Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Gunn
Unfortunately Mancini is probably going out of style for the younger generation which is a shame as his music is good and definitely has his unique stamp upon it. Who know, maybe it will show up on some commercial(s) and viewers will ask whose music is that and then they will discover Mancini. I grew up watching Peter Gunn so these CD's are filled not only with good music...
Published 19 months ago by Hrothgar

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great sentimental value but music quality is lacking
i love this 2 CD set for its sentimental value, however, after i listened to the entire CD 2x, i found the music quality lacking. many tracks lack the "HD" quality, left and right channel are not entirely synchronized/balanced. on most tracks, the music comes across as thin, hallow, no depth and warmth. an analogy would be the concert hall sound vs a hallow room sound...
Published on September 29, 2012 by Spike Spiegel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Gunn, April 19, 2013
By 
Hrothgar (Monroe, CT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
Unfortunately Mancini is probably going out of style for the younger generation which is a shame as his music is good and definitely has his unique stamp upon it. Who know, maybe it will show up on some commercial(s) and viewers will ask whose music is that and then they will discover Mancini. I grew up watching Peter Gunn so these CD's are filled not only with good music but good memories. Peter Gunn made people aware of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I spy with my Mystic Eye-- what the word "cool" means., August 24, 2012
By 
The Mystic Eye Of The Hipster (Murfreesboro, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
The music ranges from dangerous & deadly, to light, airy & breezy.
Everyone needs a copy of this.

The "Peter Gunn Theme" (first song on CD #1)is perhaps the best instrumental song created in its era. But there is no "filler" material on this album. Every song is a gas.

Get it. Today.

The Hipster gives it a Thumbs Up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set of tunes, December 28, 2011
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
Smooth Jazz, Cool Jazz, and Soft Jazz, Mellow Jazz, and Swing Jazz. This set has it all. Great Stuff. The cover versions by Candoli are outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good., November 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
Great hearing the oh so cool music again. Thanks for making it available. Great price and fast delivery. Would recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can beat Mancini and MR. COOL, "PETER GUNN", August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
IN MY YOUNGER DAYS, "PETER GUNN" WAS A PROGRAM THAT WAS NOT TO BE MISSED; NOT ONLY FOR THE STORY BUT ALSO FOR THE MUSIC. THE PROGRAM,AND MR. GUNN OUT COOLED MR. BOND BEFORE JAMES ARRIVED ON THE SCENE. THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES HENRY AND CRAIG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man -- Mancini, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
If you liked the show called "Peter Gunn",then you will love this disk. It contains most of the songs played on the show -- so very, very, cooooool man.So be like me as soon as you find it buy it. THE END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great sentimental value but music quality is lacking, September 29, 2012
By 
Spike Spiegel (Ipanema, San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music of Peter Gunn (Audio CD)
i love this 2 CD set for its sentimental value, however, after i listened to the entire CD 2x, i found the music quality lacking. many tracks lack the "HD" quality, left and right channel are not entirely synchronized/balanced. on most tracks, the music comes across as thin, hallow, no depth and warmth. an analogy would be the concert hall sound vs a hallow room sound. as if the music was played in a hallow room sans acoustic structure. i do not know if this is a musicianship issue or audio engineering issue. i enjoy this CD set for its sentimental value but not sure the music quality is there. i wish the manufacturer go back to the drawing board, honestly do a digital remastering and re-release this music. thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Music of Peter Gunn
Music of Peter Gunn by Henry Mancini (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.