Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 7, 2001
Rammstein is back!!! Those insane, Teutonic, metal-spewing, fire engulfed Germans are back and with quite a bang!!! This cd is definitely a change of sound for the Industrial Metal band that made it big in the states a few years back with Sehnsucht (their second album). Rammstein, in Mutter, shows their audience that they can really put forth the goods and not be repetitive, as most metal bands are.
Peppering Mutter with a large dose of orchestral influence blended with eerily voiced lyrics and a healthy dose of grinding guitars, creepy samples, and superbly formatted songs, the group from East Germany manages to step up in their creative ladder and form a refreshing sound that brings memories of their past albums but does not become a stereotypical cd.
In this album Rammstein address the public/critics' views of their music in the song Links 234 (the critics once accused Rammstein of Nazism, this is their cleverly disguised retraction to the false claims). Gothic, classical influence is pleasantly explored in Sonne(Sun) and Nebel(Fog)to extremely good results. A sense of fantastical horror is meticulously threaded in the tunes, Mein Herz Brennt(My Heart Burns) and Spieluhr(Music Box)which, in my personal opinion are the paragon of the album. Fast metal, with a new and crunching melody, can be found in fascinating Zwitter(Hermaphrodite), Rein Raus(In Out), Adios(a very successful punk sound is played out here), Feur Frei(Fire!!), and the incomparable Ich Will(I Want). A very dramatic mode of metal is accomplished in the title track Mutter(Mother) which seeps with sorrow and a heavy pessimism but also has a very important message behind it.
Overall this album proves Rammstein's most intriguing work as the band delves into musical lands they had yet to uncover and do so with no failure. Fans of the past will find the album refreshing and most astounding. Newcomers will discover Rammstein as no one has ever seen them before, fully matured in their music and at their height(so far, at least) of their talent. Mutter has been waited for for nearly four years and Rammstein did not fail their fans in delivering the goods. A definite MUST BUY!! Even for those who are not particularily partial to German music this proves to be an album on which to make an exception. Fantastic, overwhelming, and spellbinding, don't miss it!!!
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2001
Garnering some national attention after their song "Heirate Mich" appeared on the soundtrack for David Lynch's "Lost Highway", the German outfit Rammstein has sold well in the States, despite the lyrics being exclusively in German. The intense guitar riffs of songs like "Buck Dich" and "Engel" served to be popular, and the video for "Du Hast" even got some MTV airplay. Rammstein seemed poised to break into the American market big time.
And with their latest album, Mutter, they have done everything right. Containing their powerful, trademark guitar as well as more diverse music and lyrics, this is Rammstein's best album by far. A few songs contain a string orchestra, and Till Lindeman does more singing than his previous gutteral growls. Fans of their previous albums (Herzeleid and Sehnsucht) will feel right at home with "Mein Herz Brennt", the single "Sonne", and "Feuer Frei!" -- these licks are as exhilirating as anything they've done. However, the songs are not reliant on the guitars, as the orchestral arrangements and further use of electronics contribute more mood to the songs. This musical experimentation is a rousing success -- another step that's not too ambitious, but just right.
Lyrically, Mutter is incredible. A great album just based on the music, when the songs' meanings are discovered, it becomes one of the best albums of the year. Rammstein fans should do themselves a favor and get a German/English dictionary -- you'll gain new respect for these guys. The lyrics are just as diverse as the music: the creeping evil of "Mein Herz Brennt" (one of Rammstein's best songs ever), the Apocalyptic imagery of "Sonne", the eerie and haunting "Spieluhr" and "Nebel." And in case you were wondering, yes, the sexually deviant content is here as well: the hilarious "Zwitter" ("Hermaphrodite" -- trust me, it's a riot) and "Rein Raus".
Rammstein's Mutter deserves to be a huge hit. Perhaps a song in English would have been welcome to further their exposure, and an album with such fantastic music just cries out for an instrumental track or two, but despite this, Mutter is by far the most accomplished, diverse, and powerful album by Rammstein to date.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2002
In Mutter, Rammstein breaks away from the almost one-dimensional onslaught of their previous albums to create a powerful, diverse album of exceptional musical quality.
The opening track, Mein Herz Brennt, is a ripper. The lyrics speak of demons, ghosts and black faeries creeping through children's bedrooms and is backed up by a powerful melody that just blows you away once it gets into full swing.
Almost every track on the album from here on features something that makes it memorable. Just a little change in pace here, a little change in melody there, some powerful chorus sections on most and you soon find this album growing on you every time you listen to it.
Tracks like Links 234, Feuer Frei and Rein Raus will satisfy fans of Rammstein's pacy metal style used in their previous albums, while Sonne, Zwitter, Ich Will and the foot-stomping head-banging delight that is Adios oozes with a classy assembly and finish that are often lacking in this genre of music.
Rammstein also shows a gentler side with the tracks Mutter and Nebel, slower paced but no less brilliant.
For me the best song on the album has to be Spieluhr though. Superb, yet eerie lyrics talk about a child being buried alive by accident with a music box in his/her hands. The chorus is fantastic, just about the catchiest thing I've heard in any form of music in a long time, and the whole song is just brilliantly put together like all the other tracks on this album.
To summarize:
Best tracks: Mein Herz Brennt, Sonne, Spieluhr, Adios
Worst track: Rein Raus, if you have to push me for one
Mutter as an album delivers an incredible musical experience and every song deserves its place on the album - no fillers here. The deep, thundering sound demands a pair of decent speakers - turn up the volume and prepare to hear the windows rattle.
Rammstein is a band on the rise, that's for sure. The mere fact that they broke away from their one dimensional metalish sound on the previous two albums and ventured into a smarter, more orchestral and melodic, yet still pleasurably hard and heavy sound (yep, the parents will definitely worry about you if they find you listening to this lot in a dark room!) for Mutter shows us that this is a band with massive potential. I can't wait to hear their next effort - hopefully they stick to German. Rammstein in English just won't be the same.
Check out [URL] for English translations of the German lyrics.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Proving that even the heaviest anthems can drift into mainstream circulation with the proper mixture of video elements, technotronic outletting, and a need to set things ablaze, Rammstein managed an exorbitant amount success with their last outing, Sehnsucht. This wasn't without reason, either, because the performance was solid, reading like a book of anthems in a language I find myself struggling to dissect because my understanding of German isn't what it once was. Still, Mutter goes father into both the industrial spectrum and the more driven side of music as well, adding both the splendor of the beautiful into works where you wouldn't normally expect them as well as providing the pulsating hammer to drive their works further and faster.
The album begins with the spoken word piece, "Mein Herz Brennt," giving one the impression that perhaps this album will lead into more tamed pastures before the heavier, pulsating sounds of "Links 2 3 4," introduces the listener to what would be a fairer assessment of what to expect next. Other things are to the fray later, such as the beautiful sounds of the chorus in "Sonne 4," combining a strangely angelic sing-a-long into the background at uneven intervals, or the ballad-rich tempo of "Mutter," holding the attention well as the wheels of the industrial machine grinds on. This, combined with the terminal beat that infects the album, keeps it pressing forward in ways that throw interesting entanglements of sound effects, heavily crafted guitars, and beats into a dance-rich German barrage.
If you've yet to check into Rammstein, perhaps this wouldn't be the first album to start with, but it would definitely be something worthy of acquiring along with their last release. Both are enjoyable in their own right and give one an idea of the progression the band has undertaken on its road to stardom, not to mention how a pyromaniac German band continues on the road to success.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2004
I do not know where to start. There is not a single bad track on the entire album.
The first thing you will notice when you listen to Rammstein's "Mutter" is the outstanding musical discipline used to achieve an incredibly "tight" and ammaculate sound.
Mutter is also very melodic. Every song has a definable theme, rather than just a messy sounding jumble of guitars, bass, keyboard and drums.
I might also mention that this is Rammstein's first album to include orchestral strings sections.
[1]MEIN HERZ BRENNT (My Heart Burns): What an opening. The strings provide a deeply cinematic feel, as lead singer Till Lindemann opens with "Nun lieber Kinder, gebt fein acht", translating to "Now dear children, pay attention...". The strings deeper sections come in before bursting into guitars and drums, while the strings, still playing, perform an series of fast scales, coinciding with Rammstein's familiar industrial-sound. This contrast works remarkably well.
[2] LINKS 2 3 4 (Left 2 3 4): The political song of the album, contradicting claims that the are supporters of the Right Wing, or Nazism (The title represents a march). The guitars provide a surprisingly catchy theme and, in my opinion, is one of the most energetic songs on the album.
[3] SONNE (Sun): Rammstein created a guitar riff with this song that always makes me think "why hasn't this been done before?" A beautiful sampling of a wailing choir is heard towards the end, as "the world counts loudly to ten...", and the strong vocals emphasize the song just that much more. Wow.
[4]: ICH WILL (I Want): The song that got me into Rammstein. Within 20 seconds of hearing this song, I decided to buy all their albums! And I am very picky about music! Prior to hearing this, only classical was for me. The guitars and keyboard work together producing a monstrous, but obviously melodic sound.
[5]: FEUER FREI! (Open Fire!): Ok, a calm synth sound. Sounds quie nice I suppose, then, holy crap, KA-BOOM! The guitars, bass and keyboard hit you so fast, you really need to be aware of when it will arrive! Im my opinion, the "messiest" song of the album, but even so retains it's clean and "compact" sound.
[6]: MUTTER (Mother): The album song. Beautiful, anthem like guitar theme, different from any other song on the album. This song, like Mein Herz Brennt, includes the orchestra and creates a very powerful song. Right towards the end of the sogn Till's voice fades in before hitting the final chorus and ending with "Mother! Oh give me strength".
[7]: SPIELUHR (Music box): A very story-like song. Opens with just Till's voice. One can visualise him reciting a fairy-tale to children. An awesome chorus, very expansive-sounding. Also includes another odd combination of guitars and music box and sounds really, quite wonderful.
[8]: ZWITTER (Hermaphrodite): Now we reach the more sinister of songs. This song has one of my favourite choruses and has downright hilarious lyrics. I suggest you check them out!
[9]: REIN RAUS (In Out): As can be guessed by the ever-so-subtle title, this is a song about sex. Understandably, people might be turned off by this, yet I find the composition so damn awesome! Right towards the end a frentic keyboard section flies up and down various scales performing loops and such creating a bizarre "circus effect"! Just perfect!
[10]: ADIOS (Goodbye): Yes, this is Spanish and was dedicated to a drug addict (I forget his name). Great guitar solo (I'm using these "great" adjectives a lot, I know...), and great chorus. Great great great!
[11]: NEBEL (Mist): Quite possibly my favourite song of all time. If you get the chance to hear this, please excuse the rather slow introduction and give it a chance. The song is about a man's last few moments with the girl he loves before she passes away. Set on a beach, the chorus sings "And then he kissed her, where the sea ends...". Don't mistake this for another cheesy pop song, please.
After the first few verses, the drums come in, as though you are expecting the guitars. Instead, what you get is lush, astonishingly beautiful strings flooding everything out. A cymbal clash concludes the string's part and back to the verse. If the chorus doesn't move you, the concluding words to the song will, as the it ends amidst a dissonant clash of strings and keyboard, and then resting on a long orchestral note. It ends, just as it begin. Beautifully.
So there you have it. Any industrial metal band that can successfully pull off a romantic song without being cheesy is a worthy band. And that is Rammstein.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2001
Since Herzeleid hit the shelves I was hooked on the heavy hitting sound of Rammstein. I've been waiting for this release for a while now and here are some of my thoughts.
Mutter is a very sophisticated album. It's well balanced in terms of sound, meaning that it's not 100% hardcore all the way thru. Some tracks like "Links 234" are very hard hitting and is the kind of stuff you'd expect from Rammstein. Then there's others like "Mein Herz Brennt" that includes a symphony-like sound, adding an incredible depth and sadness to the track while keeping the gutiar crunch and metal sound mixed in very well.
There is so much depth to this album! Which is partly due to the keyboardist who adds the right sound effect/synth at exactly the right time. The guitar riffs are mostly different as well, which adds to the freshness of Mutter. The lyrics are alot more heartfelt and poetic then the previous albums. However, "Zwitter" (poking fun at hermaphodites funny as hell, go read the english lyrics) is pretty much the only track that's kind of sick if taken liturally.
"Feuer Frei!" isn't as bad of a track as some make it sound. It's fast, heavy and hard. I had the volume turned up pretty high by the time I got to this track and i nearly swerved off the road while driving because it started out soft, and then all of a sudden there was a guitar/drum punch and it scared the Stufing out of me!
Every track is great and I am fully satisfied with Mutter. However if your looking for 100% Hardcore all the way thru, you might be just a LITTLE bit (and i mean a little) disappointed. "Nobel" for instance is pretty much a laid back track which might not appease you. The rest aren't nearly as slow as this one is.
Along with many of the commenters, I agree Rammstien has matured greatly with Mutter. It's very refined and extremely well exacuted, maintaining their practically trademarked sound and yet blowing a big gust of fresh air to your ears.
I can't pick a favorite song, mainly because I like them all. The tracks fit together like a puzzle to create a wonderful album.
In short: it's DEFINATELY worth the money, It has growh in sound yet still the same Rammstein you've always known, lyrically superior then their previous albums, and it's very well mixed and great in sound. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2003
I've been a fan of Rammstein since I first hear "Heirete Mich" and "Rammstein" on David Lynch's Lost Highway soundtrack. After Sehnsucht, I'd been waiting a long time for some new Rammstein material, and Mutter doesn't disappoint. It starts out quite surprisingly with "Mein Herz Brennt," which begins with a short spoken word intro and breaks into a soaring chorus, complete with a majestic string section. When I first heard the strings, I was shocked in a good way. Rammstein has grown a lot from the aggro industrial metal of Herzeleid, and the new album features a lot of slower tempos, as well as some much more standard fast paced Rammstein tunes.
After "Mein Herz Brennt" is "Links 234," a song that is a lot more in line with the first two albums. It's faster and more of a fist pumping anthem along the lines of "Asche zu Asche" and "Bück Dich." After that is "Sonne," a song that is quite heavy but with a riff that plays out in a slower, more satisfying pace. "Ich Will" shows a strong industrial edge to it, almost bordering on techno, after which they once again return to their roots on "Feuer Frei!," probably the heaviest of the songs on the disc.
The title track, "Mutter" is a soaring and epic song, and it is also one of the best they're ever recorded and quite possibly the highlight of the album. "Spieluhr" is a bit of a strange song, also starting with a short spoken word section, and featuring a strong bass line that carries the song and children singing in the chorus. After this comes "Zwitter" and "Rein Raus," two songs that return to the strange lyrical style of songs like "Weisses Fleisch" and "Klavier." "Zwitter" truly is hilarious if you have a working knowledge of German or find a translation. "Adios" still often takes me by surprise when I listen to it, starting out very quietly and serenely and exploding into an almost thrash metal like riff. The album ends with "Nebel," a ballad that is simply beautiful.
There isn't a weak song on the entire disc, and only the most aggro Rammstein fans won't love it. It's a perfect addition to any industrial fan's music collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2001
This album is excellent. It has all the elements of a great CD. Musically it is very well organized and textured. Lyrically, it is wonderful even though it is also in German. They have dropped the crude subject matter of before with the exception of zwitter which pokes fun at homosexuals which would offend homosexuals much more than eminem because it is much funnier; whereas eminem is just plain stupid. The lyrics of the other songs are pure poetry. No, I am not talking about the "i'm lonely and my parents hate me poetry" of american rock bands like godsmack and cold. This has style and beauty. Let me give a review of each song with a rating on a scale of 4.
Mein Hertz Brennt (My heart burns)-4/4-fun to listen to. violin arrangements and a nice beat accompanying the melody.
Links 2 3 4 (left 2 3 4) -3.5/4- An amazing industrial-metal song. Reminds me of KMFDM. Awesome riff.
Sonne (sun)-4/4-Melodic song with Till Lindemann going from an angry voice to a powerful melodic voice in the chorus. It also uses a cool sample of a female voice singing.
Ich Will (i want)-3/4-Typical Rammstein song with a strong edge and good angry vocals.
Feuer Frei (fire!)-4/4-Heavy, violent, tough song. enough said.
Mutter(mother) - 4/4-A song about the singer's mother. Heartfelt and powerful.
Spieluhr(game of time)4/4-Gloomy feel and good music.
Zwitter(hermaphrodite)-4/4-Awesome riff and funny lyrics make this a winning song.
Rein Raus-2.5/4-I forgot what the lyrics were about and what the song title was in english. This is a decent song, but doesnt stand out among the other great songs on here.
Adios (spanish for 'bye)-2/4-Most generic song on the cd. It still rocks though.
Nebel(fog)-4/4-Great closing track!!!!!!!!!!
This album is a masterpiece. No songs are bad and every time I listen to it I listen to the whole thing. I strongly advise you to buy it now.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2006
I've listened to alot of music in my time, I listen to everything from Led Zeppelin to Korn to Nightwish and I can safely say that this is one of the best albums ever. I can name 2 or 3 that can even compete with it and none that clearly beat it. Unlike other Rammstein albums, this album has no weak track and it never EVER gets old.

1. Mein Herz Brennt (10/10) A great starting song with an epic chorus filled with string effects. Rammsteins first use of strings is amazing and gives the song a great dynamic. Rammstein lets the listener know immedeately that this album is amazing.

2. Links 234 (9/10) A catchy song with cool guitar that has important lyrics. Alot of people accuse Rammstein of being Nazis (only because they are German and ignorant people cant comprehend that all Germans arent Nazis) This song is a cleverly concealed message to those people.

3. Sonne (11/10) Best song on the album. The chorus to this song is among the best choruses in music and the riff will be stuck in your head for days. The female voice at the end is actually a keyboard but it sounds beautiful none the less. Incredible song.

4. Ich will (11/10) Another amazing song. The chorus, like Sonne, is unreal and will be stuck in your head forever. It also has a great bridge section that really builds up to the epic final chorus. Probably the best concert song ever.

5. Feuer frei! (9/10) This song is seen in XXX and helped Rammstein gain popularity. Its a pretty simple song with crunching riffs and a catchy chorus. Very heavy.

6. Mutter (11/10) This song is a power ballad, and probably the best I've ever heard. Till's emotion when singing this song is one of a kind. The bridge section is amazing and the guitar is great. This is a classic.

7. Spieluhr (9.5/10) A fun song with an awesome chorus featuring a robot voice. The music box keyboarding sounds and awesome and adds a great dynamic. The most underrated song on the album.

8. Zwitter (9/10) A funny song with an annoyingly catchy chorus. A German person probably wouldn't sing this song aloud...Just a fun song overall.

9. Rein raus (9/10) A heavy song with pretty good instrumental work. Another song a German person wouldn't sing aloud. The ending is great.

10. Adios (9.5/10) Rammstein does punk. This is a fast song with catchy guitar and great drumming. Someone who reviewed it called it a slow song, obviously they didn't listen to it. Awesome chorus.

11. Nebel (10/10) Very slow song that starts off kind of boring buts so strongly it gets a 10. The chorus of this song is amazing and the keyboard work is superlative. Good ending
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2001
Mutter, the German group Rammstein's third studio release, is a good and energetic piece of music. Released in 2001, the album features a total of 11 tracks. The disc is in an industrial metal musical direction. I find every one of the cuts to be listenable. Overall, the musicianship is taut, the songwriting is good, and the sound quality is tight and succulent. I enjoy Till Lindemann's vocal delivery throughout; I like it when he rolls his R's. Some of the songs also have string arrangements and female backing vocals. "Links 2 3 4," "Feuer Frei!" and "Rein Raus" are examples of tunes that I like. The rousing, hard-driving "Links 2 3 4," my favorite song, features an interesting intro of marching feet and a cool main guitar riff. The punchy "Feuer Frei!" sports a surprising intro and a brisk guitar riff. The relentless "Rein Raus" contains aggressive, crunchy guitar work. "Sonne" displays monstrous-sounding rhythm guitar playing along with attractive female background vocals. The vigorous "Ich Will" also exhibits nice female backing vocals. I enjoy the machine-like rhythm guitar work of "Spieluhr." I like the fact that Rammstein chooses to sing in German. The CD booklet includes the song lyrics--they're only in German--and an individual color photo of each member of the band. The CD is just over 45 minutes. Dieses Album ist gut (This album is good).
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.