Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: My Blue Heaven
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2004
For the movie critics and other people who criticized Steve Martin for a "spoofy" portrayal of an Italian mobster.......that was the point! (hahaha) Anybody knows, if you want a "real" portrayal, you get De Niro or Pacino. This movie was meant to be cheesy and that's what makes it laugh out loud funny. I watched this movie years ago and it just made me laugh so much. The Mambo dance scenes alone are worth the cost. I do have to agree with a fellow review writer -- the DVD holds no extras, at all. I would have loved to have seen some outtakes. Still, at least I can play my favorite scenes over and over.
11 comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2005
Often judged as one of Steve Martin's weaker efforts, it is in my honest opinion that his 1990 vehicle "My Blue Heaven" ranks right up there with "The Jerk", "Father Of The Bride" and "Parenthood" as one of Steve Martin's best movies. With a great cast and crisp writing, it holds its owns with those oter comedy classics.

Vincent Antonelli (Martin) is a New York City gangster. He's tough, handsome and feared. However, when he witnesses a murder, he is put into the San Francisco division of the FBI's Witness Protection Program under the care of Agent Barney Coopersmith (Rick Moranis). Despite trying to hide his identity, Vinny can't help but stick his nose into trouble. This angers Barney as well as idealistic District Attorney Hannah Stubbs (Joan Cusack, cast to type once again), who clashes with Barney over how Vinnie's criminal offences should be handled. But soon, the rough edges are smoothed out. Vinnie and Barney become friends, and Barney and Hannah become an item. But the mob is after them, and a series of events leads for this happy picture to be smeared. It all leads up to a great conclusion.

"My Blue Heaven" is a hilarious film that belongs in anybody's dvd collection. Recommended.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2002
Okay, so I sinned and purchased a film that isn't anamorphic, heck this DVD isn't even widescreen! But it didn't cost much more than the VHS tape. Unfortunately there aren't any extras on the disc, behold why so inexpensive, and the picture and sound quality make me wonder if I would have been just as well off purchasing the VHS version. The only problem would be that I don't pop in my VHS movies any more. This movie is very funny. Steve Martin plays a great italian mobster and Rick Morranis plays the perfect boring federal agent. If you don't find yourself quoting this movie then either you're too serious, or I'm too easily amused. The movie is a 4 star movie, if only this movie could get a quality DVD transfer some day.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 1998
Steve Martin is one of the worlds best known comics, and this is perhaps his best roll so far. The story is about Vinni, aka Todd Wilkensen, (Martin), a New York City gangster enrolled in the witness protection program. He is sent to a yuppy town near San Diego called Fryberg. The FBI agent (Rick Moranis) assigned to look after him is a systematic, recently dumped man named Barney. It isn't easy to break old habits, and so Vinni gets involved in any crime that he can, and always trying to talk his way out of persecution from the local D.A. (Joan Cussak). This is an incredibly funny movie that shows the difference between New Yorkers and the yuppies of Fryberg. This humor is characterized by a grocrey clerk saying "Have a nice day," and Vinni returing with "F*** you." The humor is smart and quick, all topped off by great acting from Martin, Moranis, and Cussak.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2006
My Blue Heaven is a movie I enjoyed as a kid (when my parents rented it) and have introduced to many of my friends in the ensuing years. If only comedy was still this good! Despite it's PG-13 rating, this movie is truly tam(er) compared to today's top-grossing comedy titles, and it still packs laugh after laugh.

There's no need for a detailed plot summary--Steve Martin is a NY Italian mafia member turned federal witness, so he's undercover in suburban San Diego with Rick Moranis as his straight-edge FBI babysitter (the man has a system for everything, including the eating of pancakes). Martin's monologues and pontifications and brilliant excuses for his petty thefts are worth the price of admission alone. Martin's mafia-cool influence on the nerdy Moranis is also absolutely priceless, full of laughs through-and-through. Joan Cusak gives an excellent performance as the uptight local DA (complete with Army shoes) who butts heads with Martin's petty crimes again and again.

Don't miss out on one of the most underrated and delicious comedy flicks of the 1980's (okay, so it did come out in 1990, but it rings 80's comedy all throughout). The DVD is certainly priced right!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 1999
The setting of Steve Martin as an ex New York gangster turned states evidence for the government is great. His accent, body language,haircut, and style are hilarious from the first screen. The dance routine in New York, and the "get rid of those shoes" scene will make you laugh to tears. This is one of Steve's best performances and was his least known movie among our friends. This is one you can pull out to entertain with almost every time and find that they haven't seen it before.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2000
My Blue Heaven is a classic. I've been watching it for years, and for some reason the jokes don't get old, the movie doesn't get boring, the only bad thing that happens is the video wears out. This is simply one of the best, funniest, most watchable movie ever. Go out of your way to see this one.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2001
My Blue Heaven is a joy! We're not looking for a heavy serious movie here--this is light, it's funny, it's stereotypical but you can tell the actors are having a lot of fun with it. Steve Martin shines as Vinnie, the cool gangster with a heart of gold. Joan Cusack and Rick Moranis give us performances that are so enjoyable to watch because they are enjoying them so much. Don't miss the dance scenes - they'll get you up and moving! By the way, anyone know where to get the soundtrack?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2004
Hillarious!! Steve Martin and Rick Moranis, what a pair! Not many people realize that in some movies, the fact that they aren't even close to what their character is supposed to be like is supposed to happen. The acting is wonderfull, the script, excellent, and everything just runs together nicely.
This movie is awesome, and if you don't start quoteing the movie, well, everyone thinks they have a sense of humor, even those who dont. You should watch it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2002
I consider 'My Blue Heaven' and 'Dirty Rotten Scoundrels' to be Steve Martin's finest. It's fine comedy without any slapsticks.
However, the DVD version is rather disappointing. It is NOT widescreen, and there're no extras to speak of. The transfer quality is decent, but that's about the only thing makes the DVD better than VHS.
4.5 for the movie, 1.5 for the DVD, that makes it 3 overall.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.