The Mystery of the Egyptian Mummy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very Good used copy: Some light wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins. Text is clean and legible. Possible clean ex-library copy with their stickers and or stamps.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Mystery of the Egyptian Mummy Paperback – December 11, 2003


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.39 $0.01

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Check out The Amazon Book Review, our editors' fresh new blog featuring interviews with authors, book reviews, quirky essays on book trends, and regular columns by our editors. Explore now
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 48 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press (December 11, 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0195219902
  • ISBN-13: 978-0195219906
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 0.4 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,405,542 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 4-7--This book will have wide appeal for readers just becoming acquainted with the wonders of Egyptology as well as for those who are more knowledgeable. It begins with a helpful time line of ancient Egypt and introduces readers to Hornedjitef, a priest of the god Amun at the temple at Karnak. When found, his mummified body was in good condition. Using the priest's story as its framework, the book discusses what mummification is and the various ways it can happen, and thoroughly explains the Egyptians' complex funerary processes. The highly readable text is richly complemented throughout by full-color photographs (many with hieroglyphs) and X-ray and CAT scan images. The journey that the mummies took from their burial place to the British Museum is explained showing both the serious archaeological and opportunistic aspects of tomb excavation. Maps and photographs clearly indicate locations while re-imaging techniques show what some of the mummified individuals may have looked like in life. This book complements Carol Donoughue's The Mystery of the Hieroglyphs(Oxford, 1999).--Jennifer England, The Berkeley Carroll School, Brooklyn, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
50%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Cathy W Sledge on August 11, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Will work well for the Common Core emphasis on informational texts. And students are always interested in mummies, aren't they!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Momma Lew on May 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I could not believe this price for this book. I wanted an inexpensive book to help me complete a project I was working on and wow did I hit the jackpot.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?