Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Springsteen covers!
This is a set of some very cool Springsteen covers, with Bruce of course finishing the show by himself. Great stuf!! Quality of the blu-ray audio and video is also very high! We need more HD Springsteen blu-rays!
Published 5 months ago by Xavier Hacking

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was somewhat disappointed. There were too many of his more obscure songs performed, and not enough of his hits.Most of the performances I wouldn't watch twice, including some done by Bruce and the E Street Band.
Published 4 months ago by thomas g. krilich


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Springsteen covers!, March 29, 2014
By 
Xavier Hacking (Eindhoven, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This is a set of some very cool Springsteen covers, with Bruce of course finishing the show by himself. Great stuf!! Quality of the blu-ray audio and video is also very high! We need more HD Springsteen blu-rays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool charity tribute show! "Music is life." - Bruce, April 1, 2014
By 
Sheryl J. (Tuscaloosa, AL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Musicares Person of Year: Tribute to Bruce Springsteen (DVD)
Very cool show. Bruce is so cool ("it's kind of a freaky experience, the whole thing."). And Jon Stewart as host is perfect (he idolizes Bruce). There is so much good here.

My personal favorite performances are:

ALABAMA SHAKES - "Adam Raised a Cain"
MAVIS STAPLES and ZAC BROWN - "My City of Ruins"
TOM MORELLO and JIM JAMES - "The Ghost of Tom Joad" (Freakin' amazing!)
and all of the Bruce performances, of course. The Big Man, Clarence Clemons' nephew plays sax, btw. That's special.
Oh, and Bruce's speech was pretty damned entertaining too.

Springsteen fans need this in their collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tributes and Covers, April 4, 2014
By 
Jesse Jackson "Reader of Stuff" (Lewisville, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a great show and I'm so glad that they made it available for us fans. Several wonderful version of Bruce's songs, the Boss himself doing a few songs and we hear his wonderful acceptance speech. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining! Great covers of Bruce's hits!, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't sure if I would like this, as Bruce only performs at the end. There are great covers of his songs here, I really enjoyed watching the entire tribute concert. Awesome Blu-ray picture and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tribute to Bruce Springsteen, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musicares Person of Year: Tribute to Bruce Springsteen (DVD)
This DVD tribute to Springsteen met my expectations...of course it is not the same as Bruce performing his songs,but very interesting to listen to the performances by other musicians,most of them very successfull and beautiful.Also nice to see Bruce with family in the audience. As a bonus Bruce himself sings in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great lot of covers, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musicares Person of Year: Tribute to Bruce Springsteen (DVD)
Wow, I am a Springsteen fan and have all of his stuff (well not the bootlegs) and this tribute to his work is excellent. The last set by the Boss himself is still the best part but some of the treatments of his songs are exceptional (Legend is unreal).

What is really interesting is that lots of the artists are country artists which reinforces the breadth and depth of Bruce's audience and fans. Well worth buying just to hear his speech LOL. Give the man a guitar and he is a god, but as a public speaker it's a hoot.

Highly recommended for anyone who loves good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every minute of watching at any price, May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not always a fan of tributes but this one was well thought through. Some interpretations that truly open your eyes to the incredible strength of these songs apart from Bruce's performance. Bringing in several country players showed influences I wonder if he was even aware of. And John Legend knocked me out (once again not one of my "go to" guys although I always enjoy him. As usual John Stewart was spot on and kept it moving. Bruce and families reactions were wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This NOW!!, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 2013 tribute to Bruce Springsteen seems almost more revelant because of "High Hopes" today than last year. The performances are electric. Jackson Browne and Tom Morello performing "American Skin (41 shots), Morello's own performance of "the Ghost of Tom Joad" has evolved, there is a new ending that takes all the fire of previous performances and adds a slight variation to let the listener come down more gently. Neil Young and Crazy Horse burn down "Born in the USA", reminding us Crazy Horse can sing and Neil just goes off on his guitar like no one alive today can do! If you've ever liked anything from Bruce before this Tribute will greatly satisfy. Patti Smith's "Because the Nightl is worth it alone! Place your order now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent show, April 14, 2014
By 
John Palisano (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musicares Person of Year: Tribute to Bruce Springsteen (DVD)
This was much better than I thought it'd be. Usually, these sort of things fall flat and kind of uncomfortable. The performances are pretty damn good, and well-mixed. I especially loved 'I'm On Fire' which really was stark and beautiful in a different way than the original. The highlight, though, for me, was Bruce's fantastic speech, which was funny, irreverent, soulful, and completely inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it.., April 8, 2014
By 
Jo Moore (Parker, co USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a huge Springsteen fan. I honestly did not think any other singers could do justice to his work, but this proves me wrong. The songs were well matched to the singers, was very well done and topped off by having the Boss perform at the end; and to see him get honored with his wife, mother and daughter present was special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Musicares Person of Year: Tribute to Bruce Springsteen
$14.98 $13.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.