Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mutual Funds For Dummies, 5th edition
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 14, 2009
This is a great resource for those wanting to know more ABOUT mutual funds, not for those wanting to know WHICH mutual funds to buy. Heavy on the explanations, definitions, and categorizations; light on the criticism and praise of individual funds. While you do get a bit of "how to pick the right funds", it is all fairly basic, with nothing very stunning or surprising that will make you a better mutual fund-picker.

For what it is, this is a great book. Clearly written, with only the right amount of detail and very little repetitive content. At times it can be a bit wordy, making this book a bit longer than it really needs to be, but overall it is an easy read with an index and table of contents that will help you find pertinent information quickly.

So, if you want to learn more about mutual funds, how they work, ect., this book is for you. If you already feel like you have a good understanding of what they are and how they work, there isn't probably too much you'll learn from reading this fairly long book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2007
Eric Tyson does an excellent job providing the basics and then going into more detail about how to develop an appropriate portfolio. Beware however of the book's apparent bias towards Vanguard. I personally have a bias as well towards Vanguard but in some ways his criticisms of other brokerages are unfair and he pushes vanguard at times that seem inappropriate. Overall a fantastic book however.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2008
I wish I had this book 10 years ago. It tells you how to find out the hidden cost of mutual funds, how to select funds, how to evaluate your funds...etc. Many useful and practical tips. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2008
I cannot say enough good things about this book. After reading it, I feel confident about my ability to select, understand, and evaluate Mutual Funds -- and how to manage my portfolio and overall finances. The book not only gives you an in-depth yet simple description of different kinds of mutual funds, it also helps you understand what investments are suitable for your specific situation and how your portfolio should change over time.

This is a book that should become a part of high school curricula. The country would be better for it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
I don't usually find the Dummies books that useful but this one is an exception. It turns out I have been basing my investments on all the wrong information. This book answers questions about expenses, capital gains, taxes, etc...It would be an excellent gift for someone just beginning to invest; I wish I had read it ten years ago.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2008
Eric does a good job of a broad view of the particular subject matter at hand. My only issue is that the books are highly overlapping. A structure with the original book on personal finance with additional chapters on subtopics would likely have avoided all the duplication.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2007
Mutual Funds for Dummies is " the" book to own if you could only choose one book on mutual funds. It is complete with information on stocks, bonds, and money market funds. This book goes beyond most other books in that it not only educates on investment decisions, it also provides information on tax considerations when taking distributions. The tax information alone is well worth the price of the book. This book gets my highest recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Have only had a short time to study it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2008
This is a wonderful book for anyone wanting to know more about investing their money and managing finances. I believe it is a wonderful gift for teenagers and college students as most of us do not learn these things in grade school. It's an easy read and can be used as a reference when the young adult starts making their own income and has questions on what to do with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2009
This was a great overview of mutual funds with specific recommendations for which funds to buy for what purposes and time frames. Definitely a good buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.