Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Boxcars
This book was one of the best Boxcar children books that there is. It was well written and really suprised me with the way that it turned out. If you are looking for a good kids mytery book, this is the one to choose.
Published on February 14, 2000

versus
3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boxcar Children--blaarghh
What an insult to the world of children's literature!! It already tells you something that on most of the Boxcar Children books, it doesn't even tell you the author, merely saying "Series created by Gertrude Chandler Warren." The characters are flat and inane, the plot is one-dimensional and predictable but still completely outlandish (I mean, finding out who...
Published on December 21, 1997


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Boxcars, February 14, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
This book was one of the best Boxcar children books that there is. It was well written and really suprised me with the way that it turned out. If you are looking for a good kids mytery book, this is the one to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of the Purple Pool, December 20, 2002
Grandfather takes the Alden children to New York City, where they find excitement right in their hotel when someone switches the salt and sugar in the coffee shop, steals from the guests, and dyes the swimming pool purple. Why would someone do this. Te Boxcar children are going to get to the bottom of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love all her books!, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
I read them to my child who is 9 and we BOTH love them! Great suspenseful mysteries. I want all of her books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for young readers, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
My daughter is very happy with this book. It was one of her favorite Christmas presents. She is 6 and loves mysteries, so the Boxcar Children are a really great read for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, November 23, 2012
This book was SO good ! I loved it.Especially the note the guy writes that says "I loved when I turned the pool purple because my favorite color is purple!"or something like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boxcar children, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
I remember reading the Boxcar Children as a child. I remember them to be of respectable content for children. I started to get the boxcar children books for my 9 year old, who can read an entire book in one sitting. She tends to not like dated stories or history stories, she likes her books to be modern like the Dork Diaries, but she really likes these books and with so many to choose from, I can keep her entertained for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most unexpected and Mysterious of all the Boxcar Children books, June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
Best Boxcar children book! Very mysterious since the Alden arrived at the plymouth hotel in New York, more and more mysterious pranks keep appearing as the book continues with more suspects to deal and investigate with. The ending was great, the thief was very unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Aldens are in New York in the Mystery of the Purple Pool, March 5, 2001
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One Day the Aldens children are inside their grandfather's house on a rainy day. Benny Alden is bored. The older children try to help him find something to do. Then thier grandfather tells them that he has to go to New York on business and invites them along. The children agree. So their grandfather calls his hotel in New York to make reservations them.
Once thier, the Aldens discover that thier reservations has been cancelled. The assistant manger helps them out and finds them a room. His name is Don Parker. The hotel's name is The Plymouth Hotel.
Thier room # is 502. The manger of the hotel is Joan Ames. The next day, Mr. Alden tells his grandchildren that there is a pool on the roof. There is a glass-enclosed deck up there.
The children goes for a swim and meets the person in charge of the pool. His name is Mike.
Benny discovers that the pool's water was dyed purple. Mike does not believe Benny until he sees it.
But who did it and why? Later on the Aldens and Grandfather has breakfeast at the coffee shop. Benny orders Blueberry pancakes for breakfeast. But the salt and the sugar has been mixed up. The other Aldens has ether salt or sugar on thier breakfeast. But not Benny's. He used syrup.
Can the Aldens find out who did it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boxcar Children--blaarghh, December 21, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) (Paperback)
What an insult to the world of children's literature!! It already tells you something that on most of the Boxcar Children books, it doesn't even tell you the author, merely saying "Series created by Gertrude Chandler Warren." The characters are flat and inane, the plot is one-dimensional and predictable but still completely outlandish (I mean, finding out who put purple ink in the pool? come on!). I could go on and on about these ROTTEN books, but now all I'm going to say is...someday you'll be sorry if you give your children these books to read instead of the beautiful, humoristic, thought-provoking and stimulating books that intelligent and thoughtful people have written for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38)
The Mystery of the Purple Pool (The Boxcar Children Mysteries #38) by Gertrude Chandler Warner (Paperback - January 1, 1994)
$4.99 $4.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.