Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Disappointed
Cut the old guys some slack, please! They are still tuneful, they are still comin' up with some sassy and interesting lyrics, and they are still handling well the chords and runs we so love. What more could you ask from these elderly gents who still know how to rock?

I had no expectations, so I wasn't disappointed. I'd like to see what Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, One...
Published 20 months ago by Zoeeagleeye

versus
83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in house, boys...ditch your outside pals.
Talk about a yin and yang "comeback album."

On the plus side, producer Jack Douglas (Get Your Wings, Toys in the Attic, Rocks, Draw the Line) is on board. And the band, when in classic Aerosmith mode (as on the opener "Luv XXX") can still deliver the goods.

On the downside, the loathsome "outside songwriter" hacks are back: Diane Warren ("We All Fall...
Published 20 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in house, boys...ditch your outside pals., November 21, 2012
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Talk about a yin and yang "comeback album."

On the plus side, producer Jack Douglas (Get Your Wings, Toys in the Attic, Rocks, Draw the Line) is on board. And the band, when in classic Aerosmith mode (as on the opener "Luv XXX") can still deliver the goods.

On the downside, the loathsome "outside songwriter" hacks are back: Diane Warren ("We All Fall Down"), Desmond Child ("Another Last Goodbye") and Jim Vallance ("Legendary Child"). The Warren song is syrupy slop, as is the Child song, but at least Vallance song rocks, in a Bryan Adams kind of way. You're almost waiting for Tyler to croon about how he got his first real six string at the five and dime. Why is it SO IMPOSSIBLE for these guys to go into a room somewhere and crank out a dozen or so Tyler/Perry/Whitford tracks?

It's not the idea that every Aerosmith song needs to rock the paint off the walls. After all, we all loved "Dream On," "Seasons Of Wither," "Home Tonight," and other "ballad" tracks back in their glory days, right?

The objection I have to the outsiders is that they're hacks. That's it, songwriting hacks "crafting" lightweight pop pap that is radio airwave-friendly. That said, this album is still about 1000 times better than Just Push Play, an album so truly loathsome that at any time following its release you could get seemingly endless used copies on Amazon for under a buck.

There's been a lot of grousing about the Carrie Underwood track, but what can I say? It's much, much better than the aforementioned tracks penned by Warren and Child, and it does in fact have a nice "classic Aerosmith" sound...well, maybe until Carrie takes her first lead vocal. But it's STILL not the worst track on the album.

It's not easy being an Aerosmith fan, especially when I count the hours I've spent driving around in my car listening to Rocks. I think we'd all like the band to deliver a new album that just sends it flying out of the park like THAT one did, right? And I don't mean rubber-stamping past glories...look at how many times Neil Young has had a wobbly album or two and came roaring back with something like this year's Psychedelic Pill?

Songs like "Lover Alot" have that old Toxic Twins swagger, but good grief, they go from that one right into the Diane Warren song.

THREE stars. Not FOUR, not FIVE, but THREE. I'm not saying this is a BAD album, I'm just saying they can do BETTER, because they've already DONE better. When you've been GREAT, "good" just ain't good ENOUGH.

If they can deal with the inter-band squabbling and personal dramas for another few years, and LOSE the hacks, JUST LOSE THEM, maybe they still have a five-sar album left in them. Maybe not. But in an age where the American Music Awards name Justin Bieber the "Performer of the Year," a three star Aerosmith album is better than no Aerosmith album at all...right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Disappointed, November 27, 2012
By 
Zoeeagleeye (Belfast, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Music From Another Dimension! (MP3 Music)
Cut the old guys some slack, please! They are still tuneful, they are still comin' up with some sassy and interesting lyrics, and they are still handling well the chords and runs we so love. What more could you ask from these elderly gents who still know how to rock?

I had no expectations, so I wasn't disappointed. I'd like to see what Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, One Direction and Justin Bieber are doing in their 70's. Steven Tyler is a master, as is Joe Perry. They deserve respect and not pity. They've pulled out their genius through time and it has stood the test. So it isn't the "old Aerosmith," or the "new Aerosmith." It's ludicrous for anyone to expect them to sound like they did 40 years ago, and overly optimistic to expect them to create something very new at their ages. Who does that? Not even Picasso. Gold is gold and Aerosmith is definitely gold!

I wanted something pretty and I wanted something wild on this album. "Oh Yeah," may not have been wild enough but it almost was and I enjoyed its humor. "What Could Have Been Love" and "Another Last Goodbye," are to be savored for their poignancy and wisdom. I can't imagine a 20-something writing these songs or singing them convincingly. Speaking of which, "We All Fall Down" rocks us nicely into that feel-good upliftment that so many recent singers have created (Jason Mraz, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga) and which fans need.

If you've ever liked Aerosmith and have no ax to grind or ridiculous expectations, you won't go wrong buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Filler, November 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think there is such a thing as too much filler on this album. Jack Douglas is a great producer, however I don't want to hear his introduction on LuvXXX every time I listen to the album. The same can be said for the intro to Street Jesus. Too many ballads, especially Diane Warren's Another Last goodbye. All in all an ok album. Not great, not what I would have expected, but ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a grip...really!, November 7, 2012
By 
Turn it up! (Bunker Hill, WV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am listening to "Music From Another Dimension" for the second time and, as with most new releases by older groups, it's growing on me. Sure, it doesn't sound like "Rocks", but why should it? That was almost 40 years ago! Can you believe that? These guys are 60+ years old and like me and YOU, yes YOU, they have aged and changed and so has their music. Great? Maybe not, but present day Aerosmith? Oh yeah! I saw them live recently and they still rock! Soon we're not going to have the pleasure of listening to anything new from classic groups like this because they're going to retire.

No break down of the tracks from me. Some are good, some not so good, but I buy CDs for everything that's on them and I'll listen to all of them. All 15 of these songs will join the 17000+ on my Ipod which includes the rest of the Aerosmith catalog. Do I like the ballads? Yes. I haven't created an Aerosmith image that excludes songs like "Can't Stop Loving You" or "Don't Want To Miss A Thing". Why does everybody hate that song?

As for Amazon's service, I received this CD on the day it was released. In all the orders I have placed through Amazon I have never had a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 140 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aero$mith "Mu$ic From Another Dimen$ion", November 6, 2012
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
I am going to preface this by the statements I am not a fanboy (I have been An Aerosmith Fan since '73) and I know most of the time negative reviews are associated with the a click on the "no" button. So regardless, here it goes:
If I could set the wayback machine to 1976, crank "Toys In The Attic" on vinyl again and ask myself the question "I wonder what Aerosmith will sound like in 2012?". "Music From Another Dimension" would be a "good" answer.
Granted, the album still sounds like Aerosmith, but it just sounds old, contrived, weak, uninspired, digital, sterile, boring, cliched and commercial. Oh...I know what some are thinking and don't even go there! Guitarists have been rehashing the same Chuck Berry riffs for over 50 years and some still kick fraggin ass. Not here. The deal breakers are the power ballads. Is it just me or do the phrases "return to the old sound" and "duet with Carrie Underwood" seem like an obvious contradiction? What we actually have is a slight return to the "old sound". Just enough 70's Aerosmith to possibly reel in longtime fans; and then an over abundance of power ballads for the longtime "Jaded" fans. Power ballads geared more toward iTunes
download rather than pleasing longtime fans who pray for a shimmer of "Back In The Saddle", again. I won't go into a track by track analysis, you can get from other reviews. I look at the album as a whole and it just disappoints. Finally, there is an overall vibe these guys just don't care anymore: don't care about the fans, the music, each other, and what Aerosmith once meant in the world of rock n' roll. Well, they may care about their PayPal or 401K accounts.
Like a wise man once said, "If something doesn't make sense, it is about money, someone involved is literally crazy, or both". I leave anyone who saw Aerosmith back at Comiskey Park in '76 to figure out which applies here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SOME GOOD SONGS......, October 15, 2013
I really like the legendary AEROSMITH...Some albums like PUMP, ROCKS, TOYS IN THE ATTIC and GET A GRIP are among the best HEAVY ROCK EVER!!!! But, since the JUST PUSH PLAY album, they totally lost their way.....Ok, there's some good songs here like LEGENDARY CHILD, but ALL the songs got a POP feeling that's not really the AEROSMITH i love.... I will always like AEROSMITH's AMAZING past albums, but for me they ended at the great album NINE LIVES, from the distant year of 1997....Some good songs here, but A LOT of radio ballads and POP rock songs that's not so cool!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music From Another Dimension, April 7, 2013
Why all the fuss over this album? So many people just want to complain over the amount of ballads on this album, but with an album with 15 songs on the standard edition, why complain? I own and enjoy all of Aerosmith's albums, old and new (Yes, that includes Just Push Play), and I think this is one of the best ones. Is it Toys In The Attic, Rocks, or Pump? No, but I'm proud of this album. With songs like LUV XXX, Oh Yeah, Tell Me, Out Go The Lights, Legendary Child, Street Jesus, We All Fall Down, and Another Last Goodbye, it's a no brainer that this album is great. I own the deluxe edition from Walmart, so it came with four extra songs: Shakey Ground, Up On The Mountain, Oasis In The Night, and Sunny Side Of Love. Combined with the other 15 songs on the standard album, that's 19 songs to listen to, and if you can enjoy at least half of them, then there shouldn't be a problem.

LUV XXX is the best album opener on an Aerosmith album since Young Lust on Pump, and it's actually one of my absolute favorite Aerosmith songs. Oh Yeah sounds like something that could have been from the first album, it's bluesy and rocking. Beautiful sounds like something from Just Push Play, it has a simple, but cool sounding riff and great verses; the chorus is a little weird, but it has grown on me a lot. Tell Me is Tom Hamilton's first songwriting credit since Janie's Got A Gun on Pump, and not only that, but it's his first solo songwriting credit, and he did an incredible job. Tell Me is amazing and powerful, I can't think of a better way to describe it. Out Go The Lights is a song that sounds like the child of Get The Lead Out and Last Child from Rocks, it's a great rocker and it has a riff that'll get stuck in your head. Legendary Child is a song written during the recording of Get A Grip, but the song was unfortunately left off of the album. It has a Zeppelin-like riff with lyrics that detail Aerosmith's entire career and even references some early songs (Walk This Way and Adam's Apple). What Could Have Been Love is a country-like ballad that took a little time to grow on me; I used to hate it, but I can enjoy it now. Street Jesus is the first Tyler/Perry/Whitford song since Voodoo Medicine Man, and it's the heaviest song on the album, incredible rocker. Can't Stop Lovin' You... no. Just no. Lover Alot is another song that took some time to grow on me, but I always loved the verses of the song, the chorus just took some time. We All Fall Down is a beautiful ballad written by Diane Warren, it's so amazing and so inspirational. Freedom Fighter is sung by Joe Perry and it sounds like a song that could have been on one of his early solo albums, another great rocker. Closer is another ballad that, while not a song that sticks out to me, is a good song, you can definitely enjoy it quite a bit. Something is another song that Joe Perry sings on the album; it details the band's hatred of their past (and possibly current) managers. Nice way to stick it to the man. Good song. Another Last Goodbye is a ballad that could easily compete with You See Me Crying, Home Tonight, and Mia. It may even be better. It is so beautiful, I can't think of a better way to close an album.

Now those extra four songs that came with the deluxe edition from Walmart. Shakey Ground is a cover of an old funk song by The Temptations, and it fits really well with Aerosmith, they did an incredible job with it. It's extremely funky. Up On The Mountain is Tom Hamilton's first lead vocal performance on an Aerosmith song, and it is incredible. Great riff and great lyrics. Oasis In The Night is another song sang by Joe Perry, and it is a ballad. I never thought I'd see the day where Joe Perry would sing a ballad, but it happened and he did a great job. Sunny Side Of Love unfortunately never interested me.

Overall, this album is incredible and I highly recommend it to any Aerosmith fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, not perfect, but still a blast...., November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find that most of this album is really very good. There are multiple uptempo songs that rock out raw and hard (Luv XXX, Lover Alot, Legendary Child and more...) and a few slower heavier songs that are quite good as well (Closer, Something, Oasis in the Night). Yes there are too many ballads, at least 3 too many, however, with the extra tracks provided on the deluxe version(s) of this CD one gets all together somewhere around 60-70 minutes of solid rock 'n roll, (subtracting 3 ballads). There isn't nearly enough of that coming out any more these days. Of course paying extra for the deluxe variants of this CD is annoying but that's how it is. Finally, the mix on this CD is better than I've heard from Aerosmith in a long, long time. It's raw but still well balanced and doesn't sound overproduced. A major improvement over the last two studio albums of original material - Nine Lives and Just Push Play....

The criticisms of this album appear to me to be far out of proportion. Aerosmith has changed, all bands change. There will never be another album like Rocks or Toys in the Attic. That being said Aerosmith can still rock hard and raw (especially live, take a look at "You Gotta Move" - DVD). In fact, I would say that they sound better live in their older years than they did when they were younger. This is probably due to a number of reasons: a measure of sobriety leading to improved musicianship, longer variations/jams on songs in concert, and the better sounds systems available today.

Give the new album a listen. Rip the songs to a music file and delete the sappy ballads and you're left with a damn good rock 'n roll record.. Enjoy!!
My two cents anyway.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even With Its Flaws, There's Still a Lot to Like, November 12, 2012
Let's face it - we will never get another A+ Aerosmith album like "Rocks" or "Pump." The band is too fractured for that, and it's nothing short of a miracle that after years of failed attempts we saw a new album at all. And with the possible exception of Rush, it's damn near impossible to find a band who makes music 40+ years into their career that ranks among their very best work.

That being said, "Music From Another Dimension" has a 45-minute album's worth of material that ranks from pretty good to quite good. What does the remaining 25 minutes suffer from? Overwrought balladry and Joe Perry's lead vocals. And while much of the album rocks hard, there's also an unfortunate lack of big rock hooks, which is really what prevents this album from ranking among the band's best. But this didn't need to be their best to still be pretty damn good.

"LUV XXX" starts things off right. It's pure sexy rock with a great groove and one of the album's better hooks, and would be a welcome set opener for the supporting tour. It's likely no coincidence that the writing credits read simply "Tyler/Perry," and one can only help wonder what kind of album this may have been if all songs carried similar credits.

"Oh Yeah", penned solely by Joe Perry, continues the rock & roll party, and let's all thank Steven Tyler for insisting that he sing the lead vocals instead of Joe (more on that later). On "Beautiful", it's evident that the band came to the table with the verses while an outside writer brought in the chorus, but it works. And "Tell Me", penned entirely by bassist Tom Hamilton and carrying a noticeable Beatles influence, has the distinction of being one of the album's only enjoyable ballads.

Over the next six tracks, we see the blend of near-greatness and mediocrity that modern-day Aerosmith has become known for. "Out Go the Lights" and "Legendary Child" share not only a melody but also a sense of raw rock & roll fun, and rank as two of the album's best tracks (sadly, the latter is an outtake from nearly 20 years ago). "Street Jesus" and "Lover A Lot" are right up there, too, with the former serving as one of the band's most energetic blasts of rock boogie since the 70's. But then we have "What Could Have Been Love", a largely outside-written melodramatic ballad that's basically a rewrite of "I Don't Wanna Miss A Thing" mixed with Jourey's "Open Arms", and "Can't Stop Lovin' You", a country-fied duet with Carrie Underwood. The songs are practically interchangeable in their mediocrity, making you yearn for ballads that actually felt genuine ("What It Takes", "Cryin").

Unfortunately, the album never really recovers after this. Ballads "We All Fall Down" and "Another Last Goodbye" should have been shelved or saved for other projects, while Joe Perry's rocking "Freedom Fighter" and psychedelic "Something" both suffer from his lead vocals. Of the album's last five tracks, only the mid-tempo "Closer" (with a rare songwriting credit to drummer Joey Kramer) is worthy of inclusion on the album. Oh, and deluxe-version bonus track "Sunny Side of Love" is much better than any of these songs. Couldn't have one of the album's many producers fought for its inclusion?

All its flaws considered, "Music From Another Dimension" is still a 3.5/5, B-grade album simply because there's enough good material to latch onto, especially for anyone who didn't want the lackluster "Just Push Play" or covers-only album "Honkin' On Bobo" to be known as the band's latest work. Overall this is a step back up for the band and one worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lack of effort in this release, March 23, 2013
I am a longtime fan of the band and was looking forward to a new release. Unfortunately this album follows the trend over recent years of Aerosmith albums that are seeming to be lacking in effort and trying to be 2012 cool as opposed to being Aerosmith cool. Most songs on here lack any memorable lyrics that make you want to press repeat on your stereo. There are some decent tunes here but not what I expect from a band that has had so many quality albums and songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.