Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This adorable "heart" story in rhyme is one of those perfect books to read and discuss during story or circle time!, March 17, 2010
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
All young children have little feelings in their hearts and heads, but it is often difficult for them to understand or express their emotions. This little book of twenty animals, all made up in part of "heart" shapes, can help parents, caretakers and teachers help them understand and express their feelings, emotions and attitudes. This is a fun book of heart words and feelings in the shape of herons, hippos, caterpillars, clams, bears, crabs and many other animals.

"My heart is like a zoo-
eager as a beaver,
steady as a yak,
hopeful as a hungry heron, hoping for a snack . . . "

This adorable "heart" story in rhyme is one of those perfect books to read and discuss during story or circle time. Each of the brief descriptions of an animal can be linked to a primary emotion. The artwork is ingeniously designed to incorporate several heart shapes in each colorful animal. The whole book simply shouts read me and read me again. There are "more than three hundred hearts" in the design of this book for youngsters to count. This book can simply be a captivating page turner for the littlest "readers" or a learning experience for the older ones. If you want an instant classic, this is one you might want to consider!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute book for reading or crafting, December 30, 2009
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
Kiwi Magazine Review:
I *heart* this book. Although many may see this colorful children's picture book as just a sweet bedtime tale, it is the perfect Valentine craft for kids as well. Imagine the critters that can be made out of heart shapes in various sizes. This book is a breath of fresh air in the shelves full of books about zoo animals. We would recommend it for ages 2-5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Heart is Like a Zoo- Hurrah!, February 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
As a 70 year old, I enjoyed the creative designs and colors in the book, but I was concerned that the children would think it was too "babyish." That was not the case. It provided them with ideas for creating their own Valentines, and now my refrigerator door has new decorations. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Heart Is Like a Zoo, September 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
A perfect book! Colorful pictures, rhyming text, a built in counting activity, not to mention art ideas with geometric shapes...plus, a sweet child in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great books for little ones, July 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
The bold block colors and shapes give this wonderful book a kindergarten-y feel. It's really fun for kids to find all the heart shapes and guess how many are on a page before finding them. If only I were this creative with construction paper when I was in kindergarten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com, April 9, 2010
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
Hundreds of hearts come together to shape some animals both familiar and exotic in this rhyming romp through the various phases of a child's heart before they retire after a busy day (as busy as a zookeeper's even!).

My Heart is Like a Zoo (2010) by Michael Hall introduces children to a variety of new concepts beyond emotions and feelings. The varied palette for both animals and backgrounds can introduce colors as easily as the animals themselves can be used for a counting exercise. Hall uses hearts and the occasional circle or rectangle to create all of the artwork inviting children to identify the various shapes and try to make some shape animals of their own. The large text and boldly colored artwork carry wide appeal as do Hall's clever turns of phrase about steady yaks and happy hippos.

And, of course, as the cover shows very nicely the book is totally adorable! Hall's artwork and writing is fantastic and elevates what could have been a twee, simple book into a complex and entertaining picture book for readers of all ages.

An attractive, versatile book My Heart is Like a Zoo is guaranteed to become a story time favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute Book, February 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
This is a very sweet book! Each page contains a simile comparing a heart/love to an animal. The illustrations are made up of hearts, which is very fun. I read this book to my special needs preschool class, and it was a bit over their heads. It would be great for children in the primary grades. It could spark a lot of great writing and art projects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, July 9, 2014
By 
Alanna M. Bobulinski (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
I needed a book about a zoo for teaching my preschool class. Found this at the library and was in love Instantly with it! Love how all the animals are made from hearts! Gave us great project ideas too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a cute book, May 17, 2014
By 
Nicole (Denver, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great book. It has bright colors, cute animals, and not too many words on each page which is perfect since my son likes to turn the pages, quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for classroon activities, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Heart Is Like a Zoo (Hardcover)
This was used not only as a story book but my class also made the different this animal shapes to decorate the the front of their Valentine bags, The class also made a booklet to write a story about eack animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Heart Is Like a Zoo
My Heart Is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall (Hardcover - December 22, 2009)
$16.99 $13.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.