Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2004
If you're looking for something that might tell a young child (preschool to grades 1 or even 2), a little bit about what the President does in a fun and entertaining, age-appropriate way - STOP LOOKING!! This is it. With lively, bright and amusing illustrations and simple, sparse text this book does an amazing job of summarizing the basic presidential duties for young children. It does so with two-spreads that draw analogies between what Oliver's teacher does in her daily teaching tasks (on the left page) and how that relates to presidential duties she'd have if elected (on the right side, complete with images of her as president). In that way, it presents the Presidential duties in a way and at a level that any child that has attended school can understand! Brilliant idea!! I also like the idea that it's a male student who wants a female for president. This is a great, subtle lesson. It also provides a great tribute to teachers of the world.

This book is FAR better than the only other book even close to appropriate on this topic for this age group that I found at the bookstore - "Duck for President," written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Betsy Lewin (which does even give kids a clue about what a president does).

If you're looking for something to "My Teacher for President" for older children (ages 8 up), I whole-heartedly recommend "So You Want to Be President?" written by Judith St. George and illustrated by David Small.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2005
My six year old son and I loved this book. It has irony that parents will smile at, and cute situations a kid will love. It compares the duties of a teacher to the president (quite favorably!) and is very funny and fun.

Highly recommended! Even if you didn't vote for the current president.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2005
Denise Brunkus illustrates a fine story of why a teacher should be president, in the eyes of Oliver: the teacher is used to being followed, attends lots of meetings, and gets people to pay attention... Oliver's imagination comes to life in a fine story celebrating teacher talents.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2008
When it comes to job responsibilities, the position of teacher has much in common with the position of the nation's president. A teacher and a president both need to attend lots of meetings, sign important papers, respond quickly during emergencies, find jobs for people, and promote peace in their work environments. The book's protagonist has a teacher who fulfills all these responsibilities and more, making her, in the eyes of the student, perfectly equipped to serve as the country's president. The appealing illustrations cleverly depict the alternating roles of teacher and president as the text describes particular job duties. My Teacher for President is a winner for teaching younger readers about occupational characteristics and tasks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
I used this book with my kindergarten class for a social studies lesson about what the President does, and it totally made them "get it." It draws easy parallels between a leader the kids know about (a teacher) and one they don't (a President). The book uses simple sentences and detailed pictures (the bulk of my class is English language learners), and after reading, my students could easily name 2-3 things the President does. The pictures are funny, and it was an all around enjoyable read for both me and the students.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2008
Oliver writes a letter to Channel 39, explaining why he believes that his teacher would make a great president. He refers to the fact that his teacher is used to being followed by everyone, goes to a lot of meetings, signs important papers, goes on trips, and cares about health care and the Earth - just like a president.

It is an endearing story and illustrates how significant the role of a teacher is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
I read this to Kinder and they absolutely loved it. Very great connections with them in this book. Also wonderful illustrations.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
We read this book in class in November. It is a cute story that shows the boy's teacher as president.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
We read this for election week this year and used it with two other stories to have our own election. A very cute story which my kinders really enjoyed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
kids really enjoyed it. plus was a wonderful opportunity to teach about the current election using this book to make the kids aware of the election.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.