Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Musicall Dreame

5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, November 16, 1993
"Please retry"
$39.00 $4.42

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Though Your Strangeness Frets My Heart
  2. Sweet Kate
  3. Once Did I Serve a Cruel Heart
  4. A Spanish Humour
  5. Will Said to His Mammy
  6. Hark! Hark! (No 10 in Musical Humors)
  7. Hark! Wot Ye What?
  8. My Complaining Is But Feigning
  9. The King of Denmarks Health
  10. On a Time in Summer Season
  11. Farewell, Fond Youth
  12. Lachrimae Pavan, for keyboard or lute (from 'Lachrimae')
  13. Grief of My Best Love's Absenting
  14. Giles Farnaby's Dream
  15. His Rest
  16. And Is It Night?
  17. Farnaby's Conceit
  18. His Humour
  19. Ite caldi sospiri (from 'A Musical Dreame')
  20. Intenerite voi
  21. Flow, my tears, fall from your springs, for 2 voices & lute (Second Book of Songs)
  22. In Darkness Let Me Dwell, madrigal

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 16, 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZLP
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,238,439 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

DUETS FROM 'A MUSICALL DREAME' (FOURTH BOOK OF AYRES,1609 BY ROBERT JONES, AND INSTRUMENTAL PIECES BY TOBIAS HUME, GILES FARNABY AND JOHN DOWLAND. Sublime musical expression does not necessarily proceed from serene spirits whose philosophical loftiness leaves them unmoved by the push and shove of the marketplace; prime examples could be made of many of the performers and writers today who begin in their preferred genre and end up giving in to the pressures of agents, producers etc. not because they want to, but because the financial picture requires it. Lucky are they who need not be concerned about such things.

Therefore, we must conclude that from their writings and their performances, it was the same in the time of our 17th century notables. The music of Jones, Dowland and and Hume often expressed the pressures of public opinion and changing fashions as well as their highly individual natures. Hume set out to prove that the Gamba could outdo the lute in every respect. Dowland asks why no one has come forth to defend the venerable name of the lute. Jone's specialty was rather the light air and the colourful image. However, at this safe distance of time, we can enjoy the musical diversity of a very creative period without having to take sides in the arguments.

The vocal selections are in the majority on this recording, so I'll list the titles of a few duets that I particularly enjoyed, and the two solos that each singer has: Duets: 'My Complaining Is But Feigning', 'Farewell, fond youth', 'In Darkness Let Me Dwell'. Chance sings alone:'Grief, of my best love's absenting' and 'Ite caldi sospiri'(loved that one). Cordier sings alone: 'And Is It Night' and 'Flow My Tears'. The songs cover all of our existing emotions, love, hate, anger, humour etc.
Read more ›
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This is a beautiful recording by two wonderful countertenors singing duets and solos by Robert Jones, intermingled with instrumental pieces featuring viol, harp and lute composed by Dowland, Farnaby, and Hume. I am wondering if this disc has somehow fallen through the cracks, seeing as it has received only one review and has no picture. I have owned and enjoyed this one for most of the 20 years since it was first issued. Perhaps this is part of a trend as it would seem that Jones's lute songs and madrigals have not been recorded as often as those of some of his contemporaries. This is really a lovely recording, and I believe anyone who enjoys Elizabethan songs would appreciate it. I wish I knew how to post a picture as the cover has the famous painting of the Elizabethan gentlemen reclining among trees that is so appropriate for this music.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: dennis chambers