Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $2.65 (19%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
My Little House Crafts Bo... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by brit-books-usa
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

My Little House Crafts Book: 18 Projects from Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House Stories Paperback – March 21, 1998


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.34
$5.88 $2.74

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more
$11.34 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

My Little House Crafts Book: 18 Projects from Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House Stories + The Little House Cookbook: Frontier Foods from Laura Ingalls Wilder's Classic Stories + The Little House Guidebook
Price for all three: $28.79

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 and up
  • Series: Little House
  • Paperback: 64 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (March 21, 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0064462048
  • ISBN-13: 978-0064462044
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 10 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #42,677 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Carolyn Strom Collins and Christina Wyss Eriksson are also the authors of The World of Little House, illustrated by Deborah Maze and Garth Williams. Both authors live with their families in the Twin Cities area of Minnesota.

Mary Collier has illustrated several books for HarperCollins, including My Little House Sewing Book, by Margaret Irwin. She is also the illustrator of a picture-book adaptation of Frances Hodgson Burnetts The Secret Garden. Ms. Collier lives in Dana Point, CA.

Mary Collier has illustrated The Narnia Paper Dolls: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe collection and The Secret Garden picture book. Ms. Collier lives in Dana Point, CA.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
53%
4 star
24%
3 star
24%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 17 customer reviews
A great teaching tool and a good book to add to your shelf.
Amazon Customer
I thin this a great book for Moms and daughters wanting to share the Little House Books together in an interactive way!
Mamaof5
I found this book and thought she would enjoy some of the crafts.
Andrea S. Haley

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

94 of 107 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on December 9, 2002
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'd hoped for a nice selection of crafts. While a few of the items listed are interesting and "crafty" (the quilt, bead crafts, straw hat, hood), most are defintely stretching the definition. I wouldn't consider a garden or a loaf of bread to be a 'craft'... and does anyone REALLY need instructions to figure out how to make a button string? The original Little House books explain quite well how to make the orange flower and button lamp. (And what you'd do with a decorative button lamp is a puzzle to me anyway.) We learn how to make the tassles for Mary's bedshoes, but there are no instructions for making the shoes themselves.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
77 of 95 people found the following review helpful By Shelley Ashfield on April 21, 2004
Format: Paperback
I know that Carolyn Collins and Mary Collier wanted to keep their craft projects as simple as possible, so that they would be fun for our TV-glutted, skill-deprived youngsters. But in doing so, they curtailled themselves from creating a masterpiece of historical analysis like The Little House Cookbook.
How about showing some of the REAL projects that we read about in the Little House books, like the dresses that Laura and Mary laid out by drafting patterns on old newspaper, or the cabinetry that Almanzo built to delight his wife?
Aside from very young children, the handy people described in the Little House books manufactured items that were more useful and complex than Brownie Scout camp crafts. That it bears the "Little House" brand name does not separate this book from the pack.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Amy Hufford on April 18, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
...but we only really were able to do the button string as far as a kid activity. I have a 7 year old daughter who is crazy about the Little House books and I was searching for ideas of things to do at a Little House party. We made the bread from the book before the party for a decoration (which was difficult with a two year-old constantly needing attention), and it ended up beautiful and delicious.

We did the button string project with the kids at the party because we already had a lot of buttons around the house. The girls had fun stringing the buttons, but the end product isn't that impressive -- just buttons on a string. I think the corn cob doll could have been another possibility to try, but I didn't know that I would have enough adult help to get that to work. Wished that there were more crafts in the book suitable for my daughter's age. But I see other reviews where people wanted to have more difficult crafts. You can't please everyone.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on February 28, 2001
Format: Paperback
This book is a great opportunity to learn about crafts and stories through the eyes and hands of a pioneer child. Children will enjoy the stories from Laura Ingles Wilder. With each story, a craft is illustrated with colorful pictures and detailed step by step instructions that are very easy to follow. A great teaching tool and a good book to add to your shelf.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mamaof5 on December 11, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
We are using this in a Little House thematic unit for Homeschool and it really helps to tie all the stories together, we use this in alternation with the Little House Cookbook and do one or two projects each week! It is wonderful to see my 9 yo daughter creating her own variations of the craft by herself later in the week! I thin this a great book for Moms and daughters wanting to share the Little House Books together in an interactive way!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Carol Kirk OConnor on July 30, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The book arrived in good condition. I expected a little more reference from the Little House books......The crafts I thought would be better described from the original text.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Some good projects, but many not all that easy to make, especially for young children. Wish more crafts had been included like the paper cut stars (On the Banks of Plum Creek--"Moving In" chapter), the rag rug blind Mary made (The Long Winter--"No Trains" chapter), and the embroidered picture frame Laura made (The Long Winter--"Merry Christmas" chapter).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Andrea S. Haley on December 16, 2014
Format: Paperback
My granddaughter started reading the Little House books in first grade. I found this book and thought she would enjoy some of the crafts. It was so popular her teacher borrowed it and had the whole class make one of the projects as Christmas gifts for their parents. Truly a treasure
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
My Little House Crafts Book: 18 Projects from Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House Stories
This item: My Little House Crafts Book: 18 Projects from Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House Stories
Price: $13.99 $11.34
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com