Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Does A Roast On His Fans And Himself
Bruce Campbell seems to have a kind of love/hate thing going with his fan base. Sure, like any actor he enjoys having fans, but as he's stated in his book and elsewhere that his fans can get a bit outrageous and push things far. This seems to be what sparked My Name Is Bruce. Here he pokes fun at his fandom as well as his career.
In the film he plays Bruce...
Published on December 4, 2008 by Stanley Runk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for laughs.
If you like horror films you might find this one mildly amusing as Bruce Campbell pokes fun at hinself and his movies.
Published 22 months ago by Jim Borger


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Does A Roast On His Fans And Himself, December 4, 2008
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
Bruce Campbell seems to have a kind of love/hate thing going with his fan base. Sure, like any actor he enjoys having fans, but as he's stated in his book and elsewhere that his fans can get a bit outrageous and push things far. This seems to be what sparked My Name Is Bruce. Here he pokes fun at his fandom as well as his career.
In the film he plays Bruce Campbell, but a more fictional Bruce Campbell. He's egocentric, a drunk, lives in a trailer, un-liked and un-respected by the cast and crew of his films, and just an all around jerk. A teen in a small gold mining town called Gold Lick has mistakenly unleashed the ancient Chinese god of war, Guan-Di, and now the angry god is killing off the folks of Gold Lick. The teen, Jeff, also happens to be a Bruce Campbell fanatic. He manages to kidnap Campbell and bring him to Gold Lick where he has convinced the townspeople that Bruce will destroy the evil demon. Bruce is under the impression that he's doing some kind of movie(it doesn't totally make sense why he'd think that he's in a movie when there's no film crew around or why the townspeople would believe that a horror movie actor could really be a ghost buster, but who cares?). He goes coward when the reality of the situation becomes clear, but soon learns how to be the Bruce Campbell he's always portrayed himself to be. I know what you're thinking! My wife tapped my shoulder half way through the movie and said to me, "this reminds me a lot of the Three Amigos". True, it's a very similar concept-the idea of egocentric actors finding themselves in real danger when they think they're only in "reel" danger, but in the end discover that they are heroes.
Needless to say it is a fun movie. Naturally we're dealing with a comedy here, not a horror film. While the laughs are hit and miss, some of them predictable and a bit cliched, this movie really works because of Bruce. We all know that Bruce has a helluva screen charisma and can singlehandedly carry practically any movie just off of his charm. He also directed this movie. It's low budget of course, and Bruce certainly makes the best of that. He built the town of Gold Lick on his own property in Oregon. The supporting cast is decent too, mostly unknowns. Ted Raimi has multiple roles, each a different nationality, allowing him try multiple accents. His Asian character just isn't funny though. Too much of a stereotype Chinese guy. He reminded me of Mickey Rooney in Breakfast At Tiffany's.
It's great how Campbell makes fun of his fans and fandom, yet doesn't totally insult them. He's also able to take potshots at himself and his career. At one point he steals a kid's bike to get away from Guan-Di, and the kid yells at him, "McHale's Navy sucked!!" Funny stuff. He really lays into his flop, Alien Apocalypse, but thinly disguises it here as a film called Cave Alien. Plus there are many more in-jokes that you will definitely pick up on if you're familiar with many of Campbell's films.
Campbell is touring the country right at the moment showing the film and doing 20-30 minutes Q&A sessions after. I'd highly suggest attending this if possible. It's good support for Bruce as well as low budget cinema in general. Plus the man is a treat to see and hear in person. Just as funny and charming as you think he'd be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Extras that Bruce Campbell fans should enjoy, February 9, 2009
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
There is an audio commentary by Bruce Campbell and producer Mike Richardson. Campbell points out that the entire film was shot on his property in Oregon and they built all of the town of Gold Lick from scratch. He points out all of the intentional goofs in the Cavealien 2 film within the film. Campbell also points out all of the people in the film whom he's known or worked with over the years. He talks about his public persona and how it mixes with his actual life in this film on this entertaining track.

"Heart of Dorkness" is an hour-long making of documentary that starts off riffing on Apocalypse Now. Dark Horse Comics wanted to branch out into independent films and approached Campbell who agreed only if he could direct and star. To cut costs and be more efficient, Campbell hired actors and crew members that he had worked with on other films often going back many years. This is an entertaining and informative look at how this indie film was made.

"Awkward Moments with `Kif'": features two useless bits of the film's associate producer engaging in pointless banter with another crew member.

"Bruce On..." sees the actor pontificating about film budgets, talking about the dangerous wildlife near his home, and jokes about DVD extras.

"Cavealien 2 Trailer" is a pretty funny, intentionally cheesy faux trailer for the movie within the movie.

"Beyond Inside the Cave: The Making of Cavealien 2" parodies those fluffy making of promotional featurettes that populate most DVDs with the cast and crew talking up a film that is obviously crap.

Kif is back in "Kif's Korner" as he talks about the faux DVD and poster art he put together for the film.

Also included are several galleries - poster art (of all the fake films), a gallery for various movie props, and one of movie stills.

"The Hard Truth" is the E! True Hollywood Story-style profile of Bruce that is shown briefly in the film. This is pretty amusing stuff.

"Love Birds" documents the "romance" between two actors who play rednecks in the film.

Finally, there is a trailer for My Name is Bruce.

Rounding out the impressive amount of extras are several Easter Eggs buried throughout the menus and a mini-comic book adaptation of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No one is safe! Oh the humanity..., January 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
One of the best Bruce Campbell films made. There's no need to rant and rave - if you enjoy his films, you must see this one. No, you must own this one. Bits and pieces (pardon the pun), pokes and prods of the best and worst of the Bruce Campbell legacy. There's a little something for everyone - eye candy for Bruce wanna-be's; quaint locales and characters for those who are into scenic adventure; comic creativity from the understated Ted Raimi; and a peek at the new shy side of an even sexier Campbell. It's painful to be given a sneek peek at something wonderful and then have to wait over a month to be able to own it, but pain is part of the beauty of a Campbell venture, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the B-movie King, February 14, 2009
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MY NAME IS BRUCE

**** ˝ Out of 5

Release Date- October 31st, 2008

Running Time- 84-Minutes

Rating- R

Screenplay- Mark Verheiden

Director- Bruce Campbell

Starring- Bruce Campbell, Grace Thorsen, Taylor Sharpe, Ben L. McCain with Ellen Sandweiss and Ted Raimi

To your average film fan being a B-movie actor may not sound like a big deal, but what some people fail to realize is that for every Brad Pitt you have a whole slew of B-actors and for every B-actor you have people who never go further than being an extra or simply starring in short films made by friends. And the same goes for writers and directors. Fact is Bruce Campbell has gone further in his career than most people do who get involved in film. But who knew back when the Evil Dead came out that it would make Bruce Campbell a cult Icon. Of all the cult actors or filmmakers none have reached the status of Bruce Campbell; he is by far the definition of cult Icon.

There's a lot of praise among Bruce Campbell fans for My Name Is Bruce and some might wonder is it really that good? The answer is without a doubt yes it really is that good. Sure there are some Bruce Campbell fanboys who will blindly praise anything he does and everyone in film or music or whatever has someone like that who just praises them no matter what. I'm as big of a fan of Bruce Campbell as you'll find, but that doesn't mean I have to like everything he has done; and let's be honest here over the past couple of years his films haven't been as good with the exception of Bubba Ho-Tep, but My Name Is Bruce again shows why Campbell has legion of fans.

The screenplay by Mark Verheiden is excellent; My Name Is Bruce is a B-movie and Verheiden never tries to make it more than that. He knows what kind of movie he's writing and he writes one great screenplay. The movie is always funny in a silly way and that is what this movie is all about. I wasn't sure what to expect from the script, but it was very funny and smart, but always stays true to what it is.

Besides starring and producing, Bruce Campbell also directs and while he's not exactly Sam Raimi, but in his own right Campbell proves to be just as talented behind the camera. The problem these days with cult cinema is filmmakers try too hard. A lot of those who grew up with cult movies of the 70s and 80s are now making their own films and the problem is can you really make a cult movie on purpose? Grindhouse by Quentin Tarantino & Robert Rodriguez was excellent, and while they did make a cult flick, but at times that's the problem, but they got it right where most filmmakers failed.

With My Name Is Bruce, Bruce Campbell sets out to make a B-movie and he gets it right 100%. The pacing of the movie is excellent with never once a dull moment. From beginning, middle to end, My Name Is Bruce is always fun and entertaining and never once will you be bored at all. Campbell sets out to make a cult flick and he delivers big time. Again he may not be Sam Raimi, but he clearly knows what he's doing and delivers one of the best cult movies of all time. I have no doubt in my mind My Name Is Bruce will be remembered by fans. The only reason I didn't give this the full 5-stars is the ending was kinda lame, but besides that this movie was amazing.

Bruce Campbell plays an exaggerated version of himself and this is by far his best performance in years! My Name Is Bruce in my opinion is easily in his top 5 performances. Bruce really is an underrated actor and what I love about him is he's not afraid to ham it up and make a fool out of himself on camera and here Bruce was brilliant! Bottom line is this; no actor can deliver a one liner like Bruce can and here he has plenty of them. Actually this may be in his top 3 performances rather than top 5.

Every year actors get snubbed on an Oscar nomination, but my question is what happened to Bruce's nomination? All kidding aside this was a brilliant performance. Bruce made me laugh and cry when he sees the error of his ways. Ok so maybe I didn't cry, but seriously his performance was amazing. Ted Raimi also stars and plays 3 different roles and he was amazing in all 3. I just love seeing Bruce and Ted together again in a movie. These two really work so well together.

My Name Is Bruce is strictly for Bruce Campbell fans I suppose if you don't know who Bruce is you might get some enjoyment, but odds are not much. But if you are a fan of the cult Icon that is Bruce Campbell buy this movie right away!

As for the Blu-ray; while the picture quality is solid at times you can notice the low budget, but I've read some negative reviews on the quality and I don't think it's fair. Granted this may not be the best Blu-ray out on the market, but it's still pretty good. I bought this here on Amazon and at the time it was only $1 more for the Blu-ray so it was more than worth it. The features are solid and are the same as the Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good low budget parody movie, February 10, 2009
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On the scale of low budget movies that are tongue in cheek this is a good one. Ok, on the regular scale of movies this would make some movie watchers dismiss this as a low budget horror comedy. I don't think that you have to be a Bruce C fan to enjoy his self parody of a fallen star who is gets some redemption from his disgusting lifestyle. Bruce has always been able to inject comedy into his movies but this time it's the reason for this movie. There are some people in the film industry that are as loathsome and self destructive as the character that bruce protrays here. But's It's not a true picture of the real Bruce C. This character is a total washout as a human being until he finds redemption
and courage due to bravery of one of the characters fans.
This movie is over the top and everything is played to the comedic except of course for bloody violence that is done by the bean curd protecting monster. And Bruce who has done alot of roles that had no campy element in them does excel in this type of comedic role. So this only shows that the man can excel in either field. This movie looks excellent on blu ray so this is the superior
version to have. However if you don't like low budget horror movies
and bruce has been a few classics of that genre, you may still enjoy this sometimes silly movie because it's a comedy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What would Bruce Campbell do?", February 10, 2009
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
B-movie icon Bruce Campbell pokes gleeful fun at his fans and himself in My Name is Bruce, in which the Evil Dead star plays himself and directs. When die hard Bruce Campbell fan Jeff (Taylor Sharpe) unwittingly unleashes a decapitation-happy Chinese demon (James J. Peck)in his small Oregon town, he kidnaps his hero in the hopes that Bruce's on-screen monster slayings will translate in reality. Naturally, things don't work out too well as Bruce thinks the whole thing is an elaborate joke, and decides to take more time in wooing Jeff's mother (Grace Thorsen). Loaded with in-jokes aplenty, appearances from many Evil Dead series vets (including Ted Raimi in three roles), and some great physical comedy from Campbell, My Name is Bruce is frequently funny and makes the most out of its running time. Though there are times when its small budget becomes apparent, My Name is Bruce is a fun blast that finds the Evil Dead icon in great form, and needless to say, this film is a must-see if you consider youself a Bruce Campbell fan in any way, shape, or form. The DVD also includes a very funny and interesting making-of called "Heart of Dorkness", which finds Bruce and his cast and crew having some good fun behind the scenes, as well as plenty of other extras including a look at the deliriously bad faux-film Cave Alien 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Know Fear Kid, You've Never Worked with Sam Raimi, June 30, 2009
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
Bruce Campbell is a national treasure even if most of the nation doesn't know who he is despite appearing in all three Spider-Man movies (granted he played three different characters). But he was part of my formative years thanks to Army of Darkness and The Adventures of Brisco County Jr. Really, if the MTV Movie Awards were still hip and relevant, they would have giving him, or at the very least Ash, the Lifetime Achievement Award.

It is the cult like following that is the basis of My Name Is Bruce where Campbell plays the title character, himself. His exaggerated version of himself is a callow, egomaniacal hack who is hated by his co-workers, his ex-wife, and his agent (Ted Raimi in one of his three roles). The only people that don't hate him are his legions of fans, but he's working on alienating them too. But it is one zealous fan who just so happened to unleash the Chinese war deity Guan Di that figures the one person that could help him would be the star of Evil Dead and Maniac Cop 2.

But when the fan kidnaps Campbell, he goes along with it thinking it is an acting gig set up by his manager. And then the hilarity ensues. One drawback of My Name Is Bruce is the fake real life Bruce doesn't exactly live up to the humor or wit of his onscreen version like Ash. And you wish for more catchphrases that you come to expect from Bruce characters. But this movie makes up for it in the terms of musical numbers and has plenty of in-jokes for the hard core Bruce fans and a few cameos from Evil Dead alums.

The big draw to the My Name Is Bruce DVD are the extra like the behind the scenes documentary that is almost as long as the movie itself. There is also a behind the scenes look at the movie within a movie that Bruce is filming, as well as a trailer for the fake flick included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What would Bruce Campbell do?", February 10, 2009
B-movie icon Bruce Campbell pokes gleeful fun at his fans and himself in My Name is Bruce, in which the Evil Dead star plays himself and directs. When die hard Bruce Campbell fan Jeff (Taylor Sharpe) unwittingly unleashes a decapitation-happy Chinese demon (James J. Peck) in his small Oregon town, he kidnaps his hero in the hopes that Bruce's on-screen monster slayings will translate in reality. Naturally, things don't work out too well as Bruce thinks the whole thing is an elaborate joke, and decides to take more time in wooing Jeff's mother (Grace Thorsen). Loaded with in-jokes aplenty, appearances from many Evil Dead series vets (including Ted Raimi in three roles), and some great physical comedy from Campbell, My Name is Bruce is frequently funny and makes the most out of its running time. Though there are times when its small budget becomes apparent, My Name is Bruce is a fun blast that finds the Evil Dead icon in great form, and needless to say, this film is a must-see if you consider youself a Bruce Campbell fan in any way, shape, or form. The Blu-Ray also includes a very funny and interesting making-of called "Heart of Dorkness", which finds Bruce and his cast and crew having some good fun behind the scenes, as well as plenty of other extras including a look at the deliriously bad faux-film Cave Alien 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy, Yet Delicious!, August 17, 2009
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
Demons, comedy and Bruce all wrapped into one? Of course. It's worked numerous times before, and I'll be damned if I didn't enjoy this one just as much as the others. Colorful characters within a tightly woven script. Well about as tightly woven as a B-Horror/Comedy film has to offer, but done with precision and timing. Mr. Campbell yet again sticks a middle finger up in the air for all the special effects driven and/or soggy-love stories that hollywood has to offer and does nothing more than attempt to entertain the masses with his signature style. If you're a fan of the man or the genre, then you won't be disappointed. WARNING: Not for children or boring ass chumps that wouldn't know a good laugh if it stared 'em in the face with a can of bean curd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Delirious Vehicle That Allows Campbell Fans to Relish In His Campy Greatness, July 23, 2009
This review is from: My Name Is Bruce (DVD)
Last night I had the privilege of seeing My Name is Bruce. Mr. Campbell was actually at the theatre to help promote the film. As a longtime Bruce fanatic I was overcome with child-like giddiness when he came out to answer questions. The man is THE definition of cool. If you ever have the chance to meet him do yourself a favor and go, you will not be disappointed!

My Name is Bruce revolves around the plot that an accidentally awakened Chinese Demon is about to murder all the residents of a tiny Oregon town. A young teenager has convinced the authorities that their only hope is legendary B-Movie Star Bruce Campbell. It's completely ridiculous and an absolute riot at the same time. The main gag is that Bruce isn't a super cool, outgoing and appreciative movie star; rather he is a womanizing, drunken, cowardly douche-bag. Oh, and he has no clue that the Demon is real and not some elaborate ruse set up by his agent.

Bruce plays "himself" way over the top and its pure joy to witness. It goes without saying that if you even remotely enjoy Campbell, you will love this film. From the director's chair, Campbell melds the slapstick horror humor of Army of Darkness with the brutal beheadings of Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow. My Name is Bruce is more funny than scary, but really the film is just a vehicle to allow fans to relish in the greatness of Campbell. Even though he runs the gamut of deplorable acts it's still easy to love him! Bruce eventually has a "coming of age" moment though it's still not that profound (and he remains a cantankerous scumbag pretty much till the bitter end). As an added treat you get not one, but three separate roles from the always dependable Ted Raimi. Sure goofy sound effects and hammed up acting normally make a movie unwatchable, but in this case it all adds to the campy charm. Experiencing this in a theatre packed with Campbell fanatics was merely icing on an already deliriously scrumptious cake.

Preposterous, outlandish and absurd...these are all words that perfectly exemplify My Name is Bruce. Honestly, it's actually a compliment since that is exactly what the film-makers set out to create. Bruce Campbell's life and career IS absurd and ludicrous, so a movie about it would certainly need to dial it up to eleven. I could have used a little more gore, and perhaps a new Campbell catchphrase. Regardless, this coupled with Bubba Ho Tep proves that Bruce Campbell is still at the top of his game. Hail to the King, baby.

Final Grade: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Name is Bruce
My Name is Bruce by Bruce Campbell
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.