Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sight singing book
This seems to be the "standard" when it comes to aural skills textbooks. It is now in its 9th edition and works very well. Starts from the beginning with rhythms and basic intervallic training and takes you to the far limits of rhythms and tonality (or atonality). My one complaint about this text is the price. I'm not sure how much they vary between editions, but...
Published 6 months ago by James Wells

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's too advanced for a beginner.
I hoped it would be much more basic than it is. And it uses American terminology which isn't really a problem.

I am hoping to find an easier book until i can use this one.
Published 10 months ago by Alison Bennett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sight singing book, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
This seems to be the "standard" when it comes to aural skills textbooks. It is now in its 9th edition and works very well. Starts from the beginning with rhythms and basic intervallic training and takes you to the far limits of rhythms and tonality (or atonality). My one complaint about this text is the price. I'm not sure how much they vary between editions, but it was hard to pay this much for a book in which I already owned the 7th and 8th edition. Still, Highly effective in sight-singing and ear training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
I love it it's very useful in my ear training class and I will have to use it all 4 years of college
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I need this book for four semesters, but I will use it in my teaching as well! It's highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Text that Opens the Doors to the Development of Musicianship, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
It's a very comprehensive collection and it even provides some insight into the different ways of going about sight-singing. It's also more systematically organized than the classic Dannhauser. With regard to the material, I have yet to read through it, but as far as I can tell, this is definitely a must have for any musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
Great book for sight singing, and practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
This book is whatever I want it. It is a good book with a good quality. It is good to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's too advanced for a beginner., October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) (Spiral-bound)
I hoped it would be much more basic than it is. And it uses American terminology which isn't really a problem.

I am hoping to find an easier book until i can use this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition)
Music for Sight Singing (9th Edition) by Robert Ottman (Spiral-bound - January 12, 2013)
$113.40 $100.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.