Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
70
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$13.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2009
Kiwi Magazine Review:
I *heart* this book. Although many may see this colorful children's picture book as just a sweet bedtime tale, it is the perfect Valentine craft for kids as well. Imagine the critters that can be made out of heart shapes in various sizes. This book is a breath of fresh air in the shelves full of books about zoo animals. We would recommend it for ages 2-5.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All young children have little feelings in their hearts and heads, but it is often difficult for them to understand or express their emotions. This little book of twenty animals, all made up in part of "heart" shapes, can help parents, caretakers and teachers help them understand and express their feelings, emotions and attitudes. This is a fun book of heart words and feelings in the shape of herons, hippos, caterpillars, clams, bears, crabs and many other animals.

"My heart is like a zoo-
eager as a beaver,
steady as a yak,
hopeful as a hungry heron, hoping for a snack . . . "

This adorable "heart" story in rhyme is one of those perfect books to read and discuss during story or circle time. Each of the brief descriptions of an animal can be linked to a primary emotion. The artwork is ingeniously designed to incorporate several heart shapes in each colorful animal. The whole book simply shouts read me and read me again. There are "more than three hundred hearts" in the design of this book for youngsters to count. This book can simply be a captivating page turner for the littlest "readers" or a learning experience for the older ones. If you want an instant classic, this is one you might want to consider!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 26, 2016
I came across this book by chance, and bought as an impulse purchase. It is absolutely adorable. We don't have any other books by this author, but I've added them to our wish list.
I bought the book for our "newly two" thinking he'd enjoy the pictures. (The "almost four" is much more into anything with wheels, so I wasn't expecting him to be too into this.) Well, turns out it's a hit with both.
There are some words that weren't as familiar to the kids, but we've explained what they mean, or given synonyms in explanation. What a great and easy way to teach new words.
Adorable, and great for ages 18 months - 4 years or so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
What a great board book! This is a favorite at my house and will probably be my baby shower go-to from now on!

The bright, bold colors are eye catching. The artwork is simple in that it is made up almost entirely of hearts, which is lovely to look at and provides a seeking/counting game and arts and crafts inspiration for older children. The rhyme and rhythm make it a joy to read-- seriously, just try it! "Brave as a lion, thoughtful as an owl, peaceful as a portly walrus lounging on a towel." The emotions, character traits, and physical descriptions are great vocab builders, and baby is captivated listening to it and looking at the pages. We can't get enough of this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
This book contains page after page of similes of what my heart is like such as "steady as a yak," "cool as a penguin," and "gloomy as a lone coyote walking in the fog." Each animal is created out of colorful heart shapes such as what you see on the cover.

I was torn on my opinion of this book. On one hand, as a book that is supposed to teach emotions I felt the examples were entirely too abstract for ages 0-5 to understand. For example: "cozy as a clam." What is this supposed to mean in relation to feelings? On this concept it falls very short of the mark. On the other hand this book is a good example of similes, an introduction to different animals, teaches shapes and colors, is a great springboard for an art project, has a good rhythm, and is a good beginning reader book because there are only a few words on each page. So in my opinion it fails at its intended purpose, but is still a good overall and enjoyable book.

I would give it a three stars, but because it has so many redeeming qualities I will round up. I recommend for ages 3-6
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
As a 70 year old, I enjoyed the creative designs and colors in the book, but I was concerned that the children would think it was too "babyish." That was not the case. It provided them with ideas for creating their own Valentines, and now my refrigerator door has new decorations. Lots of fun.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
My Heart is like a Zoo shows the reader how one simple shape, the Valentine heart, can be used and slightly modified to make many different larger, complex shapes-- those of animals in this case. Michael Hall's illustrations at first look simple, until closer observation brings out the complex nature of what Mr. Hall has accomplished. The process for my students of recreating some of the images, and making their own, with construction paper excited them. It also highly challenged them, as they needed to be conscious of what they were seeing, and had to make carefully thought-out decisions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
This book features pictures of animals made out of hearts. Younger children will enjoy looking at the colorful animals on each page. A older children can count the hearts or use them as a pattern to make their own heart animals. I purchased this book after seeing it at library story time and the kids could not get enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
This is such a beautiful book with a positive message. Board books are a bit higher priced due to their durability and I found this to be a steal! Great price! Shipping was fast. It was packaged nicely. My only complaint is that when I first opened the book 2 of the pages were stuck together by some sort of sticky substance causing a small tear when I pried it open. It's hardly noticeable but it was a little disappointing. Not enough for me to return it though. Overall great book, good price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
Simple rhymes and vivid colors makes this a sweet read that will captivate any young toddler. All of the animals are made using several sized hearts and various shapes. They are incredibly cute and very creative. The text is very simple, but does rhyme. Great way to introduce your little one to more animals as well. It includes a beaver, yak, heron, seal, moose, hippos, crab, bear, bull, hornet, penguin, fox, caterpillar, rabbit, frog, coyote, lion, owl, walrus, clam, and bluejay. Would make a fun art project to do with older children as well! Punch out a bunch of hearts and try to copy the images.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.