Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good once it got going
It started off a little slow. It was easy to get the point of Melissa's struggles with Tye. It seemed to drag on a bit. Once it picked up, I really enjoyed her story. I've always liked her, so it was nice to hear her perspective and behind the scenes truths.
Published 9 months ago by Maggie Robarts

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stream-of-Conciousness Ramblings From A Psychotic TV Star That I Used to Like
I used to like Melissa Rycroft until I read her book--instead of the innocent girl-next-door she comes across as a complete whackjob who does nothing but blabber on and on about her insecure feelings about men. This book sounds like she just talked into a tape recorder as she'd be talking to one of her girlfriends, then they transcribed the words without proper editing...
Published on August 5, 2012 by Mediaman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stream-of-Conciousness Ramblings From A Psychotic TV Star That I Used to Like, August 5, 2012
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
I used to like Melissa Rycroft until I read her book--instead of the innocent girl-next-door she comes across as a complete whackjob who does nothing but blabber on and on about her insecure feelings about men. This book sounds like she just talked into a tape recorder as she'd be talking to one of her girlfriends, then they transcribed the words without proper editing because it's filled with contradictions and repetitiveness. And the thing you're most interested in, background details on The Bachelor and Dancing with the Stars, are almost completely missing.

This book is about one thing--Melissa Rycroft falling for a Texas guy named Tye. It's really their story but we're only hearing Melissa's side of it. The first 44 pages could be summarized in one sentence: after a year of dating occasionally she wanted a love commitment and Tye wasn't interested. There--I just saved you having to trudge through her acting like a basket case in crying over a guy she liked.

Then she went nuts and flew into a screaming rage. When she got no reaction from him she spent the next few months rehashing the breakup with others before one of her friends put in an application for her with the TV show The Bachelor. Her behavior during this time period is so psychotic that it's hard to believe any of her friends would stick by her. Maybe they sent her away on The Bachelor to stop having to hear her crazy rehashing about Tye's faults over and over again, which is what she does throughout the book.

When it gets to the section on the show, there are few details as to what went on. She does not give any specifics beyond the first night and the final rose ceremony. Possibly she was contractually barred from it but it makes the book much less interesting. When she gets back from being engaged to Jason, Tye is waiting for her and has suddenly decided he wants her! He must have caught her psychosis, or he was just a typical competitive guy who wanted to prove no Bachelor star was going to beat him. So she goes out with him. Huh? She's secretly engaged to another man! This is a woman who has no idea how to deal with men or handle relationships. She blames it all on the two guys (who end up going stone silent when she starts verbally assaulting them) but in truth this book shows exactly how not to be a female in a relationship. Her needy, insecure ramblings do nothing but turn guys off. And Tye is a textbook silent egotistical jerk that preys on insecure women and they fall for him.

She eventually gets to the part where Bachelor Jason breaks up with her, she goes back to Tye, she turns down being the Bachelorette and does Dancing with the Stars, all without saying much about any details. She marries Tye and turns into an entertainment correspondent who loves meeting celebrities, which is ironic since she says she first started to dislike Jason when he went on interview shows and began to like becoming a celebrity. It appears that this is just a woman who wants all the attention to be on her.

The contradictions in the book are numerous. At one point she said she never thought about people back home while on The Bachelor, then a couple paragraphs later says she thought often about Tye or her parents (who refused to be part of the show). She said when she got back she was no longer interested in Tye and didn't talk to him, then turns around and says she went out to eat with him or picked up the phone when he called. She claims to have morals and faith (and on her TV show is a vocal Christian) but she lies on her Bachelor questionnaire (failing to report her relationship with Tye). This woman is not being honest with herself.

The book is so poorly conceived and edited that much of the blame must be put on the editors who oversaw the production of the book. There is little in it beyond "I'm mad at Tye and confused why men act the way they do." It may be worth reading for those hungry to hear anything about what it's like to stay silent for five months about your engagement (no wonder these TV couples break up--it makes sense after reading this!). But it could have been an interesting behind-the-scenes story of what happens when a girl is plucked out of nowhere to become a TV personality. Instead it's just another story of a woman who wants to be Cinderella but doesn't know how to pick Prince Charming. She may call it reality but she still very much wants to live in a fantasy world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial., April 2, 2013
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
I don't watch the "Bachelor" so i only know who Melissa is from "DWTS." I wasn't a huge fan of her during either of the "DWTS" editions she was on, but she seemed like a nice enough person. So, out of curiosity, I picked up her book in my library and read it.

Well, for one thing, if you're looking for anything deep or any advice, forget it. She doesn't have anything like that to offer you. Instead, I found myself sort of disturbed when I was reading this by how needy and superficial she came across.

Basically, here's what happened. She dated this guy, Tye, who wasn't interested in committing to her, so he broke it off. She remained obsessed with him, pretty much stalking him. Then, she went on the "Bachelor," got dumped on TV, and then got a spot on "DWTS." How convenient that, once she starts getting all this attention, THEN all of a sudden he comes along and wants her back. She gets third place on "DWTS" and then, wham! bam! by the end of that year she and Tye are married.
Also how convenient that she gets married and engaged so quickly, and all before the guy who broke up with her on TV had his own wedding Coincidence? I think not. That whole thing was done far too quickly, probably to keep her name relevant.

She also comes off as a total hypocrite, criticizing how the guy from the "Bachelor" Jason and Molly (his now-wife) put their relationship to the test on national TV. Um, you were on the same show as them, and you were doing the same thing, sweetheart! Plus, now that you and your husband have your own TV show that just makes you sound like even more of a hypocrite.

Melissa comes off as someone who cannot handle any kind of rejection, and she seems like she has no idea how to function without a man in her life.

But it's not only her who comes off badly in this book. She makes her husband husband, Tye, sound like a complete opportunist. I dated a guy all through college who was exactly like she makes Tye sound. He broke up with me, and then a few months later wanted to get back with me once he found out I'd scored a better job than he had. THEN, all of a sudden, he wanted back in a relationship. (Unlike Melissa, though, I was not obsessed with him and I instead told him to go away and to lose my number.)

I really hope Melissa isn't raising her daughter to believe that this kind of behavior is acceptable-stalking and "capturing" the guy of your dreams, and I truly hope both she and Ty are more mature in real life than they sound in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing case of a woman's complete obsession with a man who rejects her, September 15, 2012
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
Melissa Rycroft is known around the world as the girl that Jason Mesnick changed his mind about on Bachelor Season 13. That is--he asked Melissa for marriage, then admitted he had changed his mind and wanted another chance at happiness with Molly Malaney. Melissa threw a televised tantrum, cursed Mesnick and stocked off the stage. Melissa stormed off the stage, and started giving interviews all over the country, and the world raged with her at Mesnick. What the world didn't know is that the 'real story,' Melissa's "Reality" was far different than she had portrayed in her self-serving book.

It was Melissa who cheated on Mesnick, with her now husband salesman Tye Strickland. Though she was engaged to Mesnick, she continued texting, seeing and dating Tye. Melissa admits now that she loved Tye, all through her engagement, even while promising Jason she would be his wife and stepmother to his son, while she made phone calls to talk to Jason's child. After ATFR, and mainly because of the onslaught of public sympathy, Melissa started receiving opportunities to make appearances all over. This was wonderful for Melissa, but she still had not come clean about cheating on Mesnick. In her book, she does admit this in a way, I guess, but still goes on to tar and feather both Jason and Molly Mesnick. Melissa calls Mesnick "starstruck" yet has become far more starstruck than the Mesnicks have ever seemed.

Melissa's book is little more than a disturbing blow by blow account of her stalkerish obsession with Tye Strickland. He made it clear time and again that he didn't even want a girlfriend, let alone marriage and family. But Melissa persisted, broke into Tye's home one night (very dangerous and wrong,) would attack his door in the wee hours of the morning until he was forced to let her in. (Luckily for Melissa, Strickland didn't exercise his option to call Dallas policeman. Her life would be very different if Strickland had not been so frightened of Melissa.) Melissa describes driving by his home and spying on him, and then writes: "Haven't we all done this?" I must say, no Melissa, not all women have spied on a man. And breaking in to a man's home is not only rare, and horribly dangerous, but probably a sign of severe psychological disturbance. Melissa devotes chapter on chapter to telling us how horrible Strickland was, how much of a misogynistic woman hating jerk he was to her. In the last chapters she claims, and this is really hard to believe, that Strickland just suddenly and inexplicably became the stalker, the one obsessed with Melissa! Not only is this extremely unlikely, but her motives for writing all this about the man who is now her child's father are baffling. I can't imagine wanting to bash the father of my children, even if we were divorced, to the entire world! Incomprehensible. My only thought on why Melissa has permanently slandered her own husband is that she wants to remedy the shame she must feel over the humiliation she endured when Mesnick admitted he really loved the beautiful Molly Mesnick. On the surface this may have seemed cruel, but her admissions in the book make the reader realize just how badly she has used and abused Mesnick, not the other way around!

If readers are looking for photos in Rycroft's My Reality, forget it. Melissa only included a very small number of photos easily located anywhere. She says absolutely NOTHING about her childhood, background, and very little about her mysterious parents. Many have wondered about Melissa's parents and why they have been kept hidden, or have been deliberately hiding during Melissa's public years as a cheerleader and then as a quasi-celebrity. No one has ever met them, practically. The Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders report that Melissa's parents never attended a single game. It has been wondered if Melissa is hiding her true ethnicity, which may be African American. While I certainly have no clue about this, if that is the case, it is truly a tragic situation. No one should be ashamed of their origins; beauty abounds in all cultures. I can only surmise that Rycroft's dogged pursuing of Strickland, who looks to be her physical opposite, might be an indication that Melissa does suffer from a high level of denial of who she is, and what she looks like.

There are also concerns about Melissa's mental health. In the past she suffered from bulimia, and an admittedly extremely low self image. Melissa has grown alarmingly and shockingly thin in the last year. Photos taken when she won the mirror award at DWTS show a woman who is emaciated and haggard beyond recognition. This is worrisome as she doubtless is looked to as a role model by countless young girls, many of whom will be suffering from eating disorders. Melissa Rycroft is large boned, of average height, and I can say with a trained eye she looks to weigh about 90 pounds currently. Her appearance as of late reminds me of the late Karen Carpenter.

Rycroft is also a well known sufferer of depression, and severe post partum disturbance. Her book could have been a wonderful medium to reach others suffering from this painful affliction, and could have meant an immeasurable difference in the lives of thousands of new mothers and babies. But incredibly, Melissa makes no mention whatsoever as to her experiences of PPD in her book My Reality. Many woman will purchase this book or kindle hoping for information about Melissa's experience with PPD. They will have purchased the book in vain. There is no mention of her PPD, no photos of Melissa's background or family, no more than a mention of her pregnancy.

Buyer beware; people can buy My Reality if they wish. I wish I had not, especially full price! I'd hoped for a real telling of her experience with PPD, something I could relate to as a women. Instead the book is a story of a woman in the grips of a hopeless romantic obsession over an average man who had to be stalked and threatened into a relationship. Who would want to 'win' a man in this fashion?

My Reality is a colossal disappointment and should have been titled something like, How I Forced Tye Strickland to Marry Me and Fooled and Slandered Jason and Molly Mesnick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, September 16, 2012
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
I picked this book at from the library because it was...well, just sitting there while I was checking out and I thought, "Why not?" I watch "The Bachelor" and "The Bachelorette" shows on and off and have even had a friend on "The Bachelorette" so I'll admit it can be good TV --- a guilty pleasure. So, I was familiar with Melissa as I watched the season she was on. This book ----- blows. Not sure whose idea it was to give this girl a book contract but it is BORING, pointless and I felt like I was reading a Teen People magazine article. Oh wait, those articles at least give somewhat decent advice, whereas this book gives none. I don't think it's okay for women to chase after men who have no interest in them and then write a tell-all book when they "capture" the guy of their dreams. Bad message for women!! I agree with previous reviews that her now-husband sounds like a jerk or was truly not into her (flash over to "He's Just Not That Into You") until she got her 15 minutes in Hollywood. I think it's pathetic and sad that she went back to Tye after his non-chalant, uncaring ways. Really...just such a poor read... I had thought Melissa was a nice reality TV person, but this book shows her to be simple, sexist and kind of plain ol' sad when it comes to being with men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Debatably the stupidest book, June 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Reality (Kindle Edition)
I had to read this for a class that dissected reality tv and this book was such a waste of time. I'm sure to some degree it met the criteria of what the class's goal was but it's just so annoying. If you don't watch or enjoy the bachelor and have to read this book then be ready for a very stupid story about the people involved with that stupid show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pathetic, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Reality (Kindle Edition)
Not a very interesting read. Melissa comes across as extremely needy and superficial. Her husband isn't much better. Hope they have matured recently since they now have a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a fairytale..., December 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
Melissa really does have a great story to tell - there have been hundreds of contestants on The Bachelor, and Melissa has probably turned her stint on the show into one of the biggest successes, with two appearances on Dancing with the Stars, acting as a correspondent for shows like GMA and Entertainment Tonight, and having her own reality show about her life with her family.

I really wanted to read this because I was interested about more details on her time with The Bachelor, but that's not really what this book is about. I know contestants sign a confidentiality agreement, so that's probably why she is pretty vague about her time on the show.

Instead, the majority of her book is really about her on-and-off relationship with boyfriend Tye, who is now her husband. Their relationship was initially unhealthy and very one-sided, with her desperate for his love and him only giving her the time of day when it suited him.

When she gets back from The Bachelor, all of a sudden Tye has a change of heart and she has to fight him off while she tries to make her TV-made engagement with Jason work. When Jason dumps her on national TV, Tye is there for her and all of a sudden Melissa is a mini celebrity.

Melissa has a very likable personality, but she doesn't come off as very likable in the first chapters of the book. I was very embarrassed reading about her behavior during her relationship with Tye, and he seems like a total jerk. It's hard to understand why she even loved him in the first place, and why she took him back later on.

I feel that of Melissa, Jason, and Molly, Melissa definitely is the one who benefited from that whole scandal of him dumping her for Molly, so I don't really feel sorry for her about it anymore. Especially since she admits she still loved Tye the whole time and never really loved Jason. Yet, she still seems a little bitter about what happened, and gets a little hypocritical at two points when talking about Jason:

First, she criticizes him for being excited about going on Ellen and Jimmy Kimmel to promote The Bachelor before it aired, and notes that those types of things didn't impress her. Yet half of her book goes on to show how much she embraced the chance to be a celebrity and she details people she met, shows she went on, paparazzi following her, etc. Thus it seems like that kind of stuff DOES impress her, so her criticizing him in retrospect about that is just ironic.

Secondly, she makes a big statement about how she cherished her private life, and she wants to keep her career on TV and her private life at home. She talks about how she's sure what Jason and Molly went through after putting their relationship on TV (note: she was on the exact same show as them and did the same thing as them) made them stronger, but she would never want to put her relationship to that test.

But this past spring she and her husband and daughter had a reality show about their lives, so I'm confused about this change of heart?

I don't dislike Melissa at all, I think she's a beautiful girl with an outgoing personality which is perfect for TV, and more power to her for embracing the opportunities an undesirable situation provided. I just think that she was a little hypocritical at points, not that I expect her to be open-minded when it comes to Jason/Molly. Also, this "love story" with her husband was kind of sad and worrisome - they've been married for three years now and have a daughter, but the beginning of their relationship was very unhealthy, and it seems they rushed into an engagement and marriage after her Bachelor and DWTS stints. Just wasn't very romantic.

All that said, this was a very fast and easy read and did provide some insight to everything she went through leading up to and after The Bachelor. It was for the most part interesting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good once it got going, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Reality (Kindle Edition)
It started off a little slow. It was easy to get the point of Melissa's struggles with Tye. It seemed to drag on a bit. Once it picked up, I really enjoyed her story. I've always liked her, so it was nice to hear her perspective and behind the scenes truths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT read!, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
I really like Melissa! I already liked her before reading her book. She comes across as someone you could be best friends with. She's relatable and honest. If you are a Melissa fan or just want to get to know her a little better I would highly recommend her book! It's one that I could re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad read, October 22, 2013
This review is from: My Reality (Hardcover)
Not a very interesting read, Melissa Rycroft comes across as very needy and self absorbed. I hope her husband and her have grown up for the sake of their child. Melissa Rycroft got a career in television because she got dumped on national television not because of her talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Reality
My Reality by Melissa Rycroft Strickland (Hardcover - June 5, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.