Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicine Goes Down Easy
Music is the Medicine is a must have in anyone's CD collection. Anthony Gomes "We have a mission statement with our music," he says. "For us, it's a new twist on old ideal, the stuff John Lennon was talking about as well as Woodstock. Music IS the medicine. It holds together a community. I believe that music can change the world. It's a powerful soul sonic force." "If...
Published on August 8, 2006 by medicinewoman

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not blues...and very dated sounding
I love Anthony's live shows but something stikes me as very dated and cliched about this disc. First of all, it is not the great blues-rock and funk we have all come to love and expect out of him. While I certainly respect his ambition to take his music in new directions, this effort falls completely flat. Most of the tunes sound like rehashed pop-rock from the early...
Published on August 8, 2006 by Musicman2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicine Goes Down Easy, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
Music is the Medicine is a must have in anyone's CD collection. Anthony Gomes "We have a mission statement with our music," he says. "For us, it's a new twist on old ideal, the stuff John Lennon was talking about as well as Woodstock. Music IS the medicine. It holds together a community. I believe that music can change the world. It's a powerful soul sonic force." "If Music be the Food of Love, Play On - William Shakespeare" .... this CD will satisfy everyone's hunger for the healing power of music to uplift, console, move and motivate the spirit !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music is the Medicine, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
This is by far the best CD that Anthony has put out!!! He only gets better and better! It is a sum total of all his musical abilities. It has Blues, Funk, R & B, soul, and his amazing ability to play and sing. You can feel his sweet spirit just flow from the music, there is passion, anger, happiness, hope, it's all there. In War on War you can hear the planes droping the bombs and the guns going off. The words are so true especially, for this day. This is a must have CD. LOVE IT, LOVE IT! Thank you Anthony for staying true to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love is the Answer, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
Music is the Medicine is a long awaited dream come true for the Anthony Gomes Band, their friends and family aka the LOVE VIBE TRIBE, and loving and dedicated fans all over the planet. :) It is such a huge endeavor to put this compilation of the finest quality music together and I personally find it to be class act ALL THE WAY!!! I rate it off the charts if possible. With so much chaos and negativity in the world, I find Music is the Medicine to be a breath of fresh air with a beautiful message of love and peace. LOVE IS THE ANSWER!!! Having heard Hard Line to Ride and Waiting for a Sign before the cd was released, I was truly happy to have two of my favorite songs available at last on CD!! Hard Line is a fast grooving IN YOUR FACE piece of work, and Waiting for a Sign is a spiritual call for a connection with something beyond ourselves and the limitations of this world. The addition of the six piece string section is amazingly beautiful and I believe this song should be added in a movie someday...:)) So many songs that I have enjoyed LIVE for so long are now available in these two OFF the Charts CDs for which I am truly grateful because I, along with many others, can't always make it to a live show. I am here to TESTIFY for my soul brothers! I love you AGB!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Gomes is the Medicine, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
Music Is The Medicine is the "balm" our troubled world needs right now. AG's newest effort has it all--funky grooves, soulful ballads, "love gone wrong" blues, and a rock epic to match anything from the last three decades. The thread that binds them all together is Gomes' message of non-violence, love, and peace. a phenomenal guitarist and singer, Anthony co-wrote all songs and spent three years perfecting each one. This is a must-have disc that will be hailed by critics and music lovers for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music is the Medicine, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for a long time for this cd and finally it is here! I'm a blues lover and Anthony Gomes not only plays the blues, he does rock, gospel, soul, R&B, etc. I love it all. Anthony and Biscuit's guitar playing is fantastic (like Hendrix and Stevie Ray). They put on a wild live show. It's hard to pick my favorite song, but I think War on War should be playing on every radio station. This cd lets me experience the medicine until I can get a live dose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spoonful Is Not Enough Of This Medicine, August 8, 2006
By 
Geoffrey Sigurdson (Northwood, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
This disc is a gem from start to finish and has a bit of everything. You'll find straight blues, funk, hard rock, gospel, moving ballads, and a few that can only be described as the Anthony Gomes blend. And no matter the style, they're all augmented with enough of his blues driven guitar to satisfy any blues lover. The tunes all have hooks that will guarantee you'll be singing along by the third listen. This CD deserves airplay on mainstream radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Medicine, August 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
The years that Anthony Gomes spent in Chicago and Nashville were certainly put to good use and the fourth release from this bluesman and funkster is proof positive. Rarely is it heard that a musician can draw from so many different musical styles and be able to keep the level of consistency and coherency that this disc contains.

There is a definitive songwriting style from start to finish and the disc flows naturally from the funk-driven opening title track to the Zappa-esque liquidity of the smoking guitar on the closing blues anthem "When the Right Woman Does You Wrong". Everything in between creates an unforgettable musical journey.

It is impossible to pick a "best moment" on this disc from so many outstanding performances. Whether the listener prefers the hard rock edge of "Testify" or the gospel-influenced harmonies of "Love Is The Answer" or the jazzy guitar-saxophone duel in "Stand Up" is a mere transitory preference with each track offering something different within the framework of this opus. We are treated throughout with incredible ear candy, whether it be strings, piano, clavinet, horns, or even funkified electric banjo, all supplementing and intensifying Anthony's vocals and guitar genius.

The songwriting collaborations with songwriting legends Jim Peterik, Mark Selby and Kelly Keagy are strong, but have nothing over the songwriting Gomes did on his own or with his fellow band members. There is a lyrical message to this disc that shines through each song and is a major component of the songcraft throughout this disc. It is a message of love and hope and the acknowledgment that music is indeed a medicine that can cure the ails of this world.

Gomes is recognized internationally as a superb guitarist and the guitar work on this release is some of his strongest yet. Whether his guitar is screaming the blues or dancing the funk or pouring the passion it is the artistry that shines through and blends beautifully as a part of the whole. It is not just the guitar work, though. Who else do we know that can play a banjo through a Marshall and have it sound as some of the best funk-driven rock to be played in years?

This is a must own disc for any music lover. It will get many hours of spin time regardless of the music preference of the listener. The only music put out this year that will top this disc in terms of raw energy and brilliant songcraft will be from the stage when these musicians perform these tracks in front of a live audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Medicine, August 9, 2006
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
Anthony Gomes has definitely raised the bar with his latest CD, Music Is The Medicine. His growth as a musician and songwriter is apparent on every cut of this phenomenal CD. Soul pirecing guitar, heartfelt vocals and thoughtful lyrics combine to produce a CD you will want to listen to until you wear it out. I guarantee it is the tastiest medicine you will ever take!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme another dose!, August 25, 2006
By 
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
This is a terrific disc showcasing Gomes' growth as an artist. Those familiar with his work already know him for his powerful vocals and incendiary guitar, this new CD brings funk, rock, R&B and the blues together in a manner that few artists could pull together without sounding contrived or manufactured.

The disc has a little of something for everyone, and taken as a whole is a tremendous piece of work...I'm not sure what else to add that hasn't already been said more eloquently by other reviewers already. Buy it.

It's great to know that there are still musicians around that realize that love and music are two things that can truly change the world. Thanks, AG and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy for the soul, August 19, 2006
By 
Tony T (Montreal Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music Is the Medicine (Audio CD)
Once again, Anthony Gomes shines through with his latest CD; so unique in it's blend of musical styles. But don't let the funk, blues, rock and searing guitar solos fool you. Behind the great music are even greater lyrics; lyrics carrying a message that truly inspires.

This CD is must have therapy for the heart and soul. It will lift your spirits to new heights.

Anthony dishes out good medicine, the more you take, the better you'll feel !.....finally, a medicine that is safe at any dose !

Tony T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Music Is the Medicine
Music Is the Medicine by Anthony Gomes Band (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.