Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NAMI Media Award Winner
NAMI: The Nation's Voice on Mental Illness ([...]) honored this movie with a 2001 Outstanding Media Award. it's excellent. A non-stereotyped portrayal of a person with mental illness and an at times difficult, but loving relationship with her sister. A true story. Book by the same name. It both opens minds and entertains. Great acting by Kathy Bates: an informative...
Published on November 28, 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair portrayl of mental illness; a nice portrayl of sisterly devotion
One sister is mentally ill: she is diagnosed as bipolar. The film's portrayl of bipolar disorder is not very accurate in that it is pretty sugar-coated. However, the support of her well-off business woman sister is quite nice. It's a Hallmark film, so it follows that it is simple and sweet. Kathy Bates does a good job.
Published on February 18, 2013 by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NAMI Media Award Winner, November 28, 2003
By A Customer
NAMI: The Nation's Voice on Mental Illness ([...]) honored this movie with a 2001 Outstanding Media Award. it's excellent. A non-stereotyped portrayal of a person with mental illness and an at times difficult, but loving relationship with her sister. A true story. Book by the same name. It both opens minds and entertains. Great acting by Kathy Bates: an informative contrast to her role in the movie Misery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Sister's Keeper, February 14, 2010
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
Christine, who since childhood has suffered from a debilitating mental illness. Spending most of her life in and out of various institutions, Christine has long yearned for independence, but is unable to wrest free of her controlling mother, Helen. Upon Helen's death, her other daughter, Judy, a successful, self-absorbed art director who has deliberately distanced herself from her family, is appointed trustee of the troubled Christine. The rest of the movie chronicles Judy's frustrated efforts to balance her sister's needs with her own, and Christine's ongoing ambition to stand on her own two feet. This movie does an excellent job of conveying the conflicts that exist among the mentally ill and their families, without beating the viewer over the head with a sentimental sledgehammer, or falling into the all-too-familiar trap of turning mental illness into great melodrama. This movie is very touching and moving. The acting is superb. An excellent movie and a outstanding Hallmark production. This is definitely a must-see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My Sister's Keeper" -- Hallmark Hall of Fame -- DVD, November 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
Helpful to see the "start" of a mental illness that baffles those around the affected individual. This DVD shows the effect of mental illness on the individual and on the family -- denial, the beginning awareness of a mental health issue, fear, shame, guilt, multiple crises, and eventual problem solving that helps the family heal, even in the absence of a cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair portrayl of mental illness; a nice portrayl of sisterly devotion, February 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
One sister is mentally ill: she is diagnosed as bipolar. The film's portrayl of bipolar disorder is not very accurate in that it is pretty sugar-coated. However, the support of her well-off business woman sister is quite nice. It's a Hallmark film, so it follows that it is simple and sweet. Kathy Bates does a good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My sister's keeper, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Know the power of love and understanding between sisters that faces differences in life and how they draw strength from each other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kathy Bates is the greatest, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
You can't go wrong with a movie starring Kathy Bates. The story was one that held your attention and told an excellent story about a disabled girl and her career oriented sister. This is a great Sunday afternoon on a wintery day type of movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars diffrent, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i was expecting something different but it was good movie i do recommend this movie many can relate to this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great hallmark, January 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
A great movie showing how it is to have a "special needs" sibling and how it it when you are older adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars loved it, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
loved it so much was very touching Will be glad tp purchase from this site again someday thanks so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, March 11, 2010
By 
JC (Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Sister's Keeper (DVD)
I was very happy to find this movie on DVD and equally happy to get it as quickly as I did! This seller gave terrific service and I would recommend highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper by Ron Lagomarsino (DVD - 2002)
$17.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.