Buy Used
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Hardcover ex-library with typical marks shows moderate cover wear. Text appears unmarked. 5th Ed.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Music Since 1900 Hardcover – July, 1994

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$121.90 $16.48
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 1260 pages
  • Publisher: Macmillan Library Reference; 5 Sub edition (July 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0028724186
  • ISBN-13: 978-0028724188
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 8.2 x 10.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,423,036 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews Review

Nicolas Slonimsky's first edition of Music Since 1900 came out in 1937--his entry into the world of lexicography--and this fifth edition, published in 1994, was the last book he wrote. But that's only one reason why this book should be acquired, cherished, and continually browsed. The "Descriptive Chronology" begins January 1, 1900, with the publication of Hector Berlioz's first volume of collected works, wends its way through Gershwin's first performance of "Rhapsody in Blue" (February 12, 1924) and the founding of the Polish Music Publishing Society (April 15, 1945), and ends with the death of Ernst Krenek, composer of "Jonny spielt auf," (December 23, 1991). With letters (such as those to Slonimsky from Charles Ives) and documents (such as the transcript of the House Un-American Activities Committee hearing on Hanns Eisler), a Dictionary of Terms (abecedarianism to Zen), and a comprehensive index, the result is a scrupulous, eccentric, irresistible music reference.

From Library Journal

This fifth edition by idiosyncratic centenarian Slonimsky incorporates material from the 4th edition (LJ 1/1/72) and the supplement (LJ 7/86) with over 1500 new entries. Again, the bulk of the work consists of the descriptive chronology, which now stretches to the death of Ernst Krenek in December 1991. Unlike similar works-Richard Burbank's Twentieth Century Music (LJ 9/1/84) or Charles J. Hall's A Twentieth Century Musical Chronicle (Greenwood, 1989)-this work is strictly chronological. Most index entries are by name, with individual pieces to be found under the composer's name; there are also a few topical index entries, e.g., "AIDS quilt," "endurance records." The value of the new edition is almost entirely in the coverage of post-1985 events and an improved format, as there is little evidence of any editing or correction of previously published material. (Composer Richard Felciano is still erroneously listed as Feliciano.) Taller and wider pages allow for an easier-to-scan two-column format, and date headers on each page are a welcome improvement. As in previous editions, coverage is heavily biased in favor of serious music-coverage of popular and jazz music is minimal. Despite its shortcomings, this is recommended for most music collections.
Michael Colby, Univ. of California-Davis Lib.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Nicolas Slonimsky (b. St. Peterburg, Russia in 1894 - d. Christmas Day 1995 in Los Angeles at the exceptional age of 101 years, 9 months, 28 days) was an institution. He labeled himself a 'musical lexicographer,' having written several indispensable musical reference works such as 'Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians,' and 'The Lexicon of Musical Invective' (containing hilarious entries from reviews and other sources), as well as the esoteric and encyclopedic, 'Thesaurus of Scales and Melodic Patterns.' He also wrote one of the most amusing musical autobiographies around, 'Perfect Pitch.' But before he became a scholar/writer he was a pianist, conductor, composer, and champion of modern music. For instance, he was the first person to conduct an orchestral work of Charles Ives in Europe, and in an appendix of this gargantuan book (1260 pages) he prints twenty pages of letters he received from Ives. Because he lived so long he knew just about everybody in the field of twentieth-century music. (I even met him once when he was approaching his 100th birthday.)
The primary content of the book is a day by day account of musical events throughout the Western world from January 1, 1900 up to the death of Ernst Krenek in 1991. This volume, its Fifth Edition, contains all the material of the previous editions (with corrections and additions) plus 1500 additional entries for the period after the Fourth Edition.
For a reasonably well-informed music-lover there is rarely a page in this book without information about events in music history that are familiar, as well as others that are interesting but otherwise unknown.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?