Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opera for everyman
This MP3 download album from Amazon has to be one of the greatest bargains I've encountered. I didn't know what to expect since I hadn't downloaded any music yet for my Fire. It does take a while to download (I have 16mbps service, not too shoddy) but once it arrives you will be astonished at the range and quality of the offerings.

The majority are from second...
Published on August 29, 2012 by Ellie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much music - for little bank
Collection is fair selection of different genre within the opera world.

Richness of the mp3 music could have been better but this is for the price . . . way good.

The audiophile would pass . . . listening to in the car - sure, at home if you are into opera ( fill in ) - maybe, new to opera . . . good collection
Published 16 months ago by q256


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opera for everyman, August 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
This MP3 download album from Amazon has to be one of the greatest bargains I've encountered. I didn't know what to expect since I hadn't downloaded any music yet for my Fire. It does take a while to download (I have 16mbps service, not too shoddy) but once it arrives you will be astonished at the range and quality of the offerings.

The majority are from second and third tier European orchestras, choruses, and soloists. For example, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Austria, Germany, and England. Don't let it discourage you that these are not from the New York Philharmonic, Amsterdam, London, or Berlin orchestras. The orchestral, choral, and particularly the vocal soloists are excellent.

The choices from the classical repertoire were well chosen; many may be familiar and many are not but soon will be amongst your favorites. For those who are not hard core opera fans, this winnowing of the wheat from the chaff is a real blessing. You may be tempted to listen to the all the selections from beginning to end. I'll tell you straight on: there are a large number here including some your may want to hit the replay button on, so give yourself time to appreciate these.

The sound quality was quite good in general although since the venues were scattered all over Europe, there were differences. I believe I noticed a slight glitch at the beginning of one cut but I'll have to see if I notice it the next time I play through this very fine (and highly cost-effective) classical album. I think Amazon make a customer of me for their MP3 library.

RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a buy!!, June 19, 2012
By 
Dr. Webb (Clearwater, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Even if you are not an opera buff, you cannot go wrong with this wonderful selection of opera highlights. Most of the arias are ones that everyone recognizes. There are a few I did not care for, but I would say 90 out of the 100 are magnificent. Be wary though, after listening to this, you may get hooked on opera for good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music and terrific price, April 25, 2012
By 
Citizen Kane "Bob" (WORCESTER, MASSACHUSETTS, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Lots of recognizable favorites and you can't beat the price. Took me 10 minutes to download. I was somewhat concerned because of the amount of music but it went very fast.

Excellent value. I recommend it to anyone who likes operatic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much music - for little bank, July 15, 2013
By 
q256 "Richie" (Seattle, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Collection is fair selection of different genre within the opera world.

Richness of the mp3 music could have been better but this is for the price . . . way good.

The audiophile would pass . . . listening to in the car - sure, at home if you are into opera ( fill in ) - maybe, new to opera . . . good collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too fragmented, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Not the best quality or editing for my liking, it would be ok for background music where sound quality does not matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music for extremely low price!, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Beautiful selection and great performance. I am a music lover, but I would not say a connoisseur. I have enjoyed this selection greatly. The only problem is that the titles/artist does not identify the composer, only the performing artist. So when I want to know what I am hearing sometimes i have to google it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH THE PRICE, March 15, 2014
By 
JJY (Jacksonville, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
Nice collection. Excellent to read, study or do nothing by. Don't agree on the sound quality with some other listeners. Perfect for the money. Recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely arias, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
There is some really wonderful music in this collection. The singers aren't the familiar names you are used to, but they do a good job. You might expect a few better notes from the sopranos, but the music is still there. All in all, I recommend this album for value as the price is miniscule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music Great value, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
A great mix, and incredible value. We need more people of all ages to listen to this music. You can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice overview!, January 13, 2014
By 
Chuck Larsen (BLANCHARD, OK, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Must-Have Opera Highlights (MP3 Music)
This is a very nice collection and a great bargain! A former musician, I've been a borderline opera fan for years and found this looking for the Pavarotti set. I read some reviewers saying things like these are not "top-tier" artists and orchestras but, thankfully, I ignored them and ordered it. It's a nice, balanced collection of arias, choral work and instrumental pieces. Real opera buffs may pooh-pooh this set, but for the average fan or neophyte, it's outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

100 Must-Have Opera Highlights
Buy MP3 Album$3.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.