Automotive Deals Summer Reading Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 21, 2013
This a a good book for pre-trip planning, as it is well written, inspiring and evocative.
Not so good is the travel information, which is generally lacking, making it less practical to take with you to Myanmar.
This is aimed at mid-level to high-end accommodation, so not so much a backpacker's book. The tone of the book is a little too nostalgic. Things change. Myanmar has changed. So in some parts the author's opinion or experiences color the book too much, as if to say 'I have been there before you, and had more authentic experiences than you will ever have if you go now'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
we've been to this country twice before and
were looking for specific references~
so easy to find in this book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Get this bok if you want to have a guide book. LP and others waste too many pages on how to get around and where to sleep and eat.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
Looking forward to a trip to Myanmar in March. This book is a great overview and has beautiful pictures and very current information.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
I purchased this book to assist me in preparing for a trip to the largely unknown (to me) country of Myanmar (Burma) in advance of a trip with friends. This provided me with detail and back story to many of the sights and sounds of the trip. Beautiful photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
Informative, up to date, with regularly a very personal remark and/or observation. This is my kind of a guide. It has plenty information on Myanmar's history, the different people, the many sights.
If you want reviews of hotels and restaurants, this is not your guide. Enough are mentioned but the book is about what you see and what's behind it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
A pretty comprehensive description of the country - mainly for the more well-off traveller. the accounts of the various "tribes/clans/peoples" that make up this colourful and diverse country are fascinating!

Good stuff :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Great book and just what I was looking for. Very informative with precise locations and great photos. Would recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
I purchased this as a gift to my father who is from Burma. The illustrations in this book are beautiful. We hope to travel to Burma next year and this is serving as inspiration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.