Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book
hello this is a very great book i couldn't put it down.I just finshed it and it was terific!
Published on December 17, 2005

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad example for kids
Bought this book because it looked cute and fun, but became disappointed right away. I had to edit it as I read to my son. Every page has the word "dumb." It is full of insults and name-calling and shows lots of disrespect to adults. Not a good example for young kids.
Published 21 months ago by DW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad example for kids, March 30, 2013
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
Bought this book because it looked cute and fun, but became disappointed right away. I had to edit it as I read to my son. Every page has the word "dumb." It is full of insults and name-calling and shows lots of disrespect to adults. Not a good example for young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible language, July 9, 2014
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
Terrible language! Every chapter is littered with words like "dumb" "shut up" and "stupid," I understand kids will say these words but they are used so excessively the kids in the story come off as disrespectful and bratty. Also, there are a lot of references to hurting one of the little girls, the main boy can't wait to "wham her in the head" with a dodgeball and "wishes a backboard would crush her." Very disturbing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Choice for Young Impressionable Readers, August 13, 2014
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
The author of this trash is clearly trying very hard to relate to young boys, so much that he can't resist indulging himself in every boyhood stereotype he can exploit. According to just the first ten pages of this book, school is stupid, boys love sports, girls are stupid (particularly about sports), and when you call your peers names and make them cry, it's their own problem and you needn't apologize for it. Don't be misled by the book's cute title; your children deserve better than Mr. Gutman's pandering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book, December 17, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
hello this is a very great book i couldn't put it down.I just finshed it and it was terific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 2nd and 3rd graders loved it, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been reading this series to my kids before bed. Both kids are reluctant readers. My daughter, a total athlete, particularly enjoyed this one. My son has enjoyed them all. In fact one of these, Ms. Sunny is Funny, is the first book my daughter has EVER read voluntarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are Funny, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
My grand daughter who is seven just loves these books. She is reading the whole series. She thinks they are very funny.I am just glad she is reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
My daughter giggles when she reads these books! She is completely enjoying these. We will definitely be reading the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son is enjoying this book series after he finish ..., August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son is enjoying this book series after he finish one book he's eager to get to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series of books..., June 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
My students are ESE/EBD; grades 3, 4 & 5. They love these chapter books. The chapters are short, manageable, and simplistic verbage. It is a great starter series for students learning to read a chapter book. They have great pictures and are easy to understand. I have purchased 3 and plan on adding to the series....price is affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 30, 2007
This review is from: My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! (Paperback)
Great series for kids just starting to read chapter books. The books are appropriate for both boys and girls. My daughter is 8 and she is now up to book 13. This writer is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall!
My Weird School #5: Miss Small Is off the Wall! by Dan Gutman (Paperback - January 4, 2005)
$4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.