Customer Reviews


824 Reviews
5 star:
 (548)
4 star:
 (139)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


167 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Journey To Heaven
I found this book a compelling read...who doesn't want to know what Heaven is like. We have all heard that those who go through the light don't want to come back.
Marvin Besteman, a stubborn Dutchman as he calls himself, was just operated on for a pancreatic tumor. He was in such pain the night after the surgery, and all of a sudden he felt himself floating free. No...
Published on September 16, 2012 by Maureen

versus
59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, personal description of Heaven
This book can be very comforting for someone who has lost someone, and if closure is needed. The author, Marvin, writes about his personal experience with Heaven when he temporarily visited during an illness. Marvin is shown to be an educated, sweet, godly man, who had no agenda other than to share the amazing things that he saw and felt. I was especially touched when he...
Published on October 22, 2012 by C. Hovey


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

167 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Journey To Heaven, September 16, 2012
This review is from: My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life (Paperback)
I found this book a compelling read...who doesn't want to know what Heaven is like. We have all heard that those who go through the light don't want to come back.
Marvin Besteman, a stubborn Dutchman as he calls himself, was just operated on for a pancreatic tumor. He was in such pain the night after the surgery, and all of a sudden he felt himself floating free. No tubes, needles! For months after this experience he doesn't tell anyone.
The first person is his wife Ruth, and when she asked him if he had thought of her, he told her no. Was she disappointed? I think what happened was it was all so wonderful, that he didn't have time to think of anyone. What he describes is so very very wonderful, no wonder he didn't want to return.
I have recently lost my Husband, this book really touched my heart, and gave me a lot of peace. Marvin describes in detail the babies...lots and lots of them. In all stages of development from a few week old fetus to a full term. I have also lost a 77 day old infant, and to hear that they were all happy and laying on grass ...softer than any blanket. He said he didn't see anyone taking care of them, but knew some how they were all fine.
The colors he describes, the gates, the stone walls, and the throne. I could see it all through his eyes.
I will pass this book on for others to read, and I'm so glad I was given this opportunity to absorb all that is presented.
Of course I wanted more, and would have loved to sit down and speak personally with Marvin, but now it can never by. He did leave again and Saint Peter opened the gate earlier this year.

I received this book from the publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY JOURNEY TO HEAVEN by MARVIN J. BESTEMAN, September 17, 2012
This review is from: My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life (Paperback)
In My Journey to Heaven, Marvin Besteman describes his visit to Heaven in 2006. He describes in detail what he saw and experienced there, as well as the people he saw and recognized.

Normally, I describe the plot of a book without worrying about having to issue "spoiler alerts", but in this case, I don't really see a way to talk about this book in detail without just retelling his story. So, it comes down to this: some people will believe this book, and others won't. I admit that it challenged my thinking regarding Heaven. Everything he described wasn't exactly the way I've always understood the Bible to mean. However, I tried to keep an open mind while reading. Without giving away too much detail, the one point where I felt that this could be on target was when he described what he saw before the Throne of God. It wasn't the type of thing that a man of his generation and theological background would probably imagine.

Whether or not he described Heaven accurately, I feel that he sincerely believed that he saw Heaven, and that it looked just the way he described. This could be very comforting for someone who has lost a loved one. It may not be for everyone, but for anyone who will keep an open mind while reading, it is a wonderful reminder that Heaven is certainly real.

4 stars

"Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, personal description of Heaven, October 22, 2012
This review is from: My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life (Paperback)
This book can be very comforting for someone who has lost someone, and if closure is needed. The author, Marvin, writes about his personal experience with Heaven when he temporarily visited during an illness. Marvin is shown to be an educated, sweet, godly man, who had no agenda other than to share the amazing things that he saw and felt. I was especially touched when he recounted what he saw regarding babies - his statements are interesting and may give some peace to someone who has lost a child, even right after conception. I also was moved when I read about his very special bond with his son-in-law, how he had called Marv "dad", and how he became so ill so quickly, and was then gone. Marv was able to see his son-in-law jumping up and down and totally healed and joyful, and that alone inspires a great longing for the wonders of Heaven. This book is very easy to read, and would be a good choice if you or someone you know needs comfort or hope for what happens to believers in Christ after death. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 :"Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christian authors review, October 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book Review: My Journey to Heaven, 2012, non-fiction testimony, by Marvin J. Besteman , e-book edition. Date of review: October 3, 2012

I personally know of individuals (close personal friends) who have come back from out of body experiences, or from death after 30-40 minutes of being pronounced dead. So I find it very easy to accept the personal testimony of author Marvin J. Besteman, who writes of having gone to heaven from his hospital bed and then come back. The way by which he wrote his testimony left me with the final conclusion he did, in fact, personally witness all the things he described. His words appeared to be honest, heartfelt, and candid, albeit this book left me asking questions for which there appears to be no earthly answer this side of Heaven. It was an enormously joyful book to read and an encouragement. How could I not give this book a 5 star rating? I recommend "My Journey to Heaven" to anyone who has lost a child, either by natural causes, or by abortion because the story addresses those subjects with honesty, vision, and candor. God is good all the time and this story addresses that goodness.

Jim E. Reames, Christian author
"Valley of the Dry Bones," 1992
"LaDon's Lost Diamond," 2008
Contributor
"GBA2015", 2012, by Sheriff John A. Turner
"After the Cloud", 2012, by Sheriff John A. Turner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basking in God's glory!, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I' m convinced Marv is basking in God's glory up in heaven with all his family who is already there. I've read a lot of books regarding life after death but I can tell you my belief is cast in stone after reading Marv's account! I can hardly wait myself to get there. I just wonder what God's plan is for my life before I go? Thank you God for Marv's story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 136 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More fluff than substance., December 8, 2012
This review is from: My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life (Paperback)
I was disappointed in reading this book in that the author never establishes his clinical death. There is no account or proof that the author had technically died. The author does tell the reader that a doctor spent three hours administering pain drugs and how he kept pressing the pain relief drug button in hoping to relieve his discomfort. Is it any wonder that he then visualizes the experience as he describes as his NDE. The obvious question is: if there is no proof of his actual death, how do we not know this was just a drug induced dream or hallucination of some sort.

He talks of seeing his favorite Bibilical character, the apostle Peter at the gate of Heaven. How convenient, but seems like a personal wish/dream rather than anything realistic. Also, like Don Piper's novel there is very little written about heaven and much more about his personal family and quotes from scripture. I felt bored and frustrated reading redundant information which was not relavent and simply written as a filler. It added no value to the subject matter.

I feel this title is misleading and used to hook the interest of a serious reader. Even if it were a true NDE, there is not enough substanial subject matter to make this book worth the read or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was such a great book and a really easy read. I definately needed kleenex at times. I plan on reading this book again since it is so uplifting. I would recommend this to anyone who has lost someone dear to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly enjoyed this and found comfort in this book, October 10, 2012
I was a bit skeptical with this book in the beginning, but the level of detail the author was able to bring to the sights and sounds of being at Heavens door was very compelling. He did a good job of relating directly to scipture to substantiate the prophesy of what Heaven is to be like when we arrive at our due time. It was also emphasized that he didn't experience every single thing we read in scripture and that all of his experiences could not even be described with the knowledge we have here on earth.

Also, the depiction of St Peter with all the positive and negative moments in his life that made him inot the "Rock" often mentioned in the New Testament was very compelling. Peter felt the unbelievable pain of denying his Savior three times. I haven't had the exact same situation, but I've denied Christ in different ways through my actions in my life. Personally, I find it easier to relate to apostles than Christ because they obviously didn't do everything perfect either, but we still have the same promise of salvation when we accept Christ in our hearts.

One of the take aways from this book for me was "Who will be there to greet you at Heaven's Gate"? It is a very thought provoking question and one I will be thinking and praying about for as long as I am still here.

Overall rating is that I would definitely recommend this book to others that are interested on what to expect when we get to Heaven and finally see our HOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Journey to Heaven, September 16, 2012
This is one of the sweetest, most comforting books that I have ever read. Having experienced loss in life, this book was what I needed for healing. The author talks about his own experience of temporarily going to heaven. It reflects what he saw, who he saw, what it was like, and who he talked too while he was there.

The author's description of the angels who took him up into heaven, the Book of Life, and his conversations with Peter were very interesting, and enlightening. The book goes on to what the author felt like when he found out he couldn't stay in Heaven and that particular time, and what his journey back to Earth was like.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Company. Look for this excellent book in your local book stores soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed. I was hoping to learn about what to ..., December 23, 2014
By 
DSB (Autaugaville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life (Paperback)
very disappointed. I was hoping to learn about what to expect in heaven and instead got to read about his family. He may or may not have actually gone to heaven. I will not say he didn't go to heaven. I will say that his visit consisted of standing in one of the doorways to heaven and looking in. He saw friends and family walk by but did not actually speak to any. He only waved to them. He says Peter met him and looked in the book of life and did not see his name "yet". He describes the beautiful colors and how everyone looked so healthy. I have now told you everything he actually tells you about heaven. Please don't waste your money if you are trying to learn more about what will eventually be your new home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life
My Journey to Heaven: What I Saw and How It Changed My Life by Marvin J. Besteman (Paperback - September 1, 2012)
$13.99 $11.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.