My Reclamation
 
See larger image
 

My Reclamation

April 29, 2010

$0.99
  Song Title
Time
Popularity  
1
My Reclamation
3:57

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product Details

  • Original Release Date: April 29, 2010
  • Label: Samharris.Com
  • Copyright: 2010 Sam Harris
  • Total Length: 3:57
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B003KZIL6C
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #218,834 Paid in MP3 Albums (See Top 100 Paid in MP3 Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format:MP3 Music
MY RECLAMATION

When the river is too wide to cross
And the water is raging too fast

When we see the destination, but cannot make our way --
We will build a bridge of brotherhood and cross the river at last

When the air is cold and black with hate
And the fog of condemnation burns our eyes

When the shadows of oppression keep us hidden from the sun --
You can climb upon my shoulders until we reach the skies

For it's not enough to want it - need it
And deserving doesn't make it true

I believe hate fails and love prevails
Take a stand, demand justice overdue

Singing -
No one can take what is not theirs to give
No one can break you or choose how you live

And I don't need permission to have what is mine
This is my reclamation, this is my right divine

I am weary of hostility
And I am saddened by the ugliness of fear

I'm confounded by morality that builds a bitter wall
But I will bare my heart to you so all the world will hear

That it is not enough to want it - need it
Just to forward and delete

I believe hate fails and love prevails
Rejoice the choice, take our voices to the street

Singing -
No one can take what is not theirs to give
No one can break you or choose how you live

And I don't need permission to have what is mine
This is my reclamation, this is my right divine

For all those before us
For those yet to come
For the sons and the daughters of violent waters...

No one can take what is not theirs to give
No one can break you or choose how you live

And we won't go softly into the night......
...
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing song with an amazing message of equality May 14, 2010
Format:MP3 Music
Listen to the lyrics and you will find a plea... no a declaration! Not only is this song a great tune that you'll find yourself humming/singing along with, but it will make you think! As a long time follower of Sam Harris, I've watched him reach a place of personal growth and strength recently and I'm thrilled it has sparked his creativity in such a fantastic song! GO SAM!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars isn't enough May 15, 2010
By Teri
Format:MP3 Music
I am, admittedly, a huge Sam Harris fan. I fell in love with his voice 26 years ago in 1984 when he was on Star Search. Watching him win week after week and still having that "it's me? Really????" reaction just showed what a down to earth talent he was, with his mullet hair and those darn sneakers. I made sure to get both his Motown released albums. And then...silence.

When I heard he was doing musicals and was in a revival of Grease, I rushed out and bought that cd. I've been keeping track of his releases and have bought each new album. I couldn't praise his voice enough. Then I saw him on the internet with his vlogs ("Hellow, vlog people!") and had to join his You Tube community. I think I drove my roommate nuts listening to his music and watching the vlogs.

Election night, 2008. Sam's vlog that showed his joy at President Obama's win and his extreme disappointment in the results of the Prop 8 vote tore me up. I knew what he was feeling, I just didn't have the words to express it. I hurt for Sam, Danny, and all my friends who had just been told, yet again, that they weren't good enough to claim the title of spouse legally.

This song, "My Reclamation" is more than just a song. It's a movement, it's an outreach, it IS a statement that I am just as good as anyone else and in the end, LOVE will truly be all that matters. Buy it, remember it, and live it. Sam sings it out for all who haven't got the ability to even say it. And he does it with style and grace and strength. The only word that comes close to describing this song is this: INCREDIBLE!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely astonishingly amazing!! May 9, 2010
Format:MP3 Music
One word, just three little letters: WOW! I admit that I am an avid Sam fan, so when he came out with this new song of course I immediately gave it a listen. And "WOW!" is what it comes down to. This song just completely blew me away. It instantly became pretty much my favorite song of all time. No joke. No exaggeration. The lyrics, the vocals, the music, everything about this song is just perfect, and it could not have come together any better. It's catchy, it's powerful, it's beautiful, it's breath-taking, it's REAL. It just doesn't get much better than this. I say this as a Sam fan, yes, but more importantly I say this as a person who enjoys music and love and life: you CANNOT go wrong with buying & listening to this song!!

But let's back up a little, shall we? Not having been alive enough years in 1984 (I was only 3!) to have seen Sam Harris' emergence into stardom with his incredible rendition of Over the Rainbow on Star Search, I only discovered his talent around a year ago. I had heard his voice before that, though: Grease - The New Broadway Cast Recording (1994 Revival) - Those Magic Changes. That is the only version of the song I will listen to, it is FAB.U.LOUS! So as it happened, I didn't have the CD on me so I was nosing around YouTube and discovered a video of the song which was sung exactly like that recording! I took note of the name: Sam Harris (as an aside, I saw a comment left on his YouTube of someone telling him he made it impossible for anyone else to sing that song. I wholeheartedly agree!!).

Since learning his identity I have been hooked on Sam. He's an wonderful person, who happens to be one of the most incredibly talented singer/songwriters EVER!!
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars my reclamation
Sam, Sam, Sam... You're simply the best!!! I've enjoyed your music since Star Search, and I'm still with you. I wish you'd record more! Read more
Published on February 10, 2012 by Ed in NYC
5.0 out of 5 stars A song to encourage you!!!!
Sam Harris has one of the most beautiful and strong voices that I know, and "My Reclamation" is a beautiful representation of his voice. Read more
Published on February 7, 2012 by David E. Jensen
5.0 out of 5 stars Best voice in the business!
Sam Harris is the best voice in the business! His song My Reclamation is a wonderful heartfelt song of equality!
Published on February 7, 2012 by R. Davis
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Song
I found this song about a year ago and it quickly became one of my favorite songs. To any member or friend of the GLBT community this song is an anthem and should be played non... Read more
Published on February 7, 2012 by Nathan
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Anthem
Sam Harris is a wonder. I've been a fan ever since his Star Search days. This song is probably his most heartfelt effort. Read more
Published on February 7, 2012 by R. Deason
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Sam!
I was introduced to Sam's music back in the '80s and was amazed by his wonderful range, power, and overall voice.
Through the years, he has never disappointed. Read more
Published on February 7, 2012 by Rich Lisney
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing...
Yet another amazing song from one of the un-sung (no pun intended) heroes of this gay generation. We know what a strong vocal force Sam has been for the last 25 years, but it is... Read more
Published on June 25, 2010 by S. Martin
5.0 out of 5 stars musical mastery with a message
Are you tired of all the "message" songs out there that abandon the art of music for the sake of hitting you over the head with the "message"? Read more
Published on June 24, 2010 by AFguy
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly fantastic song from an amazing artist
i can't say enough how incredibly moving this song is. sam harris is the type of artist who sings and writes songs that come deep within his heart and soul. Read more
Published on May 14, 2010 by Vicki Presley
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
This poignant song is beautifully sung by the talented Sam Harris.
Sam gets better and better. One of his best!
Published on May 14, 2010 by Tresa
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Look for Similar Items by Category

ARRAY(0xa38ffc3c)