Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four excellent must-see episodes. "Puma. Puma!"
This set features one episode from season 2, two from season 4, and one from season 10. Three episodes feature show creator Joel Hodgson as host, while one features head writer Mike Nelson as host. These are four really funny episodes and there should be no hesitation in buying this set!

Episode 206- THE RING OF TERROR (with short: THE PHANTOM CREEPS PT 3)...
Published on April 17, 2007 by Valnastar

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume 11: OK
I don't have a lot of Mystery Science theater experience, but I've seen the official movie, and volumes 12 and 4, and i have to say that these 4 cannot touch those. This volume features joel instead of mike, I guess because its episodes are chronologically earlier, but i just didn't find them as funny as the ones ive seen with mike.
Published on May 9, 2008 by Anthony Serino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four excellent must-see episodes. "Puma. Puma!", April 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
This set features one episode from season 2, two from season 4, and one from season 10. Three episodes feature show creator Joel Hodgson as host, while one features head writer Mike Nelson as host. These are four really funny episodes and there should be no hesitation in buying this set!

Episode 206- THE RING OF TERROR (with short: THE PHANTOM CREEPS PT 3)
This black-and-white (b/w) 1962 "thriller" features the largest group of the oldest medical school students ever found at one time in any US college. After the "thrilling" opening in which a man endlessly searches for his cat, "Puma", the film unfolds a less-than-suspenseful tale about a fearless medical student who must come to grips with the one thing that does frighten him. The film stars no one, little happens, the comic relief in the film revolves around cheap shots taken at an overweight couple, and the terrifying climax is more likely to induce sleep paralysis than fear paralysis. Why do the students all behave like undergraduates when this is post-graduate medical school? Who cares, the whole thing is so inept, it's hilarious! The MST3K host segments are all top-notch funny, particularly the "old school sketch" and the sketch recreating the autopsy scene from the film. The short is another installment of Phantom Creeps with Bela Lugosi and the MST3K writers get lots of great comedy mileage out of that one. This is another GREAT episode from legendarily hilarious season 2. Don't miss it!

Episode 409- THE INDESTRUCTIBLE MAN (with short: UNDERSEA KINGDOM PT 2) Lon Chaney, Jr. is one of those movie greats that didn't always say no when offered a less than stellar role, especially it seems as available parts dried up for him as he got older. This 1956 film is one he probably should have turned down unless he was really desperate for the paycheck, but we benefit from his choice to appear in this film as it is quite amusing all on its own. Chaney plays "The Butcher", an executed thug who ends up mute but not quite dead after his execution. Most of the film involves him silently seeking revenge on those who sent him to death row, with lots of really odd close-ups of his eyes. Joel and the `Bots hammer this film mercilessly in a non-stop manner with one great joke after another; it's just terrific! The short, Undersea Kingdom part 2 with Ray "Crash" Corrigan, is also "ROTHLOL" funny.

Episode 414- TORMENTED
This 1960 b/w film is a Bert I. Gordon "classic" about, Tom Stewart, a guy who doesn't save his old girlfriend from an accidental fatal fall after she threatens to mess up his wedding plans to a New England high society girl. Throughout the rest of the film he is "haunted" by her ghost and driven to the brink of madness and more murder. The haunting scenes could not scare a small child, but they are hilariously cheesy fun to watch. Is a ghost really haunting Tom or is his conscience just getting to him? You'll be laughing too hard to care much about that! You'll also be reciting, "Tom Stewart killed me, Tom Stewart killed me" like a litany after the credits roll.

Episode 1011- HORRORS OF SPIDER ISLAND
This 1962 b/w film is a German-Yugoslav co-production and the dialogue dubbing adds much to the hilarity of this inept film. A group of female dancers is stranded on an island with only a few men and lots of excuses to show as much skin as possible without any actual nudity. The scantily clad pretty girls seem to be most of the reason this film got made and mostly what the film's makers expected would get people to watch it. The giant spiders and the "horrific" results of their bite are about the poorest special effects and make-up one could expect from a film regardless of what year it was made. This is a very strong episode from MST3K's final season.

Extra features on this set include MST3K Video Jukebox Volume 2, Original Theatrical Trailers (for all except "Ring of Terror"), a "Tormented" Reunion (with Bert I. Gordon, Susan Gordon and Joe Turkel) and the MST Hour "Jack Perkins" Wraps for "Tormented" featuring Mike Nelson as "Jack Perkins".

Given the fact that some of these MST3K DVD sets go out of print rather quickly due to issues with rights over the films used in the show, I'd recommend buying this set right away. Don't miss these four great episodes. Movie sign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set, but One Badly filmed DVD, August 5, 2007
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
A mixed set with Joel and Mike as hosts. One was completely ruined for me.

RING OF TERROR: Quite a few of these reviews were written BEFORE this set was released. I wonder if anyone has experienced this problem. In my set (purchased directly from Barnes and Noble), "Ring Of Terror" is practically unwatchable. It is NOT in black and white! The entire movie, including daytime scenes, are in dark blue and black. The only time I could actually see the actors was when they wore white shirts. I've never seen Joel before buying the sets, and like him almost as much as Mike Nelson. The rifftrax are hilarious and I wanted so much to see how they fit in the movie, but I simply couldn't. It was too dark. Most of the time I had practically a black screen. The Host segments were clear as a bell. I loved the take on how OLD these "students" were.

Okay, that being said, I really enjoyed this set.

HORRORS OF SPIDER ISLAND. One of my favorites because it makes great fodder for Mike and the Bots. The plot revolves around a bunch of really sad looking, plump Euro-tarts and their manager, hired to "dance." Okay, one of the funniest plot points occurs when they're in flight and THEIR JET CATCHES FIRE AND DIVES, NOSE FIRST INTO THE SEA!....Then, we see all of the passengers on a life raft (??), without a bruise. The mindless twits murmer and in no time find land. We see the gals walking to shore still wearing shoes and holding handbags. The accent of one woman changes so often it's a hoot. A foreigner attempting a Southern accent. Then the horror ensues and Mike and Bots have a field have a field day. Love it!

TORMENTED: I had a slight problem with the movie soundtrack and trying to hear the riffs. But Joel and the Bots do a great job. This is a 50's black and white movie that uses a lighthouse as a backdrop. I can't help but wonder why a blind woman would go into one....and climb to the top. But that's what makes great MST3K material.

THE INDESTRUCTIBLE MAN. Not one of the better MST3K movies. The riffs aren't as funny. However, it's a hoot to see a woman who looks like an Avon saleswoman portray a stripper. There's very little stripping (for that, you'll have to get The "Incredible Strange Creatures who Stopped Living and became Mixed Up Zombies)." I was saddened to see an aging Lon Chaney Jr. in the title role. The main female character is appropriately stupid, constantly placing herself in danger.

I did pre-order this set, so I didn't pay full price. I also agree with folks who suggest a pre-order. BUT wait until Rhino mentions which movies will be on the set. Then you won't be disappointed with the Joel and Mike mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best to Pre-Order while you can..., May 8, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
If history has taught us anything it is this, you can't depend on the new MST3K sets to be available for long, so if you're interested it's best to get them while you can. Case in point, Mystery Science Theater 3000 volume 10... available for purchase for about three months and then it was suddenly pulled from the shelves in a quiet recall with no replacements ever sent out. I myself had to get Volume 10 off of eBay (at a hefty premium at that) because I waited too long thinking it was a buy I could put off for a little bit. How wrong I was. The moral of the story is, when Volume 11 comes out, (as well as volumes 12, 13, 14 and so on), it's better to hedge your bets and get it as fast as possible before they vanish all too soon.

Oh, and my reason for giving Volume 11 here a 5-Star rating sight unseen... that's just me being the loyal Mistie fan-boy that I am. =^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great set.., May 2, 2007
By 
Bart Fargo "Movie buff..." (Fort Smith, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
If you're a fan of MST3K,then you'll want to get this right away,in case they lose the rights to some of the movies and of course,some of their funniest episodes are right here.If you love bad movies and have never seen MST3K,then what are you waiting for?? Do some movies that are really bad give you nightmares or shake your head as to what you've just seen??Then,let MST3K take that away from you and let them make fun,so you won't have to.Their pain is your enjoyment..I must admit that watching RING OF TERROR wasn't easy,but at least MST3K was there to make it more enjoyable.Thanks guys!! This is a great collection from a show that was nothing short of pure genius..Funny stuff indeed.Looking forward to each volume.Not only for classic episodes from MST3K,but the extras Rhino will include as well..Keep up the great work!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great MST3K Set, April 26, 2007
By 
Dean Wisland "Titanic buff" (Vernon Hills, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
This MST3k set contains three Joel episodes from the Comedy Central years, and on Mike Episode fro the Sci Fi years. The episodes are:

Ring of Terror. A film about as terrifying as stale bread, it is about a college student (who looks like he is middle age) who goes into a crypt as a faternity initation, and dies of fright. A good Season 2 episode.

2. The indistructible man. The great horror film star Lon Chaney Jr stars as a convict who is executed. Two scientists take his body for expriments. They bring him back to life and he kills them. He then goes out to kill those responisble for his execution. Joel and the bots roast this one without mercy.

3. Tormented. A Bert I Gordon "classic". The main character, Tom Stewart is engaged to be married. His former girlfreind, Vi, is upset about his engagement, and one night when they are on top of a lighthouse, she falls to her death, and Tom did nothing to save her. Her ghost starts to haunt him, saying "Tom Stewart killed me over and over. Tom kills a man who finds out about what happened atop the lighthouse, and Tom dies after falling from the lighthouse. Another great Joel episode.

4. The Horrors of Spider Island. The next to last episode of MST3k, the plot has a plane load of women that crash into the ocean. They all survive and make it to an island with their male escort. The island has spiders as scary as plush toys, the effects so lame. Mike and the bots really let this joke of a film have it.

All in all, a great set. Keep them comming, Rhino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Money...Revenge...Money...Revenge...", August 4, 2007
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
Although MST3K had quite a good 10-season run, I felt that seasons 2-4 were when the show was at its peak--when Joel was the host of the show. While this set doesn't contain some of the best episodes of the series, they're still really fun to watch. Three of these are from the Joel era and one is from the Sci-Fi era.

"Ring of Terror" is one of the earliest episodes from the Comedy Central era; This was when the MST crew devised a new tactic to riff on movies: instead of ad-libbing the riffs--which incidently they did during the KTMA era--the riffs were carefully scripted ahead of time. ROT is one of the much better achievements of the second season, and while most of the riffs are chuckle-worthy, there are still some laugh-out-loud moments. Add that to the plotline of the flick which is hardly about a ring. 8/10

"The Indestructable Man" from the show's fourth season is my favorite of the set. As badly executed this film is, the riffs are pure hilarity as the Lon Chaney's creepy eyeball close-up is easily poked at in one of the host segments. 9/10

"Tormented" only ranks above average. One of Bert I. Gordon's least memorable flicks isn't exactly as badly constructed as some the worst movies the MST crew riffed on. Plus there's this annoying running gag that Joel and the bots kept doing during the beach scenes. Still, there are some hilarious moments. 7/10

"Horrors Of Spider Island" from the show's last season seemed like a horror film that's not really horrifying--the giant spider in particular, looked like he was meant to be drawn for a cheesy cartoon. Rather, it's just a cheap way to look at half-naked chicks. Still, this episode is pretty funny when you got Mike and the bots to riff on it. Tom Servo faints a couple times over the buxom babe fighting scenes, as the riffs run at fairly steady rate. 7/10

In addition, there are some small extras: the original theatrical trailers for "The Indestructible Man", "Tormented", and "Horrors Of Spider Island" are included, but "Tormented" gets the bulk of the extras with the episode's MST Hour snippets hosted by Jack Perkins, and a Reunion featurette with director Bert I. Gordon, his daughter Susan Gordon, who played as the little girl in the movie, and actor Joe Turkel. This is a real treat for film buffs, as they talk about filming the movie and Susan's claim to fame as her dad was promoting her before the film.

Overall: 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good set from a great show, July 31, 2011
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
Episode 206: The Ring of Terror with short The Phantom Creeps Part 3
Here we first watch a man search for "Puma" his cat in the endless opening sequence, then we are told the story in a flashback of sorts of some of the oldest college students in film history as they deal and it focuses on one who must overcome his fear to succeed. There is nothing that really happens in this film honestly. The crew tries hard and they get a few good riffs in this one but its a lot like "Catalina Caper" just not good. The short has riffs way funnier than anything that was in the feature. Favorite Line: "Punch it Hal, I wanna die with you"

Episode 409: Indestructible Man with short Undersea Kingdom Part 2
This one has Lon Chaney (The Wolfman) as a man called The Butcher, who gets executed but is brought back to life by a couple of scientists. He then takes his revenge on those who wronged him including his crooked lawyer. There's also a narration by a detective whose on the case but his tone just bores the viewer to tears. Its a lazy and fairly mundane movie and its kinda sad to see Chaney reduced to this kind of one note role and the numerous close ups of his face are quite frightening. The guys do a great job with this one though and also with the short.
Favorite Line: "Oh great, water heaters that install themselves"

Episode 414: Tormented
From director Bert I. Gordon ("Beginning Of The End" and "Wild Wild World Of Batwoman") we have a guy whose girlfriend threatens to blackmail him and ruin his upcoming marriage. He then watches said girlfriend fall from a lighthouse to her death. For the rest of the movie her ghost haunts him, or maybe its just his guilt getting to him. Honestly its really too dull to really matter, but Joel, Servo and Crow do a great job making fun of this trash. Favorite Line: "On my summer vacation, I babysat for a paranoid psychotic"

Episode 1011: Horrors of Spider Island
A bunch of dancers and their manager are on a plane to Singapore, the plane crashes near an island that is inhabited by mutant spiders..... well actually one. It bites the manager and he turns into a werewolf/spider thing of sorts and stalks the dancers. The dialogue is horrid, mainly from the dubbing of this foreign flick and its one, hideously boring piece of crap. Mike and the crew make great fun out of this and its one of the best of the sci-fi era. Favorite Line: "There's footsteps, does the tree have wood flooring?"

Extras
"Tormented" Reunion with Bert I. Gordon and cast members Susan Gordon and Joe Turkel
MST3K Hour Wraps for "Tormented" with Mike Nelson as host "Jack Perkins"
Theatrical Trailers for all films except "Ring of Terror"

This is a good set to have in your collection, especially for "Tormented" and "Horrors of Spider Island"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, June 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
I gave a bad revew to another MST3K set, so I am not a totally blinded reviewer of these sets. This one is up to the standard I expected. Fans are too quick to give these sets 5 star ratings, because being an MST3K fan requires a certain loyalty. You feel like you "get it" while other people don't.

But, you won't even have to "get it" on this one. Very entertaining. I used this set to introduce my fiancee to MST3K. She is now a devoted fan, always asking when we are getting the next set. "Soon", I answer....."Soon".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Video(s) Ever, December 30, 2009
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
Mystery Science theater has been around for quite some time and what a pleasure to see it once again on DVDs. It is outrageously funny. A man and robots must watch and review B-rated sci-fi movies as punishment. Yes, it is a strange premise, but it works. Throughout the movie they sit and make comments about the dialogue or the scenes. You can't help but laugh at the constant lines that override the original movie. To really understand why this series is so funny, try one. Mystery Science Theater is well worth having in my library of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MST3K is love!, September 12, 2008
By 
Jessica Simon (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mystery Science Theater 3000 Collection: Volume 11 (Ring of Terror / The Indestructible Man / Tormented / Horrors of Spider Island) (DVD)
I've been a mystery science theater fan since I was a small child, and have loved both hosts Joel and Mike. I must say that these are all great episodes, three of them featuring the original host Joel Hodgson and one featuring the second host Mike Nelson. I strongly recommend this dvd set if you are a Joel fan. Mike fans also get a great episode, it is, however, just one episode. EVERY episode will having rolling on the floor with laughter, I guarantee it! The bonus feature "Video Jukebox" is also very entertaining. This feature allows you to watch various "music videos" from different seasons of MST3K, each one of them as funny as the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.