Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly recommended read
Faye Rivellaux made a promise to her dying friend, Elayne, to take care of her child after she was gone. The promise had been easy to make. Faye loved Elayne's daughter, Angeline, almost as if she had birthed the child herself. Protecting the child proves much harder, especially after the girl is kidnapped. Willing to do almost anything to get the child back, even...
Published on June 8, 2007 by J. Nusz

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
With all the five star reviews, I expected an exceptional book but I'm sorry to say that My Lady's Treasure did not come anywhere near meeting my expectations. The plot was one that is very frequently used and there were no mysteries to be solved as all the supposed secrets were clear to me very early on and finishing the book didn't reveal any surprises. The hero, Brant,...
Published on April 27, 2012 by Dafna Yee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly recommended read, June 8, 2007
Faye Rivellaux made a promise to her dying friend, Elayne, to take care of her child after she was gone. The promise had been easy to make. Faye loved Elayne's daughter, Angeline, almost as if she had birthed the child herself. Protecting the child proves much harder, especially after the girl is kidnapped. Willing to do almost anything to get the child back, even giving up a King's ransom in the form of an ancient golden goblet, she meets with the stranger who has demanded payment.

Sir Brant Meslarches isn't comfortable with his mission - but he has his oath to uphold, and so he must go along with it. He has no idea why he needs to meet with the woman by the lake and demand a ransom, but when she shows him the golden goblet, he is fascinated. The golden goblet could have come from only one source: the legendary King Arthur's hidden treasure. Knowing that the lady, Faye, is his only hope of finding the treasure, Brant strikes a tentative bargain with the beautiful woman.

Willing to do anything to save Angeline, Faye agrees to the knight's proposal. She really has no other choice if she is to find the child and uphold her promise. But their bargain holds more danger than either of them could imagine, and the price to save the child might prove more costly than even the richest of king's treasures.

MY LADY'S TREASURE was a thoroughly splendid read: engrossing, rich in detail and wonderfully witty! Author Catherine Kean writes with a beautiful, lyrical style that is a rare find in today's modern carbon-copy literature. Kean has brought back the beauty of the written word!

Filled with lively characters, a strong, suspenseful plot and a myriad of romantic scenes MY LADY'S TREASURE is a powerful, poignant tale that will keep reader's turning pages until the very end. I highly recommend that readers who love a good historical romance pick up a copy of MY LADY'S TREASURE today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, May 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This story is set in England and begins in early December, 1192. Lady Faye Rivellaux is an impoverished widow. She resides in Caldstone Keep. One of her dearest friends, Elayne, was the wife of Lord Torr Lorvais. Elayne is now deceased; however, before Elayne died, Faye was her companion. Faye would often go with Elayne and little Angeline (Elayne's daughter) to the river for picnics. It was during the last picnic together that Angeline found the slightly dented golden chalice in some mud and rocks. The goblet became a secret of the trio.

Though Elayne is now deceased, Faye cares for eighteen month old Angeline as if the child were her own. Angeline is kidnapped and a ransom for silver is sent to Faye, along with a warning to tell no one of the demand. Faye meets a man at the arranged destination and offers the gold goblet instead of silver.

Sir Brant Meslarches does not care for Lord Torr Lorvais. Yet due to the last words uttered from his older brother, Royce, Brant must comply to Lord Lorvais's demands. Brant had been assured Faye would not have the ransom. Lorvais's orders were to scare Faye and leave. So Brant is shocked when Faye offers a gold goblet! It looks to be part of King Arthur's legendary treasure.

Faye does not trust Brant to not disappear with the goblet and never return Angeline. Faye does not believe Brant when he confesses that he has no idea who Angelina even is. At the same time, Brant desperately wants to locate the rest of the treasure that Royce had been positive existed. The two must team up, even though there is very little trust between them, in hopes of locating the untold riches, rescuing the little girl, and foiling the plans of an insane overlord.

***** An excellent tale which surrounds one of my favorite legends and set within the days of yore. The descriptions of events, such as the fateful picnic, were so realistic that I could almost feel the chill from the wind on my face. I consider this story to be MY treasure and it will go directly to my Keeper Shelf. Filled with drama, betrayals, romance, suspense, and mystery, this adventure will remain in your mind long after you finish reading the last page. *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
A story of heartbreak about the loss of her child, a lost treasue, determination to find another child she loves who has been kidnapped, deception by someone that they both trusted and learning to trust the man she comes to love that he will help her find the lost child and give her the future she is looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a medieval story that's enchanting, dazzling and full of passion, October 30, 2007
A legendary treasure waiting to be found, a treasure so valuable that one has schemed, betrayed loved ones and killed for to get it, but sometimes the real treasure does not consist of gold and coins...

This story takes you back to medieval England, back to a time where the legend of King Arthur's treasure is still very much alive. You immediately get introduced to Lady Faye Rivellaux, a headstrong penniless widow, who lives at Caldstowe Keep thanks to the grace of Lord Torr Lorvais. She has vowed to protect the child of her best friend, but now the little girl has been kidnapped and she has to pay ransom to get the girl back, but all she has to offer to the kidnapper is a gold cup.

Brant Meslarches is a fierce, scarred warrior who has just returned from the crusade, during this crusade his brother was murdered and now he has to deal with his inner turmoil. He is determined to leave no stone unturned to accomplish his brother's dream, namely to find King Arthur's legendary treasure. Against his will he has to collect ransom for an acquaintance, he is astonished when this beautiful bold lady shows him a gold cup as ransom. Finally Brant has proved that the treasure exists!

They need each other to achieve their goals, so they make a deal. He will help her find the girl and she will join him on his quest to find the treasure. But they soon discover they are in danger, for they are not the only ones hunting the treasure...

From the first chapter Catherine Kean pulled me into her book and I could not put it down. This story is an easy and delightful read. Basically the plot is simple with only one major subplot, but it is refreshing, original and very well written with an astounding surprise at the end. It speaks of love, trust, commitment and betrayal.

Ms. Kean writes with such intensity that you hold your breath in anticipation of what will happen next. She describes things so vividly that you can actually picture medieval England, the scenery, Caldstowe Keep and its population. With great detail she has captured the daily life and traditions of the people in the dark ages.

She has a gift to bring her characters to live, in this story she focus mainly on the hero and heroin, page by page you get to know more of Faye and Brant. Their relationship is built up very slow, you see the subtle changes, from mistrust to trust, but right from the start you feel the chemistry between them. Their encounters leap off the pages and are always sensual and interlaced with passion and that made me devour the pages. Their relationship is so believable and moving that my heart cried out for them when they got separated due to misunderstandings and lack of faith in each other.

This story does not really have strong secondary characters, except for Torr. He is an intriguing man of great strength and just like Faye and Brant he has his own secrets to protect, but there is definitely more to him than meets the eye.

Catherine Kean delivers a medieval story so enchanting, dazzling and full of passion that it will keep you at the edge of your seat. Faye and Brant's quest will take you on an emotional roller coaster ride and will keep you flipping the pages till there are no more pages to flip. Ms. Kean sweeps you off your feet with the intensity of her writing and I cannot wait to read her next novel!

reviewed for Realms on our Bookshelves by Dream-Mistress

Courtesy of Realms on our Bookshelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Lady's Treasure, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. Kept me interested from start to finish.
The book isn't to long but has enough going on to feel kike your part of the story. Kinda like watching a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, April 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
With all the five star reviews, I expected an exceptional book but I'm sorry to say that My Lady's Treasure did not come anywhere near meeting my expectations. The plot was one that is very frequently used and there were no mysteries to be solved as all the supposed secrets were clear to me very early on and finishing the book didn't reveal any surprises. The hero, Brant, and heroine, Faye, were both extremely naive, to the point of being annoying (same goes forTorr, the villain). The minor characters were two-dimensional and not very interesting. I did finish the book, although I was tempted to stop many times, and I would not recommend this book to anyone else who wants real history and characters to care about when they choose to read a historical romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great romantic read for anyone interested in the mideval period., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
While I am not a big fan on books that have a historical setting with castles and the like, this was a great little book! There was also some mystery involved with it as well which kept my attention. I also appreciated the fact that the author didn't have the characters going at it like rabbits after the first couple of chapters. If you like historical romance, this one will be right up your alley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
If you want an adventure with lady needing protection and a handsome rouge wanting to protect her read this novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A kidnapping, sword fights and romance, December 10, 2012
By 
G (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Lady's Treasure (Kindle Edition)
What more can you ask for but these three? Throw in treasures from King Arthur's reign and you find yourself with a medieval dilemma for our hero. Although he is a knave and our heroine a penniless widow, the spark fly as this couple find themselves on the run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Lady's Treasure, August 13, 2007
Brant Meslarches is sent to collect a ransom from Faye Rivellaux for the kidnapped baby, Angeline. Instead of the silver the kidnappers demanded, Faye offers a golden chalice. Brant is shocked to discover that the treasure his deceased brother Royce desired actually exists. When Brant and Faye discover that all is not as it seems regarding Angeline's disappearance, they team up to find the little girl and the rest of the hidden treasure. Brant and Faye have secrets, but Torr Lorvais, Angeline's father, is hiding deadly ones.

My Lady's Treasure is a romantic story laced with lies and danger. Brant and Faye are wonderful characters and they make a good match. In My Lady's Treasure, the excitement and mystery builds until the very end.

Nannette reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Lady's Treasure
My Lady's Treasure by Catherine Kean
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.