Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
My Daughter, My Teacher: ... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear. FREE SHIPPING w/AMAZON PRIME!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Daughter, My Teacher: Mary Ann, Autistic in English and Spanish Paperback – May 10, 2010

5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.95
$10.00 $0.01

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
"When Breath Becomes Air" by Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question - What makes a life worth living? Learn more | See related books
$14.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: iUniverse (May 10, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1450229166
  • ISBN-13: 978-1450229166
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.4 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,683,301 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
In 1969, Dr. Edwin W. Martin, who had been active in the civil rights movement when he was on the faculty of the University of Alabama, was appointed Director of the Bureau of Education for the Handicapped, in the U.S. Office of Education. He offered me a position as a special assistant. I thanked him, but said that I was not interested in special education. He replied that "all education should be special," and that he was going to make special education the next civil rights issue of our time, and that I could lead the charge. He had already begun to put together a national, public service campaign, called CLOSER LOOK (the message was, "if you are worried that your child may have a disability, we have information that can help. Write CLOSER LOOK"), and a national information center to respond to the mail. Within two years, we discovered that a mail-order response was not enough: parents did not always know what was wrong with their children, and so, asked the wrong questions; parents often needed counseling; they had very limited knowledge of what they could do, themselves, to help teach their children, or even to play with them (in fact, Eunice Shriver developed a learning package to address this very problem "Play to Grow"). Parents had financial and marital problems (at this time there were no public school services and no requirements for government to provide, even limited, financial support. Many fathers walked away, leaving single mothers with children, who needed a lot); school systems rejected children with special needs, and some school administrators said they would have to curtail sports,etc., if they were forced to provide services to prohibitively expensive children.

We decided to pilot live, walk-in parent information centers. Dr.
Read more ›
1 Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book should be in every library that considers the human experience. It is a story of family. Its versatile - It could be a few evenings or days of pleasure reading or a meaningful textbook in a social sciences course. Well paced and holds your interest until the end. Well, that's not quite true as you want more once you reach the last page! Hope there is a follow up book in the works!
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
My Daughter, My Teacher: Mary Ann, Autistic in English and Spanish
This item: My Daughter, My Teacher: Mary Ann, Autistic in English and Spanish
Price: $14.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com