Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun.
We played Mystify at our recent game night with friends and family. Here is the scoop. Mystify is a game based around word and number scrambles. The object of the game is to be the first to solve the word or number scramble. There are 5 different card categories and for each category hints are given as to what the scramble might be. For instance, hints might be -...
Published on November 3, 2003 by Paula Brooker

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun if you're on equal levels
This is fun for people who can unscramble words at about the same pace, but if you have a large group, some of the people will feel left out and sit on the "start" square the entire game. When I played with 5 people, 3 of us were having fun and almost winning, while the other two were still next to each other at the beginning of the board. If they had just been playing...
Published on December 27, 2002 by MATTHEW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun., November 3, 2003
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
We played Mystify at our recent game night with friends and family. Here is the scoop. Mystify is a game based around word and number scrambles. The object of the game is to be the first to solve the word or number scramble. There are 5 different card categories and for each category hints are given as to what the scramble might be. For instance, hints might be - Literary Figure; Popular First Name; Brand Name Product; Popular 70's Movie; Living Creature; Part of a human body, etc. The card reader reads out the letters or numbers (which are scrambled) and players race against each other to solve the scramble. Whoever blurts out the answer first wins the round and is able to advance on the board. The great thing about this game is that everyone plays every round. This keeps all players interested and with a vested interest in paying attention at all times. Since everyone plays at the same time this is a fantastic party game. You really can't go wrong if you want an all inclusive game to play at your game nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Party Game - Everyone Plays Every Round!, April 21, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
This is a fantastic party game. With so many different card categories and some many questions, we play it time and time agian. The game definitely has staying power, especially at parties. Playing board games at parties can sometimes get stale when people have to wait their turn. Mystify allows every player (except the card reader - which rotates) to play every round. Once the timer is turned, players race against eachother to solve the scramble. Whoever answers correctly advances on the board. Each question comes with a clue and it depends on the card category as to what the clue is. This keeps the game extremely interesting. The most fun of all is when two players blurt out an answer at the same time. This is a challenging, fun and educational game - We definitely reccomend it! I really love this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one., January 15, 2003
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
We love word games, but all word games are based around forming words -- this game changes all that. The premise of the game is based around solving word scrambles and number scrambles. There is a clue provided with each category so that the players know what direction to look in. I highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I lover racing for the answer!, January 15, 2003
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
This is a party game if I ever did see one. Everyone plays every round so nobody is bored waiting for their turn. The board is a simple race track and sometimes we leave the baord at home and play this in the car. All players race to solve the scramble and the categories provide not only different subject areas but varying levels of difficulty. The 'numbers' category is an interesting twist. Good, old fashion fun and a refreshing change to some of the mindless game out there -- I recommend it. I love word games and this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun if you're on equal levels, December 27, 2002
By 
MATTHEW (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
This is fun for people who can unscramble words at about the same pace, but if you have a large group, some of the people will feel left out and sit on the "start" square the entire game. When I played with 5 people, 3 of us were having fun and almost winning, while the other two were still next to each other at the beginning of the board. If they had just been playing each other, they would have had fun, but with us, it took away some of the fun. So just be careful with who you play it with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Great Fun!, June 9, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
This is a great game to play in groups. We had about 10 people playing at once. Nobody got bored because everyone played every round (we rotated the card reader each round). We love games like this one with a timing element. Once the timer was turned and the clue was given, the fun began with players screaming out answers to be able to advance on the board. The great fun about this game is the head to head challenge between all players. We definitely recommend it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs Up from a Word Game Buff, March 30, 2002
By 
Katie (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
Knowing what a word game buff I am, my sister got this game for me during the holidays and we ended up playing several times together. We once played with up to 14 people, which was something. It doesn't take long to get the hang of it, and the level of difficulty is just right. Deciphering the Scrambles (as the jumbled words and numbers are called) is quite challenging, especially as you are up against the clock. I particularly like the `Names' category (I was the first to solve my husband's name, which actually came up during a game). Two thumbs up for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game that can be played time and time again!, October 25, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
Playing Mystify is so much fun. There are countless scrambles asking about famous actors, movies, car models, historical figures, etc. The 'number' scrambles test your knowledge of trivia - interesting facts such as the average length of a crocodile, the distance between cities, the year actors and movies won oscars, etc. keep your mind racing. With so many questions, we play this game time and time again. The best part is that everyone gets a shot at every question (that is except the card reader). The card is read, the timer is flipped and you have 30 seconds to race against other players for the right answer. What a great night of entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, December 11, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
This game is a blast from start to finish, and refreshing to boot - I haven't had an intellectual challenge like this for years! Make sure you play with your nearest and dearest... the ones who won't mind barreling over you to get an answer. I can't see this ever getting stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no waiting your turn, everyone plays every round!, October 28, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mystify Word Scramble Board Game (Toy)
Mystify is one of those rare games out there which allows all players to participate in every round. There is no waiting for your turn. Everyone races to find the answer and the first one to figure out the scramble wins the round. The more rounds you win - the better chance of winning the game! The different category scrambles keep us constantly guessing. And with so many scrambles this game can be played time and time agian. We love this game and recommend it for all game lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mystify Word Scramble Board Game
Mystify Word Scramble Board Game by Game Development Group
$29.99 $25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.