Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tepid and honest and dull and involving
Myth of the American Sleepover is a teen-themed but adult interest directo to video film about a group of suburban Detroit kids on the last day of summer vacation, before they either go off to high school or college. The events in this film take place in people's yards, at a lake, in their homes and at the University of Michigan.

There isn't a lot going on in...
Published on December 31, 2011 by Larry VanDeSande

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
This movie does a decent job of capturing that time between being a 'tween and when you can drive. Most of these kids must be 14-15. So, in a year, they'll be driving and humping like rabbits. But they're still at that awkward stage of having these newfound raging hormones, but not knowing what to do with them. Yes, there's a lot of wandering around and banal...
Published 17 months ago by D. Cross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tepid and honest and dull and involving, December 31, 2011
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
Myth of the American Sleepover is a teen-themed but adult interest directo to video film about a group of suburban Detroit kids on the last day of summer vacation, before they either go off to high school or college. The events in this film take place in people's yards, at a lake, in their homes and at the University of Michigan.

There isn't a lot going on in this movie other than the stuff kids do in the summer. They attend parties, try to impress each other, try to find that romantic interest or generate same from a member of the opposite sex (no obviously gay interest that I saw) and have varying levels of angst, disappointment, excitement and fun trying to figure out themselves and other kids/young adults. The sleepover theme comes from a group of girls that sleep over at one of the girl's parents' house, where the movie's only real conflict arises.

But this is not a film about particularly conflicted people; it is a slice of life film without message or principal theme other than to say what goes on in the film is sometimes dull, sometime involving, and always honest -- or real life, you might say. This is among the more honest teen-interest films I can recall seeing, now or ever. There is not a thread of pretension in this movie. People in the movie do what people do in real life.

One example is a fellow that came home from college in Chicago, who has a younger sister in the sleepover, who sets off to pursue a pair of twins he knew from high school. When he finds them, at University of Michigan during a pre-enrollment freshman orientation, he can't tell them the truth about why he sought them. They pester him until he tells them of his interest, and the events in this interlude are probably close to reality for most people. There is a naivete that influences almost every character in this exceptionally honest film.

I liked this movie a lot and will no doubt watch it again on either DVD or dish. I don't find many teen films that I can sit through, much less enjoy. Typically, they are either silly, idiotic, too sexual or cliche-ridden. There is none of that in this movie. This is one of the most sincerely honest teen movies I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're getting, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
This film will play better to former teens than current ones. The cast is populated with inexperienced actors (some of whom are more effective than others), and the filmmakers are more interested in showing a small slice of summer than taking you on a more traditional narrative journey.

Before watching, put yourself in the mindset of American Graffiti or Dazed & Confused: this is an ensemble story where nothing "big" happens, and many of the characters end up in the same place - literally and figuratively - where they started.

If you want plot twists and prom scenes and epiphanies, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suburban American teens, May 16, 2014
The rituals American teens which are somewhat tribal at times. Girls chasing boys and boys chasing girls. By the end of the night hardly any of them end up with who they thought they, or we, would. The interactions between the teens during a night of multiple sleepovers and parties is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better Teen Movie, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
The teenagers depicted in this film seem more realistic than those usually portrayed in teen films. It was not easy to guess the ending of several of the "relationships". This film is better than most of its kind. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, May 21, 2013
This movie does a decent job of capturing that time between being a 'tween and when you can drive. Most of these kids must be 14-15. So, in a year, they'll be driving and humping like rabbits. But they're still at that awkward stage of having these newfound raging hormones, but not knowing what to do with them. Yes, there's a lot of wandering around and banal conversation... because that's what kids this age are all about. There are some tender moments, but overall nowhere near as enjoyable as Dazed And Confused or some classic teen film like that, nor is it a movie like Kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Myth of the American Sleepover..., December 18, 2011
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
This movie isn't scheduled to be release unto February, 2012. Just saw it today (12/18/2011). A farily honest and straight-forward look at the lives of a group of teenagers dealing with the last weekend of summer before returning to school (high school and college) in Michigan. There's nothing new in this as far as the presentation is concerned. Boy like girls, girls like boys, the crushes, the unrequited emotions from both sides. Still, a good presentation.

Potential spoiler: The only thing that I found ironic was that these kids had a "make-out" center to go to where one could "hook up" with one of the opposite sex. Personally, that would've scared me during my teenage years...but, I know some of my buddies would've loved it!!

No sex is depicted, just mild romantic "make-out" scenes and the consumption of alcohol. Just one scene of violence occured (that's what happens when you kiss somebody else's boyfriend).

Watch it! Then, decide whether or not to let your teens check it out! These days, kids would consider this stuff "mild" (most likely)!

I rate "Myth of the American Sleepover"...4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not that great, August 4, 2013
It compares it self to a newer dazed and confused but it was far from it. Over all it didn't entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse than boring, May 18, 2014
By 
Zeufon (Robinson, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
I don't mind watching films where nothing is really going on. Some of the best Eric Rohmer films come to my mind.

But, this on is a utter, total bore. Un-Charismatic characters who have nothing to say and nothing to act.Really surprised that this kind of nonsense get financed.

Give this a pass, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst film I've seen in years, October 6, 2012
This review is from: Myth of The American Sleepover (DVD)
I had read good things about this film so I rented it for my teenage kids. They were nearly gasping with laughter at how bad it is. This film is like a home movie: the acting is ghastly, there is almost no script, no one seems to say anything...long silences, empty spaces, no discernable plot.. Teenagers just don't act like this. I can't describe how bad this movie is. How, HOW does a movie like this get made? It had to have been someone from a very rich family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Myth of The American Sleepover
Myth of The American Sleepover by David Robert Mitchell (DVD - 2012)
$24.98 $13.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.