Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book I have ever owned, September 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is an absolute must have for musicians. It is a "how-to" manual for musicians. I STRONLY advice never signing any contract or enter into any deal, as a musician, until you have read this book!!!!! It has saved my @$&@ more than once. Whether you are just playing gigs at bars and clubs, recording at home, or trying to go big, this book can be used as a stand alone road map. I have been using the first edition since the early 90's and just decided to purchase the 4th. This version is even better than the first because now it has been updated for the digital age. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. One browse through its pages and you will quickly realize the gem you hold in you hands. I must sound like a spoke person for the book, but I really believe in its value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have this book, October 9, 2008
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
As an instructor of a Music Industry class at the University of Oregon, I highly recommend this book for the chapter on the recording contract alone. The publisher sent me a copy for consideration to use in class. While I currently use the Brabec book I do tell my students about the Biz and Legal Guide. Should I ever expand the class I will certainly require it. Meanwhile, I can at least give it a good review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the holy trinity of the music business books, December 11, 2009
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
One of the Holy Trinity of the music business books, along with This Business of Music and Donald Passman's Everything You...

If you buy nothing else, buy these 3 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every cent... including the overnight shipping fee!, November 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
I just received this book today, and I haven't been able to put it down. My brain is swelling with all of the amazing, and comprehensive information I've already taken in. My band is getting close to releasing our first album, and quite honestly, I wish I would have stumbled upon this book months ago so we'd have all of our "legal ducks in a row" before publishing. However, I'm still psyched to have it now. Great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book For Basic Information, September 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
The book is pretty much all-inclusive. It covers everything form fund-raising to copyrights and more. The attorney who wrote the book is apparently based in California because all of the examples of law are from there. Even so, the book is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick service, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Thank you for the speedy service. This was a little more worn than I was hoping. The add did say used. Unfortunately my instructor decided to use a different book. Still a good reference to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get into the music industry READ THIS BOOK, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
If you're interested at ALL in the music industry, this book tells you everything. Whether you're a rising artist or aspiring manager, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brand new!, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Just what I expected to receive. Got this book for my intro to music business class. Well worth it. Interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars music business, March 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This book helped me to get through my music business class. Not only that but i get now a more sense of this business in this industry. It is a book definitely worth keeping for later on down the road. It will help you also with titles such as contracts, whats on the contracts, what to discuss, what to sign, the artist/band royalties and so much more. This guide is the legit handbook to have to get you to where you want and need to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legal Text, March 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) (Paperback)
My music business legalities course is using this book as THE text book for class. Pretty detailed and gets into examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition)
Musician's Business & Legal Guide (4th Edition) by Mark Halloran Esquire (Paperback - February 18, 2007)
$49.60 $34.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.