Customer Reviews


850 Reviews
5 star:
 (663)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


556 of 576 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How do you do? And which DVD version to buy ...
MFL is a marvellous film about a professor who turns a common flower girl into a lady. It is full of sing-a-long songs and funny moments. It is basically a classic for all the right reasons! Plenty of re-watch factor makes it a film to own.

In 1994, the film was restored and thank the lord they did! The film's negative was almost lost forever. In fact, the...
Published on July 12, 2004 by William

versus
215 of 224 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is Not "Fair" at all.
I was suspicious from the beginning that a film of this import was being slipped onto the blu-ray market with little to no fanfare. I read the other reviews on Amazon criticizing the transfer from the restored 1994 DVD, and dismissed the manufacturing complaints (blurred, foggy picture around the edges) as probably owing to faulty equipment. I was foolish. The disc is a...
Published on November 18, 2011 by D. Hartman


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

556 of 576 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How do you do? And which DVD version to buy ..., July 12, 2004
By 
MFL is a marvellous film about a professor who turns a common flower girl into a lady. It is full of sing-a-long songs and funny moments. It is basically a classic for all the right reasons! Plenty of re-watch factor makes it a film to own.

In 1994, the film was restored and thank the lord they did! The film's negative was almost lost forever. In fact, the film had become yellow-tinged and full of scratches, blotches and all the rest! It would have been a very sad day for the movie industry if a flim like this had been lost.

The original DVD that featured this new restoration was released in the late 90's. This DVD included a 9 minute featurette, actor profiles, audio commentary, and Audrey Hepburn singing in 2 scenes.

This original 1-disc DVD has since been updated to a special 2-Disc Edition. Which one to get? I have both so I feel qualified to answer this. The new DVD includes all the features found on the original DVD, except the actor profiles. The new DVD once again includes the restored print but is apparently a new transfer from the restored print. However, according to a report that I have read, the new transfer is not perfect and has aliasing problems throughout. The average watcher probably won't pick up on this detail. If this is an issue to you, purchase the original edition DVD where the transfer has been given two thumbs up!

The advantage of the special 2-Disc Edition DVD is that it includes a 58 minute 1994 documentary hosted by Jeremy Brett (Audrey's love interest in the film). Jeremy is no longer with us, so it's nice to have this as a piece of nostalgia. On top of this, there are many more features on this disc that aren't included on the original DVD such as footage from the film's premiere, production dinner, as well as discussions with Rex and Audrey.

The choice is easy. If you're a fan of the film and don't care for all the extras, buy the original DVD. You at least get the best transfer. If you do care about having all the extras, buy both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


215 of 224 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is Not "Fair" at all., November 18, 2011
By 
D. Hartman (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was suspicious from the beginning that a film of this import was being slipped onto the blu-ray market with little to no fanfare. I read the other reviews on Amazon criticizing the transfer from the restored 1994 DVD, and dismissed the manufacturing complaints (blurred, foggy picture around the edges) as probably owing to faulty equipment. I was foolish. The disc is a mess.

From the moment the credits begin to roll, it is apparent something is not right. The gorgeous background flowers are grainy and in questionable focus, and there is indeed fog around the edge of the picture in the opening outdoor scenes. Then the fog follows the action indoors and never leaves.

Every once in a while there is a scene without fog and in crystal clear resolution. Those moments are dazzling, and it makes you realize what the film might have looked like. But it is very apparent that not only are there serious transfer issues with the disc, but also serious manufacturing problems as well.

Stay AWAY from this blu-ray, and complain bitterly to CBS for their shoddy work on this less than fair lady!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY POOR BLU-RAY EDITION OF MY FAIR LADY, November 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just watched the Blu-ray edition of My Fair Lady on a 60" HDTV. It looked horrible. Out of focus around the edges, with a disturbing color shift. I then watched part of the film on a twelve-foot wide screen, with a HD video projector providing the image--the same disappointing result--even worse with the larger image. This is an extremely poor transfer of Warner's crown jewel. IT IS SO SAD THAT THE RIGHTS BELONG TO CBS, WHO OBVIOUSLY DID NOT CARE ABOUT THE TRANSFER OF THIS GREAT FILM. If Warner Brothers did the transfer to Blu-ray, "My Fair Lady" would most likely have looked as great as their other recent outstanding work such as "Casablanca", "The Wizard of Oz", or "Gone With the Wind". Twentieth Century Fox did a fantastic job with their Blu-ray edition of "The Sound of Music". I was expecting "My Fair Lady" to look as good as "The Sound of Music". This was a huge disappointment. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANY OTHER CBS/PARAMOUNT TITLES IN THE FUTURE. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS TITLE! (PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE FILM TRANSFER, AND NOT THE MOVIE). THE MOVIE DESERVES FIVE STARS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so 'loverly' transfer to Blu-ray., November 26, 2011
By 
Carlos M. Nash (Santa Barbara, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My Fair Lady, both the stage and film versions, have played major roles in shaping my understandings of music, theatre, cinematography -- and even, linguistics. Over the past 20 years, I have owned this film on VHS (twice), laserdisc, DVD (twice), and now on Blu-ray. Knowing what I do about the current film elements held by CBS, this Blu-ray is a severe disappointment.

In the early 1990s, the original film elements were deteriorating in vaults; it was brittle, cracking, fading, and suffered from differential shrinkage. CBS paid a good sum in 1994 to save the film from being lost forever. Using digital technology to the best of their abilities, a new archival element was created -- preserving the film and allowing a new generation of viewers to see it in a condition not seen since the 1960s. At the same time, 35mm prints were created for LD, VHS, and later DVD transfers. Imperfections in the prints were not noticeable and yielded the best presentations in those formats due to their limited resolutions.

Now we come to the Blu-ray. I am not entirely sure if this transfer comes from one of the previous 35mm prints (the only tell-tale sign is the 2.35:1 aspect ratio). However, this print has major flaws that were not seen in the previous releases. First, and somewhat minor issue, the text in the title sequence has some distracting movement; this becomes less apparent if you are watching on a screen smaller than 32".

The major problem has to do with an image distortion on the left and right sides of the image. Approximately 20% of the screen is affected. It is as if you were viewing the film with tunnel vision -- or watching a 2.5 hour dream sequence where the DP has ordered Vaseline to be spread along the sides of the lens. The edges of the picture is hazy and milky -- sometimes, it appears as an amber haze in scenes that are dimly lit. Unfortunately, this occurs throughout the film. Even funnier, the 1994 'Restoration' credits presented at the end of the film also has the muddy edges! It was digitally generated on a solid pink background -- there shouldn't be any change in color. Contrary to what I have read on many on-line reviews, this disc will not satisfy the 'typical' Blu-ray viewer. How many films have you seen where the image fades and loses color along the edges?

It is obvious that this disc was put together with little thought or consideration. The artwork on the cover is a rehash of a previous DVD release with more Photoshopping (flip the image along the vertical axis and add a pink-to-white gradient in the background); if the rights are available, it would have been better to use the original poster artwork. The art on the actual disc is generic -- a solid light blue with the title printed at the top. Possibly due to rights issues, only a few of the special features from previous formats are available on this disc.

I believe this was an attempt to capitalize on the holiday season, since My Fair Lady often receives air time in between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I was extremely skeptical since its release was quickly and mysteriously announced this summer.

I have contacted CBS Home Entertainment about the image problem. So far, I have not heard back from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 90 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2-disc or not two discs, May 26, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WARNING: All the five stars refer to the movie itself, and does not address the issue of whether paying for the second disc is a rip-off. Five stars for the single disc version was richly deserved. I had half expected the 2 disc version to have DTS since they shifted virtually all the extra features from disc 1 to disc two. The only thing left on disc 1 was the movie, same commentary, same subtitles and audio track. If they had an audio track with Audrey singing in place of Marni Nixon, it would have been a dream dvd. For some inexplicable reason, the single disc version was among the Amazon top 100 discs in 2002 for some time, although it has been out since the mid-90s. Amazon's editor was correct when he said the main attraction of the 2nd disc was the 58 minute Documentary hosted by Jeremy Brett. Move along folks, folks, nothing to see here, nothing really new unless you are time warped back one or two decades. A concise version of this documentary would be "The Fairest Fair Lady" which is already in the single disc version.

You already HAVE the Audrey Hepburn Vocals in the single disc version. The rest of the stuff in disc 2 is usually given away FREE, like in Gladiator, Last Samurai, Master and Commander, where one viewing of the stills is more than enough.

Now, the sellers of the 2-disc set have actually REMOVED the CAST AND CREW section found in the one disc version. This Cast and Crew with filmographies and biographies contain a huge chunk of valuable information including the fact that Audrey's given name was Edda, not Audrey. Do not throw away your one disc version. If you bought the 2 disc version, you might want to buy the single- disc version to find out where Audrey Hepburn was born, won the Oscar and got nominated. What were the other actors like Wilfred Hyde-White doing other than My Fair Lady.

I tell you what I like about the 2 Disc version:

1. the interviews with Audrey Hepburn and Rex Harrison at the 1963 production Kickoff Dinner, with a couple of jokes from Mr Warner.
2. George Cukor directing Baroness Rothschild: a Henry Higgins coaching Eliza Doolitle parody. The audio track ran for only a few minutes, and I had a new found respect for Directors. Even a Baroness needs lessons in elocution. When I watch the movie again, I will imagine George Cukor speaking using the actors and actresses as his instrument. It explains how Cukor's actresses got their Oscars.
3. The Los Angeles Premiere in B&W is a few minutes of glitterati distraction.

The rest of Disc 2 is really scraping the floor of the store-room. For those who already own the single disc edition, and do not have disposable income to burn, get the 2 disc edition of the TEN COMMANDMENTS instead. For the price of 5 commandments (about half the price of the 2 disc My Fair Lady), you will get more than double the enjoyment, making it look like "the TWENTY COMMANDMENTS". That is where a second disc is not purely a money making exercise: thou shalt not steal from gullible covetuous dvd buyers.

Rex Harrison Golden Globe Acceptance is a clip from the Andy William's show, where he apologised for not being at the real event, so he accepted it on AW's show. Shame.

Academy Awards Cermony Highlights: just one minute or less of Mr Warner accepting the oscar for best picture. Not one bit of the other awards at all.

So two stars for the additional info on disc two. I would buy anything remotely related to my favourite musical, but if I were to search my heart for value added, I would say two extra stars is very very generous. Now, if ever they come out with a DTS version, we will have to throw the whole TWENTY COMMANDMENTS at this bunch of crooks for not putting DTS into this version.

Do you really need Martin Scorsese and Andrew Lloyd Weber's comments on My Fair Lady to supplement your own? What is their connection to My Fair Lady anyway, that we must hear what they have to say about this musical in the "Special Features". When we do not hear from Andre Previn who was responsible for the score, there is no need to hear from Andrew Lloyd Webber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My Fair Lady is a travesty on BluRay, November 19, 2011
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"My Fair Lady," one of the most glorious films ever made, has been shockingly thrown away on BluRay in a transfer that looks like you're watching a three-hour dream sequence, for the sides of picture are a dull, foggy mess, while the center is sharp and colorful. It's definitely not in the same league as "Ben-Hur", "The Sound of Music" and "The Ten Commandments" important blockbuster roadshow films of the mid-century which got releases worthy of their stature.

But "My Fair Lady", in 1964 the most eagerly awaited film since "Gone With the Wind", and the winner of numerous Oscars, including Best Picture, has been dismissed in a mediocre single-disc transfer which does not do justice to the BluRay format. Send a message to CBS and demand that the crown jewel in their library get a proper deluxe release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing Blu-ray Transfer, November 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a review of this blu-ray transfer and not the movie itself.
I preordered this great film and have looked forward to the restored version of this classic coming to blu-ray, but boy what a disapointing transfer. The sound is great, but the quality of the picture transfer is lousey to say the least. It looks a lot better on DVD. At least it does on my 65 inch Vizio TV. Both sides of the picture are out of focus and lack color. Be sure you rent this before you buy to see how it looks on your system. I am very disapointed with CBS (Fox) for ruining this film. If any of you remember the Fox Tod-A-O release of "Oklahoma" on DVD and how "bad" it looked, this is another disaster by Fox. It is a Warner Brothers picture, but rights have returned to CBS who sold the film rights to WB. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ars gratia artis or Auri sacra fames ?, November 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This Blu-ray of 'My Fair Lady' is not in the least what a Blu-ray
ought to be. It's merely the image of a DVD stored on a carrier of
bigger capacity and with higher resolution. I'd like to call that
pixellaneous dissipation.

The late Jack Warner spent a great deal of money to produce this
masterpiece - too much, so he couldn't afford to secure the rights
of further distribution. If one - like CBS - has the privilege of
having obtained these legal rights, one should have the appropriate
obligation to care for such a work of art with due respect.

That - I regret to ascertain - they have not done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better than the DVD, but very poor for BluRay!, November 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I watched the BluRay last night on an OPTOMA DLP projector. While it does look better than the DVD, it leaves A LOT to be desired. First off, the film is at a 2:35:1 ratio, instead of 2.20:1, which is the correct aspect ratio for a movie shot on a 65mm negative/70mm printed format. This leads me to believe that a 35mm source was used. Second, AND BY FAR THE WORST, is the color shift from left to right in the WHOLE movie. 10% of the screen on the left and 10% on the right had different color density. On my projector, the left had greenish tones, the 70-80% in the middle looked good, and the 10% on the right was pinkish. During the night scenes, the pinkish on the right looked green, as if too much light was going through the film when it was projected. This is completely unacceptable, especially for masterpiece! Another thing I noticed is that jitter is noticeable during some scenes. This also indicates that the transfer is not recent. I would not be surprised if CBS used the exact same restoration, with no additional work, that was prepared for the 1994 laserdisc release. The audio, while better than anything I have heard on home video, should also has been improved. While there is a nice dynamic range, it still sound restrained, and there is a weird reverb added to the back speakers during musical numbers, as if this was an old Dolby ProLogic home theater effect that was kept. After the movie is over, the closing credits are exactly the same as on the laserdisc box set, listing people who worked on the restoration with a 1994 copyright date. When I bought the disc last weekend, the first thing that went through my mind when I picked up the packaging is that it looked like a bootleg. So sad for such a distinguished movie! Even though I had read the reviews, I bought it because it does look better than both the laserdisc and the DVD. This is only because the bluray platform supports higher resolution, not because of work put into the film by CBS. Oh well....maybe the rights will be transferred again and a more respectable studio will release it in the manner that "Sound of Music" was restored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inexcusable!, August 9, 2012
This review is from: My Fair Lady [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For what was one of the most publicized restorations in film history, it is totally inexcusable for CBS to have released this inferior transfer. I got through less than 5 minutes of the Blu Ray disc and simply couldn't take it any longer. The opening credit sequence is grainy and once the film moves into the film proper, there is a weird hazy fog that circles the center part of the frame. This is downright horrible. The discs should be recalled and destroyed. This would be bad for any film, but for what is considered one of the greatest film musicals ever made its downright criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Fair Lady
My Fair Lady by George Cukor (DVD - 2009)
$19.99 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.