Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your heads out of the sand, people.
His critics dismiss Texe Marrs with the label "Fundamentalist Christian." So be it. But at least he takes a stand. At least he reads the Bible of his faith. At least he applies it to the world around him.
I like Marrs' books. They have the excitement of conspiracy theory. But grounded in Bible study. If you don't believe in the Bible (or are afraid your...
Published on April 15, 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MARRS' SEQUEL TO "DARK SECRETS OF THE NEW AGE"
Texe W. Marrs is an American author and conspiracy theorist. Prior to 1987 he was a prolific author of nonfiction books on subjects such as career preparation. His 1987 book Dark Secrets of the New Age: Satan's Plan for a One World Religion became a #1 bestseller in the Christian book market in 1988. He followed this book up with this 1988 book, then with Ravaged By the...
Published on June 17, 2011 by Steven H Propp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MARRS' SEQUEL TO "DARK SECRETS OF THE NEW AGE", June 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination (Paperback)
Texe W. Marrs is an American author and conspiracy theorist. Prior to 1987 he was a prolific author of nonfiction books on subjects such as career preparation. His 1987 book Dark Secrets of the New Age: Satan's Plan for a One World Religion became a #1 bestseller in the Christian book market in 1988. He followed this book up with this 1988 book, then with Ravaged By the New Age and New Age Cults and Religions. His most recent books have alleged vaster conspiracies involving Freemasonry, the Illuminati and Zionism (e.g., Conspiracy World: A Truthteller's Compendium of Eye-Opening Revelations and Forbidden Knowledge, Codex Magica: Secret Signs, Mysterious Symbols, and Hidden Codes of the Illuminati, Mysterious Monuments: Encyclopedia of Secret Illuminati Designs, Masonic Architecture, and Occult Places, Conspiracy of the Six-Pointed Star: Eye-Opening Revelations and Forbidden Knowledge About Israel, the Jews, Zionism, and the Rothschilds, etc.).

He wrote in the introduction to this book, "In my book, 'Dark Secrets of the New Age,' I exposed the thirteen-point, hidden Plan of Satan to bring to pass a One World Government and a One World Religion headed by a New Age Messiah of 'Christ.' Now, in 'Mystery Mark of the New Age,' I unveil startling facts revealing exactly HOW satanically-inspired New Age leaders intend to successfully achieve these horrendous objectives."

Here are some additional quotations from the book:

"The New Age is the last age. It will culminate in the emergence of an astonishingly powerful World Teacher, the New Age false 'Messiah,' who will be worshipped by all the world as a supernatural God of Forces." (Pg. vii)
"Mikhail Gorbachev ... is no longer an atheist. He has been converted to the New Age World Religion. His is now the 'god of forces.'" (Pg. 18)
"Regrettably, in the days to come many Catholics will line up to receive the mark, convinced that Mary, the Immaculate Mother of God, has so ordained this ritual." (Pg. 53)
"I want to make it clear that the top echelon of New Age leaders know exactly what these symbols mean and the purpose behind their use today." (Pg. 120)
"Matthew Fox, a heretical Catholic priest, nature worshipper, and witchcraft advocate ... has announced that once the earth has been transformed into a New Age paradise, its FOUR BILLION inhabitants will become 'individualized prophets'... The only problem with this is that the world's population is already now at the five and one-half billion mark! ... Fox silently and slyly erases one and one-half billion people from existence! ... To MENTION the horrors that might be perpetrated to reduce the world's population by hundreds of millions would be---in the New Age view---unwholesome; it would be negative thinking." (Pg. 161)
"It is important to remember that the New Age can be either conservative or liberal in its politics. Satan doesn't care what political persuasion his servants are." (Pg. 179)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your heads out of the sand, people., April 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination (Paperback)
His critics dismiss Texe Marrs with the label "Fundamentalist Christian." So be it. But at least he takes a stand. At least he reads the Bible of his faith. At least he applies it to the world around him.
I like Marrs' books. They have the excitement of conspiracy theory. But grounded in Bible study. If you don't believe in the Bible (or are afraid your friends will think you're a nut if you do) you probably won't like his books. But if you're into Bible prophecy, and use the Christian Bible to guide your life, then I think you'll appreciate Marrs' perspective.
I'll admit, I try not to put any Christian writer on a pedestal. God is still the definitive Author. But there's a place for writers who use the Bible to comment on current events. I appreciate the work they do. Especially when it prompts me to go back and read Bible passages they've pointed out.
So, Mr. Marrs: I thank you for taking so much flak, yet still keeping the faith. And I eagerly await your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know about the occult and new age deception, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great book by texe marrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Satan is Alive in This Book Too!, February 11, 2012
This review is from: Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination (Paperback)
Marrs' book reads like the Hal Lindsay thesis, but this time centering in on the New Age movement. The appears conspiratorial like a James Bond movie where the evil one is ready to take over the world at a moment's notice. Christ is Bond here, filing Satan just before imminent takeover. Marrs spends a great deal of time speculating how the New Age movement will fulfill the prophecy of Revelation during the end times. He details the occultic symbols of the New Age, as well as the need people have for these symbols. Indeed, many of these occultic symbols are the same ones that Jug explores and promotes. Symbols become a means to gain power.

Marrs does an excellent job summarizing many of the New Age movement's beliefs about Satan, symbols, eschatology, war against God, belief in the worship of the self, love of darkness, hatred of Christianity, and goals of power and world annihilation. What makes his case so convincing is his thorough documentation. Consequently, Marrs' thesis will be terrifying to many.

It fits nicely into what Gary North calls "pessimillennialism," a pessimistic view of the coming world order. Socially, it has the consequence of making Christians want to pull out of the world and wait for the rapture. Yet, if Marrs' contentions are true, and he believes in a pre-millennial rapture, Christians won't be around to even recognize these warnings.

Consequently, Marrs reads simply like another conspiratorialist. The New Age is the New Beast who is out for world domination. Instead of the power religion of the New Agers, Marrs offers Christian escapism. Like Dave Hunt and his ilk, he criticizes those who advocate dominion, who believe that the Christian calling is to transform this world through the power of the resurrection: "Thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven."

Nevertheless, occult powers are not to be taken lightly. We too often forget they even exist, and act like practical atheists. Satan's greatest deceit is getting us to believe that he does not exist. We have to watch out, however, that Satan doesn't seduce us to defeatism. And we must beware of attributing to Satan the works of God, as did those with Jesus. Marrs falls squarely into the first trap, and sometimes into the second, especially with Catholicism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost the plot, December 4, 2005
This review is from: Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination (Paperback)
I didnt know this book would be a comedy, our friend Texe Marrs has lost the plot, around every corner is the devil (the new ager). It seems to me if you dont believe in his crap you are evil and will have the mark of the devil. what a load of rubbish. just another gone wrong churchy spouting rubbish to try to conn people over to his views and only his views. I also noticed that all of his revelations and predictions have not come true either. I must say it was great for a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satan is all powerful, April 23, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination (Paperback)
Texe Marrs explains how the Lord Satan will crush all religions and rule supreme over the earth. Resist nad he will lay your soul to waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination
Mystery Mark of the New Age: Satan's Designs for World Domination by Texe W. Marrs (Paperback - April 1, 1988)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.