosmith song needs to rock the paint off the walls. After all, we all loved "Dream On," "Seasons Of Wither," "Home Tonight," and other "ballad" tracks back in their glory days, right?

The objection I have to the outsiders is that they're hacks. That's it, songwriting hacks "crafting" lightweight pop pap that is radio airwave-friendly. That said, this album is still about 1000 times better than Just Push Play, an album so truly loathsome that at any time following its release you could get seemingly endless used copies on Amazon for under a buck.

There's been a lot of grousing about the Carrie Underwood track, but what can I say? It's much, much better than the aforementioned tracks penned by Warren and Child, and it does in fact have a nice "classic Aerosmith" sound...well, maybe until Carrie takes her first lead vocal. But it's STILL not the worst track on the album.

It's not easy being an Aerosmith fan, especially when I count the hours I've spent driving around in my car listening to Rocks. I think we'd all like the band to deliver a new album that just sends it flying out of the park like THAT one did, right? And I don't mean rubber-stamping past glories...look at how many times Neil Young has had a wobbly album or two and came roaring back with something like this year's Psychedelic Pill?

Songs like "Lover Alot" have that old Toxic Twins swagger, but good grief, they go from that one right into the Diane Warren song.

THREE stars. Not FOUR, not FIVE, but THREE. I'm not saying this is a BAD album, I'm just saying they can do BETTER, because they've already DONE better. When you've been GREAT, "good" just ain't good ENOUGH.

If they can deal with the inter-band squabbling and personal dramas for another few years, and LOSE the hacks, JUST LOSE THEM, maybe they still have a five-sar album left in them. Maybe not. But in an age where the American Music Awards name Justin Bieber the "Performer of the Year," a three star Aerosmith album is better than no Aerosmith album at all...right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Disappointed, November 27, 2012
By 
Zoeeagleeye (Belfast, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Music From Another Dimension! (MP3 Music)
Cut the old guys some slack, please! They are still tuneful, they are still comin' up with some sassy and interesting lyrics, and they are still handling well the chords and runs we so love. What more could you ask from these elderly gents who still know how to rock?

I had no expectations, so I wasn't disappointed. I'd like to see what Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, One Direction and Justin Bieber are doing in their 70's. Steven Tyler is a master, as is Joe Perry. They deserve respect and not pity. They've pulled out their genius through time and it has stood the test. So it isn't the "old Aerosmith," or the "new Aerosmith." It's ludicrous for anyone to expect them to sound like they did 40 years ago, and overly optimistic to expect them to create something very new at their ages. Who does that? Not even Picasso. Gold is gold and Aerosmith is definitely gold!

I wanted something pretty and I wanted something wild on this album. "Oh Yeah," may not have been wild enough but it almost was and I enjoyed its humor. "What Could Have Been Love" and "Another Last Goodbye," are to be savored for their poignancy and wisdom. I can't imagine a 20-something writing these songs or singing them convincingly. Speaking of which, "We All Fall Down" rocks us nicely into that feel-good upliftment that so many recent singers have created (Jason Mraz, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga) and which fans need.

If you've ever liked Aerosmith and have no ax to grind or ridiculous expectations, you won't go wrong buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Filler, November 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think there is such a thing as too much filler on this album. Jack Douglas is a great producer, however I don't want to hear his introduction on LuvXXX every time I listen to the album. The same can be said for the intro to Street Jesus. Too many ballads, especially Diane Warren's Another Last goodbye. All in all an ok album. Not great, not what I would have expected, but ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a grip...really!, November 7, 2012
By 
Turn it up! (Bunker Hill, WV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am listening to "Music From Another Dimension" for the second time and, as with most new releases by older groups, it's growing on me. Sure, it doesn't sound like "Rocks", but why should it? That was almost 40 years ago! Can you believe that? These guys are 60+ years old and like me and YOU, yes YOU, they have aged and changed and so has their music. Great? Maybe not, but present day Aerosmith? Oh yeah! I saw them live recently and they still rock! Soon we're not going to have the pleasure of listening to anything new from classic groups like this because they're going to retire.

No break down of the tracks from me. Some are good, some not so good, but I buy CDs for everything that's on them and I'll listen to all of them. All 15 of these songs will join the 17000+ on my Ipod which includes the rest of the Aerosmith catalog. Do I like the ballads? Yes. I haven't created an Aerosmith image that excludes songs like "Can't Stop Loving You" or "Don't Want To Miss A Thing". Why does everybody hate that song?

As for Amazon's service, I received this CD on the day it was released. In all the orders I have placed through Amazon I have never had a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 138 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aero$mith "Mu$ic From Another Dimen$ion", November 6, 2012
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
I am going to preface this by the statements I am not a fanboy (I have been An Aerosmith Fan since '73) and I know most of the time negative reviews are associated with the a click on the "no" button. So regardless, here it goes:
If I could set the wayback machine to 1976, crank "Toys In The Attic" on vinyl again and ask myself the question "I wonder what Aerosmith will sound like in 2012?". "Music From Another Dimension" would be a "good" answer.
Granted, the album still sounds like Aerosmith, but it just sounds old, contrived, weak, uninspired, digital, sterile, boring, cliched and commercial. Oh...I know what some are thinking and don't even go there! Guitarists have been rehashing the same Chuck Berry riffs for over 50 years and some still kick fraggin ass. Not here. The deal breakers are the power ballads. Is it just me or do the phrases "return to the old sound" and "duet with Carrie Underwood" seem like an obvious contradiction? What we actually have is a slight return to the "old sound". Just enough 70's Aerosmith to possibly reel in longtime fans; and then an over abundance of power ballads for the longtime "Jaded" fans. Power ballads geared more toward iTunes
download rather than pleasing longtime fans who pray for a shimmer of "Back In The Saddle", again. I won't go into a track by track analysis, you can get from other reviews. I look at the album as a whole and it just disappoints. Finally, there is an overall vibe these guys just don't care anymore: don't care about the fans, the music, each other, and what Aerosmith once meant in the world of rock n' roll. Well, they may care about their PayPal or 401K accounts.
Like a wise man once said, "If something doesn't make sense, it is about money, someone involved is literally crazy, or both". I leave anyone who saw Aerosmith back at Comiskey Park in '76 to figure out which applies here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SOME GOOD SONGS......, October 15, 2013
I really like the legendary AEROSMITH...Some albums like PUMP, ROCKS, TOYS IN THE ATTIC and GET A GRIP are among the best HEAVY ROCK EVER!!!! But, since the JUST PUSH PLAY album, they totally lost their way.....Ok, there's some good songs here like LEGENDARY CHILD, but ALL the songs got a POP feeling that's not really the AEROSMITH i love.... I will always like AEROSMITH's AMAZING past albums, but for me they ended at the great album NINE LIVES, from the distant year of 1997....Some good songs here, but A LOT of radio ballads and POP rock songs that's not so cool!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angels On Broken Wings?, June 27, 2013
By 
Spiritual Architect "God Soul" (Currently hovering over the Great Meteor Seamount) - See all my reviews
There is nothing wrong with your television set. Do not attempt to adjust the picture.

For my time, "The Outer Limits" was always better than "The Twilight Zone". After a decade, Aerosmith returned from both places and finally put out a new album. They tried to tell us it was just like old fashioned Aerosmith, but they do not seem to understand that more than one ballad will not fit in that picture.

Like a box of candy, you're not always going to like everything you get, but the good stuff is still good. No one is forcing you to eat the ones you don't want. If you don't like the ballads don't listen to them. The great 70's Aerosmith albums were between 34 and 39 minutes long. This one is over an hour long. The band has given you more than you need to make this a really good album, so the trick here is to just pare down the songs to your liking.

Here are my 40 minutes:

1. Luv XXX
2. Oh Yeah
3. Beautiful
4. Out Go The Lights
5. Legendary Child
6. Street Jesus
7. Lover Alot
8. Something
9. Closer

Hot monkey sex on a hot tin roof

`Luv XXX' is your typical great Aerosmith hard rock tune. This is what you came for. Fast riffs with drums hitting the mark, it can fit right in beside any of their other album rockers. It has a power drum section and it has those speedy vocal sections of Steven's which end in a flat out yell where you have no idea what he is singing, but you know he's into it.

You're the stars in my sky

`Oh Yeah' has a somewhat lighter feel, like a rock and roll song you would hear in the 60's. That may be because they have girls singing back up. It is supposed to have horns on it too, but I cannot place them, they blend so well. The band is defiantly pumping on this one and we get several wild leads by Joe. I can't sit still. No way.

I think you best believe it

Cartoon footsteps lead us into `Beautiful'. It too is hard rock and it sounds to me like it came right off of "Just Push Play", having that same sound as `Trip' and `Outta'. It has rap rock verses that slow right into a heavy chorus which seems to have layers of voices. Mia gets to sing on Daddies record this time, but I cannot place her either, as there are a lot of vocals going on in the back ground of this tune, some like whispers, and some like screams. We get a false ending in the middle as well as a twisted Perry lead that is way too short. But Joey's drums sound real good. And listen to the bass bottom out at the end. Oh yeah.

Living on coochie and romance

`Out Go The Lights' is rock and roll too, but maybe with a little more southern funk, more reminiscent of the 70's, sounding like something the Black Crowes would write. The backup girls shine on this one too. The band sounds so good, laying down a heavy, measured pace. Just when you think they have ended it in harmonica, it comes back to rock you some more. Joe picks thru the notes like a wasted tightrope walker trying to keep his balance. This time it ends with the girls going "whoop a loop". Great stuff.

Token on that pipe of peace

`Legendary Child' is hard line Smith, but it seems to be lacking that something extra. It is still a decent track though and the more you listen to it the more it grows on you. To me it is too basic to be considered among their best.

And Mr. Bartender, another beer

`Street Jesus' sounds just like "Rocks", and it has a bit more variety in it than most of the others here. It starts off with a siren and the man on the street telling us the time of reckoning is coming. A slow pounding beat from Joey, surrounded by the two guitars, sets the ground for Steven's story. Then it then turns into a `Rats' rocker, spitting out fiery guitars and vocals. We also get a "who, haw" chorus that leads into a double guitar solo that may be both Joe and Brad. Joey then beats it out and Steven raps it up, trying to keep up with him, until it ends in a long percussive groove.

You get a high from the taste of her wet

`Lover Alot' starts out with Joey pounding the skins, then stopping and yelling. He starts up again and like before, Steven starts spitting out words trying to keep up with him. Once again we have a pure Aerosmith rocker, as good as they get. This album is one clear recording; just listen to Steven carrying on in the background during the mid section. The two guitars come thru nicely here, running along at the same time. Until we near the end and Joe hits the off ramp and rips it up.

So there you go, seven rocking tracks that are pure Smith.

But all you want is more

The opening organ on `Something' slows us down into a Joe Perry grinder, rough and tarnished with pounding drums and a twisted guitar solo. He sings it like a pissed off drunk in the verses, but sweetens it up for the chorus. He also talks to us in the background. His guitar break in the middle has some scathing chords before his punch drunk lead solo comes in. Then it just stops.

Can angels fly on broken wings?

`Closer' to me is one of the best ballads they have ever done. Descending guitar notes and more pounding drums lead us into this beauty, one that comes complete with real feelings and real emotions. When Steven ask, "How can I turn off the flame?" you sense he is speaking from experience. The whole thing has a dark feel to it that is great for closing the record and Joe leaves us with one more impassioned solo.

For my money, the album I have presented you with here kicks asp on "Draw The Line", "Night In The Ruts" and "Done With Mirrors". If that seems impossible, go play each one of these songs 10 times in a row until you know them inside out, then play them all back to back. You might be surprised at what is possible. Tom Hamilton's `Tell Me' is a good tune too. Don't be afraid to try that one either.

Can angels fly on broken wings?
Once you trim some of the fat, Aerosmith proves they can.
So get your wings and take flight, because this aero still can soar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok not great album, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music From Another Dimension! (MP3 Music)
I'm a long time Aerosmith fan and was excited to know they were doing a new studio album, but this album was a disappointment. The songs remind me of vintage 70s Aerosmith but the songs don't have the same energy that made their music awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even With Its Flaws, There's Still a Lot to Like, November 12, 2012
Let's face it - we will never get another A+ Aerosmith album like "Rocks" or "Pump." The band is too fractured for that, and it's nothing short of a miracle that after years of failed attempts we saw a new album at all. And with the possible exception of Rush, it's damn near impossible to find a band who makes music 40+ years into their career that ranks among their very best work.

That being said, "Music From Another Dimension" has a 45-minute album's worth of material that ranks from pretty good to quite good. What does the remaining 25 minutes suffer from? Overwrought balladry and Joe Perry's lead vocals. And while much of the album rocks hard, there's also an unfortunate lack of big rock hooks, which is really what prevents this album from ranking among the band's best. But this didn't need to be their best to still be pretty damn good.

"LUV XXX" starts things off right. It's pure sexy rock with a great groove and one of the album's better hooks, and would be a welcome set opener for the supporting tour. It's likely no coincidence that the writing credits read simply "Tyler/Perry," and one can only help wonder what kind of album this may have been if all songs carried similar credits.

"Oh Yeah", penned solely by Joe Perry, continues the rock & roll party, and let's all thank Steven Tyler for insisting that he sing the lead vocals instead of Joe (more on that later). On "Beautiful", it's evident that the band came to the table with the verses while an outside writer brought in the chorus, but it works. And "Tell Me", penned entirely by bassist Tom Hamilton and carrying a noticeable Beatles influence, has the distinction of being one of the album's only enjoyable ballads.

Over the next six tracks, we see the blend of near-greatness and mediocrity that modern-day Aerosmith has become known for. "Out Go the Lights" and "Legendary Child" share not only a melody but also a sense of raw rock & roll fun, and rank as two of the album's best tracks (sadly, the latter is an outtake from nearly 20 years ago). "Street Jesus" and "Lover A Lot" are right up there, too, with the former serving as one of the band's most energetic blasts of rock boogie since the 70's. But then we have "What Could Have Been Love", a largely outside-written melodramatic ballad that's basically a rewrite of "I Don't Wanna Miss A Thing" mixed with Jourey's "Open Arms", and "Can't Stop Lovin' You", a country-fied duet with Carrie Underwood. The songs are practically interchangeable in their mediocrity, making you yearn for ballads that actually felt genuine ("What It Takes", "Cryin").

Unfortunately, the album never really recovers after this. Ballads "We All Fall Down" and "Another Last Goodbye" should have been shelved or saved for other projects, while Joe Perry's rocking "Freedom Fighter" and psychedelic "Something" both suffer from his lead vocals. Of the album's last five tracks, only the mid-tempo "Closer" (with a rare songwriting credit to drummer Joey Kramer) is worthy of inclusion on the album. Oh, and deluxe-version bonus track "Sunny Side of Love" is much better than any of these songs. Couldn't have one of the album's many producers fought for its inclusion?

All its flaws considered, "Music From Another Dimension" is still a 3.5/5, B-grade album simply because there's enough good material to latch onto, especially for anyone who didn't want the lackluster "Just Push Play" or covers-only album "Honkin' On Bobo" to be known as the band's latest work. Overall this is a step back up for the band and one worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They're done!, November 29, 2012
By 
Alex A. Fintonis (Bay City, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Aerosmith are done. But to be fair they have been done for along time. This album is a joke. The music on this album isn't even a shadow of the music they once created.

To advertise this as a return to their 70s roots is an insult to all Aerosmith fans. Douglas didn't even produce the whole thing. 6 songs are ballads!!! and they are not even good ballads. Everyone of them is trying to be another version of "I Don't Wanna Miss A Thing".

They just do not seem to sound like a band anymore. I can tell Steven had the final word on this album and the rest of the band were along for the ride. Carrie Underwood says it all. The fact that she is a guest on this album makes me crazy! I knew the writing was on the wall when Steven decided to judge Idol.

If you are big fan of late 80s or 90s Aerosmith. This album still doesn't please. It's just a train wreak. There is nothing more I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa58b32b8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.