Customer Reviews


358 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but stangely touching
At the risk of sounding like a pretentious academic at a film school this movie works on a couple of different levels. Sergio Leone's movies always did. This movie is a satirical take not only on the Sphaghetti Western but also on many of the westerns being made in the late sixties and early seventies. Not by chance is this movie set in 1899 - the end of the Nineteenth...
Published on April 1, 2000 by Jeff Cordell

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie GOOD....Quality of DVD....HORRIBLE.
I love this movie, a unique vision of european/western romanticism, accentuated by ,the youthful vigor of Hill (Nobody) and the weary, retrospective, aging gunfighter Fonda (Jack Beauregard). A movie I enjoyed as a youngster, and I still enjoy now. HOWEVER, its hard to enjoy a movie, any movie, when there are so many DVD dropouts and image distortions. The DVD I...
Published on June 4, 2005 by J. Dorsey


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but stangely touching, April 1, 2000
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [VHS] (VHS Tape)
At the risk of sounding like a pretentious academic at a film school this movie works on a couple of different levels. Sergio Leone's movies always did. This movie is a satirical take not only on the Sphaghetti Western but also on many of the westerns being made in the late sixties and early seventies. Not by chance is this movie set in 1899 - the end of the Nineteenth century. Here you have the young man who has been raised on a steady diet of stories about his hero and his exploits against impossible odds. Now his hero is old and simply wants to quit while he can still enjoy his retirement. The frontier is just a memory and he wants to go. The young man won't let him - he's a legend and by god he'll go out like he lived - in a blaze of glory. Like so many of Leone's movies this little oddball comedy western is actually a take on the end of an era, memories, myth and reality. Yes it is funny with a couple really great comedic setpieces. The soundtrack by Morricone is both stirring and wacky. And it is very free with historical and technical details, but who cares? This isn't a documentary it's a movie about how we make myths out of life. And if you think that I've made too much out of this movie then you just made my point about this movie. See it and then decide. I suppose this is a sterotype but this strange, moody and romantic genere could only have come out of Italy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The WHAM DVD Version, July 30, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [IMPORT] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of the Sergio Leone/Ennio Morricone westerns, and was absolutely thrilled and excited to find that "My Name Is Nobody" was finally available on DVD. So here's a review of the DVD version:
PICTURE QUALITY: It's okay...not nearly as sharp and beautiful as the DVD release of "The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly" for instance. You probably won't consider this the definitive release of this film on disc...it seems at times slightly out-of-focus...not enough to distract from the story, but enough to prevent the viewer from basking in the glory of the location shots, etc. However, it is presented in true widescreen, so you do get a lot more "picture" than with the VHS versions. Finally, you really can see all of the "wild bunch" as they race towards Henry Fonda...what a treat!
SOUND: The sound on the DVD is relatively good...but the music seems to have been recorded too "hot"...in other words, when the music gets loud, it tends to distort and crackle. This is not good news for Morricone fans. Aside from that though, the voices and sound effects are clear and true.
EXTRAS: The DVD features a bio of Morricone, and even presents the "soundtrack" itself, so that you can click on a particular song title and simply listen to it like a music CD. The quality of the audio on this portion is better than in the film itself.
In conclusion, this isn't the definitive "My Name Is Nobody" on DVD. If you buy it, chances are you'll still hope against hope that a legitimate, remastered version will come along someday. But it is certainly better than watching the pan-and-scan VHS version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Western Ever, February 25, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [IMPORT] (DVD)
I have seen many comedy westerns including Cat Ballou, Blazing Saddles, and City Slickers. None have made me laugh harder than "My Name is Nobody". Henry Fonda plays a retiring gunfighter, Jack Beauregard, for the law while Terence Hill plays a comedic young gunfighter, Nobody, for good. His methods are quite different and should keep you in stitches more than once. The scenes at the Circus can't be beat. Although he is proficient with a gun, you never see him kill anybody to make his point. Did I mention the musical score by Ennio Morricone is great? As mentioned in a good review, laurie's boomer views, you can play just the soundtrack. I love Morricone's happy go lucky intro song , My Name is Nobody, and all the western themes that dramatize the scenes with Beauregard. I do hope this will be released on DVD in the US and for a lower price. The import quality lacks a little to be desired so I am hoping for a better transfer of the master in the future. The WHAM! version menu is overly red and the Bio has Henry Ford instead of Fonda as the name, but the bio is correct. The DVD is decent quality with a only a few screen glitches and the sound is good. The occasional graininess can't be helped since the original VHS quality was no better and probably the master print wasn't sharp. I don't regret getting the DVD since this is a great movie and my VHS is wearing out.

I originally wrote this review in 2003, it is now 2014 and I still find this to be one of my favorite Westerns of all time. I first saw this movie on TV while at my closest friends house around 1978. Back then you couldn't buy it on VHS Tape and you could only record it if you had lots of money for a VCR recorder. So happened he had one. Now it's on DVD, Blu Ray, and Digital. The movie continues to entertain most that see it, and fortunately you can get a good copy on DVD now. I notice from some reviews that some people just don't get the humor. Quentin Tarantino did, just look at Kill Bill 2. Kill Bill 2 had the same kind of over the top wacky humor with a Spaghetti Western style blended into a modern drama. Sergio Leone did My Name Is Nobody in a similar style over forty years ago. This movie was meant to be serious and silly at the same time and it has a great moral tale to boot. I enjoy most Spaghetti Westerns and I loved those with Clint Eastwood and Lee Van Cleef, but this movie is a nice cross of those with more wacky comedy. By the way this movie was made in 1973, not 2005.

CA Luster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sergio Leone Production.., May 3, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody (DVD)
For those who haven't seen this flick, it is a great movie in a semi-Leone style. Terence Hill and Fonda are most suitably cast in a story of an aging gunfighter who is planning to retire and a younger man who has idloized him his whole life.

For those looking to upgrade, the transfer on this new Image dvd release is FAR SUPERIOR to the older WHAM dvd release.

No extras at all but the main menu does feature several actual scenes from the film with Morricone's score playing in the background. No theatrical trailer.

It is said that Leone himself actually directed two or three scenes from the movie. Reason enough to buy. Give it a watch and see if you can identify the Leone directed scenes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Name Is Nobody, November 21, 2003
By 
Benjamin O. Simmons (Kansas City, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [IMPORT] (DVD)
"My Name Is Nobody" 1973 (Released in U.S. in 1974)
Rated: PG
Director: Tonino Valerii
Starring: Henry Fonda (Jack Beauregard), Terrence Hill (Nobody)
Music by: Ennio Morriconne
Running Time: 1 hour and 55 minutes
Entertaining Spaghetti Western based on an idea from and produced by Sergio Leone (of "Fistfull of Dollars" fame) featuring Terrence Hill as the title character, a mild-mannered drifter, who just happens to be the fastest gun in the west.
The movie is set in 1899 in the waning days of the wild west in America (the movie was filmed in the American southwest and Spain). An aged gunfighter, Jack Beuaregard (Fonda), the west's most famous gunslinger, is worn out by the rigors of his trade and plans to retire to Europe. "Nobody" has grown up admiring Beauregard (he can quote from memory each of his victims) and follows him about the southwest attempting to get him to face the Wild Bunch, a band of 150 gunmen, so that he can "go out in style".
Eventually Beauregard agrees and together they hatch a plan to take on all 150 of the Wild Bunch at one time.
This movie is a comedic western that features top-notch performances by its two leads as well as a magnificent soundtrack (as always) by Morricone.
The movie is chock full of memorable scenes, especially the opening sequence in the barber shop and the showdown with the Wild Bunch (who's every appearance in the film is heralded by Morricone's version of Wagner's "Ride of the Valkyries"). Look also for a nod to Sam Peckinpah (in addition to the Wild Bunch) in the cemetary scene with Beauregard and Nobody.
This is a great film that can be viewed by the whole family and can be enjoyed many times over. If you enjoy the genre, you'll love this movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best spaghetti western ever!, October 29, 2001
By 
DF "avid reader D" (East of the Mississippi) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is my favorite spaghetti western! It is a hoot! The basic elements of your Clint Eastwood spaghetti westerns are there - the mysterious, gun-slinging stranger, the rough-edged characters, lots of shooting and violence... But the movie is a comedy, a spoof of spaghetti westerns, as well. It is quite well done, with very good acting and an amusing plot that revolves around a "mysterious stranger" and his efforts to make his hero, Henry Fonda, go down in the history books. The fellow's name is Nobody, and on that hangs the plot. I have loved this movie since it came out, and have watched it numerous times over the last 20 years. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love It Or Hate It, NOBODY Remains A Singular Vision, October 31, 2013
I’m the atypical male in that I generally abhor slapstick. Not all slapstick (that’s why I said ‘generally’) but most of it. Three Stooges-type stuff? I just never found it funny or all that inventing as a storytelling much less comic device. Still, true slapstick has a very loud following – much of it men – and, despite the passage of time, like an old gunfighter it just refuses to die. How fitting is it then that this comic form would somehow find its way into a classic Western? One conceived and produced by no less a legend than Sergio Leone? And even one starring acting legend Henry Fonda?

Argh! MY NAME IS NOBODY is a West too wild to tame!

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and characters. If you’re the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you’re accepting of a few modest hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)

Jack Beauregard (played with accomplished grace by the late Henry Fonda) is one of the West’s most accomplished and notorious gunfighters; still, all he’d like to do now is escape the clutches of history and live out his days in a peaceful retirement. Finally, he’s intent on doing just that, but the impetuous young gun who calls himself Nobody (Terence Hill in a starry-eyed performance) thinks Jack should meet his end different, being embraced by the history he’s made but running so hard to get away from. If he has anything to say about it, Nobody will make that dream of his come true … even at the cost of Jack’s life!

I don’t want to browbeat anyone over the issue of comedy (i.e. the aforementioned slapstick). On the humor front, I’ll simply say this: it works about fifty percent of the time it’s used in MY NAME IS NOBODY. I don’t like the camera trickery, though – speeding up frames in order to make someone look like a faster draw than they truly are – because it’s obvious and, when it’s used, it ends up pulling me out of the narrative instead of pulling me in. That’s the downside to special effects like that whenever they’re employed, and I suspect director Tonino Valerii knew it was a calculated gamble.

But if NOBODY had been done without its shticky humor, I happen to think that the film probably wouldn’t be as wildly revered as it is by those who revere it.

See, the dirty little secret is that the American Western has been dubbed the only truly unique American story. It embraced a specific vision – one with wide vistas and rugged people with flinty stares aimed down the barrel of their guns – and it utilized specific themes – individualism, the pursuits of justice, the taming of lawlessness, etc. While those are all present in NOBODY, the story as conceived by Sergio Leone is clearly meant to poke fun at all of it not as a disservice or disrespect to the history of the Western but rather to thumb its nose and say, “Enough already with the seriousness.”

That’s why the comedy works the way it does here. True, humor is a difficult concept; as many people laugh as they do smirk or as they do moan, but it’s very clear where the jokes are in NOBODY. It’s almost as if Fonda and Hill were winking at the camera though they never did. They ‘got’ it. They never cared whether the audience ‘got’ it. And that was probably half of the fun.

Beyond the laughs, NOBODY remains a legitimate contender alongside any of Leone’s other films. (There, I said it!) It has the same scope, feel, texture, grit, and passion of anything else he contributed to, and I’ve no doubt the two leads enjoyed chewing scenery together. Separately, they have their moments; yet in those scenes that they’re together the chemistry is palpable. It isn’t often that you get two acting geniuses doing what they do best; since this was Fonda’s last Western, that may be why. But Hill’s take on the film is that it remained one of his favorites.

Though others may disagree, I can certainly understand why.

MY NAME IS NOBODY: 40TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION (1973) is produced by Rafran Cinematografica, Les Filmes Jacques Leitienne, Imp.Ex.Ci, Alcinter, Rialto Film Preben-Philipsen. DVD distribution is being handled by RLJ Entertainment. As for the technical specifications, the film looks and sounds astonishingly solid, but, unless I miss my guess, this appears to be simply a Blu-ray issue of a 2002 remaster; still, I’m no expert in that regard. Also, I’d be remiss if I didn’t point out that the film on its original release won the 1974 Golden Screen Award (Germany) designed to recognize films that receive a high percentage of movie-ticket sales for its release window; that’s nothing to sneeze at. Lastly – as is sadly the case when some of these older films find contemporary release – there are no special features to speak of; I would’ve liked something given the fact that these film is 40 years old (no retrospective?), but I guess it wasn’t meant to be.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. MY NAME IS NOBODY is a divisive film. Those who love it tend to do so for very specific reasons – the humor, Sergio Leone’s participation, Terence Hill or Henry Fonda fans – while those who hate it usually cite the exact same detriments – the humor, Sergio Leone’s participation, or they’re not fans of Terence Hill or Henry Fonda. Whatever your tastes, if you like Westerns, then NOBODY should be on your must-see list for that reason alone: Leone’s vision – while it may be flawed – is still one of the most impressive scopes ever applied to that singular American story (the Western), and it boasts some of the best (and debatably the most ill-conceived) cinematography of its kind.

In the interests of fairness, I’m pleased to disclose that the fine folks at RLJ Entertainment provided me with a DVD copy of MY NAME IS NOBODY: 40th ANNIVERSARY EDITION by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY EXCELLENT CONTENT,VERY CHEAP EDITING, December 10, 2000
By 
Paul Girard (Montréal, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Was looking for this video for years. I needed it since it's one of my all times favorite. You gotta have it too. This is Leone's masterpiece in its kind: all the elements of the spaghetti western plus the comedy part. Can't beat that. Sure, I bought it. Only thing is, it's a shame to have THAT specific edition in my collection. It is stuffed with mistakes and the cover is totally lame. First, it has written on it the cast from another Leone's movie with Quebec actor Robert Charlebois(wich they even spelled Charlesbois and that you guys at Amazon should carry). Also,they'd better have sticked to the groovy original hand drawn cover of Nobody and his red sock with a hole in it...Finally, the opening sequence is the original one written in italian. In one word, if you are looking for the famous MY NAME IS NOBODY, this is it. Go for it but if you are a maniac like me you can expect a little deception from this particular edition. Very sloppy one. If you're the average movie collector and are only looking for the content, it'll do for you.
What a great movie....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Westen Comedy of All Time, November 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is far better than even Blazing Saddles. The best part is that despite the comedy it has a certain real feel to it. Terence Hill playes a young up-and-coming gun slinger who is determined to make Jack Beauregard, played by Henry Fonda, a legend. Unfortunately all Jack wants to do is retire and move to Europe. The two eventually become friends as Nobody follows Jack across the west tring to get him to take on the Wild Bunch.
Anyone who has seen a Terence Hill movie knows that they will leave you rolling on the floor laughing. Well this one is the best. Its also in enough tast that you would have no problem letting the entire family watch this one(which is rare indeed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "what's your name anyway?" "Who me? ....No-body.", March 15, 2007
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody (DVD)
This is my all-time favorite film. I originally recorded it on Beta when in college. Normally I don't like silly action movies, but I made an exception for this one because it made up for it in so many ways. It's about a passing of the torch from one generation to the next, and it's full of comedy, but it was the ideas which parallelled real life that made it work for me. Like how we all need heroes to inspire us, or at least something to believe in. It's also about the way life changes, how childhood innocence gets replaced by the hard realities of adulthood. "Nobody" represents this youth and innocence, seemingly unaware of his own mortality as he follows around his idol Jack Beauregard, and making sure Jack's legend is cemented in the history books. Along the way we find that "Nobody" is every bit as fast as his hero, except that he's chosen a different method to display his skills. Unlike Jack, "Nobody" is a fun-loving clown who craves attention and fame ("I like folks ta see me."), except rather than basking in the spotlight he chooses to fly under the radar in order to avoid the pitfalls that come with such fame. In contrast to his goofy exterior, Nobody is smarter than he lets on, he enjoys playing people (I guess I liked this film so much because I related so well to the title character). The movie contains one of the all time classic bar scenes in which Nobody wins a drinking game by fooling everyone, then using his amazing speed, he embarrasses the bar bully by slapping him silly. (this scene was resurrected and used in a nationally televised phone commercial in 2006) In the spirit of 1970's spaghetti westerns, both of our heros' shooting skills are wildly exagerrated. They are the very best of their generations, and a climactic showdown between the two is inevitable. I won't say who wins because the answer to that is what made this movie so memorable. The post-fight narrative is priceless, with Henry Fonda's voice providing the perfect commentary (This is my favorite part of the film). For me the movie is a profound commentary on real life. It points out how modern culture was making the role of the gunfighter obsolete, and it speaks to how times change, and how once idealic figures and lifestyles can become extinct (a good example is the fall of the Italian Mobs, and indeed the spaghetti western genre itself), and how, in the face of all this, we must make a decision - to step aside (like Jack), to continue on (and die), or as in Nobody's case, to find a way to do both, by fooling everyone!! I just love when films come full circle, and when certain themes repeat themselves ( like Jack teaching Nobody to wield his gun as a deterrent when getting a shave). This film had it all: glorified heroes, wild gunfights, clever motifs, comedy, an unforgettable title, AND, the great music of Ennio Morricone! ("Just one more piece of advice from an old-timer; when you're gettin a shave and a cut, make sure the right man's wearin the jacket")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Name Is Nobody
My Name Is Nobody by Tonino Valerii (DVD - 2005)
$19.99 $10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.