Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Mysteries of the Bible Collection
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$149.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 23, 2008
I own the boxed set of this collection. Even though I was an avid fan of the show, I still re-watch the DVD episodes with rapt attention. Unlike many religious themed films, this series does not promote a specific point of view. Viewers of all faiths and denominations will find that it deepens and enriches their understanding and appreciation for the spiritual lessons of the Bible. Each episode is well-rounded, beautifully photographed and a complete delight to watch.

The Mysteries of the Bible series weaves questions about the Biblical figures, culture and spiritual meaning into a visual and intellectual feast. It combines actual footage of locations in the Bible with amazing religious art, captivating narration and answers from archeology and a spectrum of Biblical scholars. It's a formula that mesmerized fans for years. Who would have thought that a show like this would so captivate the non-scholars among us?

This series succeeded for so long because it recognized that readers of the world's most popular book want to know and understand more about the culture, context and deeper meanings of the Bible. You won't regret purchasing any of the episodes or DVD's. This series represents the best of the best.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2007
I love the series. It's early episodes were not nearly as good as later ones. I avidly tivo'd the series until I discovered it was on DVD. Great narration, excellent diverse commentaries, powerful quotes from the Torah or Bible (as applicable). It's an awesome giftset for anyone who wants to learn more about Judaism or Christianity.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2010
I can't say enough great things about this wonderful tv-series! It makes the Bible and biblical events come to life. While I don't know how many of the "mysteries" are "mysteries" because to me as a Methodist Christian it appears that God has clearly stated what He means in the Bible by most of these "mysteries," but other topics that are explored that God seems to be silent about in the Bible are fascinating to learn about via the professors and archaelogists that are in this dynamic series on the Bible. Do I agree with everything the scholars say about the Bible and some of the mysteries that are explored in this great series? Definitely no! However, if you love the Bible as much as I do as well as have an interest in knowledge; especially, biblical questions and mysteries, then this series is definitely worth buying! I haven't bought this dvd collection, yet, but I have rented the dvds and seen the tv series when it used to air on tv and it's a great DVD collection to add to your already pre-existing dvd collection! The price is affordable and well worth it! For the knowledge alone, I'm surprised that it doesn't cost well over $100 for this entire series! A & E should create new episodes of "Mysteries of the Bible" because no other documentary series about the Bible seems to be as good as this one.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2010
This is a "Best Of" set. Would like to see a volume 2 with eps like Job, Noah's Ark, Sodom and Gomorrah, etc. Overall a good collection.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
This is the seven disc series offered by A&E and still does not cover all the episodes put out by this series. I guess the remaining ones are on volume 2? Okay, so the 22 episodes offered here are all interesting and informative. What I liked best about the series is that they are going on the premise that everything in the Bible is to be looked at as fact. However, the series does offer the opinions of scholars that sometimes suggest otherwise and they pose some interesting facts and questions that do not always line up with archeological finds. When asked for their opinions, scholars will offer beliefs that do not always line up with most dogmatic ways of thinking, In other words, I understood this series to be unbiased and presented the facts fairly and allowed different opinions to be heard. Many of them which surprisingly do support many held beliefs we have all been taught.
When I first bought this series a few years ago, I watched it but really couldn't appreciate it. Now that I am actively involved in religious education, I see this series in a whole different light. It has the basic information for beginners, but also has many surprising facts that I still didn't know after many years of hard religious studies. I certainly recommend this set as a supplement to anyone's religious pursuits and it makes a great starting point for discussions as well. Well put together and well presented. Thanks for doing such a great job!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 10, 2011
This set is great for the casual learner. The set is getting dated - going back to the mid-90's, but not much has changed dramatically in the field of Biblical Archeology - which is largely the premise. The narration by Richard Kiley and Jean Simmons is pretty good, though cal lull you to sleep with the dulet tones. The content is good as well, with interview of scholars, archaeologists, religious, and others who interweave the various components together to explore some of the Bible's unanswered and unanswerable questions. The integration of Jewish and Christian thought is well done, and I believe that either Christian or Jew will find this set entertaining and enlightening. If you are a heavy duty Bible scholar, this is pretty light weight. For the bulk of us, though, you will learn a lot, it will pique your interest, and you can feel comfortable that there isn't a great religious agenda behind the shows.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2010
This visually-attractive work consists of a range of forty five minute instalments accomplishing themselves separate segments to easy navigate through a huge volume of factual information to date supporting stories Torah/Old Testament/Koran present since the dawn of the human history recorded.

No religious pressure at all but clever professional scientific information.

Highly recommended, much new data has been disclosed to a reviewer.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
Mysteries of the Bible is an hour-long documentary series that was broadcast by A&E.Each episode explored the authenticity and the accuracy of the greatest tales of the scriptures that has been bothering humanity for thousands of years.It was hosted by Richard Kelly,who acted as narrator and the late actress,Jean Simmons,who read the Biblical quotes which provides the scriptural basis on the topic being discussed.

Many experts,scientists and Biblical scholars have participated and provided their input about the scriptures and their revelations will definitely astonish the viewers.Added to that,it was filmed on the exact locations where the supposed events happened where archaeological facts,evidences and surprisingly religious art were gathered.

This is a joy to watch especially for viewers who want to learn more about the Sacred Scriptures.It is interesting,visually attractive and highly addictive.What's more is the fact that one will not only be enriched with knowledge not only about Christianity and Judaism but also surprisingly Islam.This will definitely make someone appreciate one's faith and religious beliefs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
This was a great purchase. I am thinking of buying sets to give as gifts. The package arrived on time in excellent condition (Still cellophane wrapped.) The series itself is informative enough without feeling like a lesson. Jean Simmons voice is captivating -especially now that she is no longer with us. The art works are unbelievably beautiful and fit the narrative perfectly. I am no Bible scholar and cannot speak to the veracity of the content; all I can say is that I enjoyed this set even more than when I first saw it on television.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
This was a great show and it's a very nice collection. But doesn't include my all-time favorite episode.....Job.
and now the price is beyond $200 so only get it if you're really, really into getting more depth about bibilical stories and don't take questioning the validity of the bible deathly serious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse