My Mother's Sabbath Days: A Memoir and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $45.99
  • Save: $8.88 (19%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by jimmyelgato
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: This is NEW and STILL SEALED in plastic. Minor curve on the corner from the tight plastic wrap.
Add to Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $0.76
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Mother's Sabbath Days: A Memoir Paperback – May 1, 1997


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$37.11
$30.00 $17.96


Frequently Bought Together

My Mother's Sabbath Days: A Memoir + Enemies, A Love Story
Price for both: $50.27

Buy the selected items together
  • Enemies, A Love Story $13.16

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Jason Aronson, Inc.; 1st edition (May 1, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1568219628
  • ISBN-13: 978-1568219622
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,655,682 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

A luminous crown of the Grade oeuvre, this posthumous translation (the book was published in Yiddish 30 years ago) is a fitting kaddish to the Yiddish writer and the annihilated society of preWW II European Jewry. The first half is peppered with sharp but loving portraits of the Lithuanian Jews who inspired Grade's fictionepitomized by his mother, Vella, a pious, superstitious, humble yet self-righteous fruit peddler. As an omniscient narrator, the author offers chapters suggestive of his collected stories Rabbis and Wives, replete with midrashic saws and evocative images of a quaint, insular Vilna ("The moss-covered, hunchbacked roofs resemble the bent shoulders of bearded Jews jostling forward, the better to hear the words of a wandering preacher"). The memoir loses momentum as war intrudes and the author flees the Nazis. But it assumes a harrowing intensity as a guilt-ridden Grade, burdened by memories of his dead wife and mother, returns postwar to a gutted ghetto.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Library Journal

In this poignant memoir (which won the prestigious Lamed Prize when originally published in 1955 in Yiddish), the noted author of Rabbis and Wives recalls in a series of vignettes his youth in Vilna, Lithuania; the invasion of the Nazi troops; his perilous escape to Russia; and above all his widowed mother, a pious Jew who sold produce on a street corner to support her family but never failed to keep the sabbath: "`My child, never forget that you are a Jew. Keep the Sabbath.' That was what she had said to me. I shall remember!" The excellent translation retains all the life and color of the original. A memorable book in the tradition of Sholem Aleichem and S. Y. Agnon. Highly recommended. Marcia G. Fuchs, Guilford Free Lib., Ct.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful By David_H_Hirsch@brown.edu on May 14, 1998
Format: Paperback
Grade is a brooding writer, but one who also writes with grace and humor. "My Mother's Sabbath Days" is a memoir in the same way that Jorge Semprun's "Literature or Life" is a memoir, or Proust's "Remembrance of Things Past." It is an artful recreation of a way of life, that is to say, a work of fiction in the most profound sense, a work that reproduces not only the surface of reallity, but its inner depths. Grade's reputation still lags far behind his deserts. He is certainly the equal of Isaac Bashevis Singer, but he recreates the world of Polish Jewry with less mockery and with a more brooding sense of tragic loss.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Debbie Berliner (berliner@humboldt1.com) on October 10, 1999
Format: Paperback
Mr. Grade paints with words a lively, personal look at Jewish life in the Jerusalem of Lithuania in the twilight of its existence. "My Mother's Sabbath Days" is written in a way that enables the reader to feel as if he or she is in Vilna with Mr. Grade. We share the burden of day to day life, the joy and peace of celebrating the Sabbath, and an unforgettable journey with the simple Jews of Vilna, right before the bloody tide of the Shoah swept into history this unique way of life in Eastern Europe.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?